Tuesday, September 30, 2014

September In Review



So September went by in a flash. Where did the whole month go? It's hard to believe it's already over, but I guess it is.  It was a great month here on the blog though and for that I am very happy.  Also Bloggiesta was this month and I actually got a lot finished. Below are some of the great posts from this month and the books that I read. 


Books Read In September

Escapement by Ciara Knight
Pendulum by Ciara Knight 
Balance by Ciara Knight 
The Boyfriend List by Renee Novelle 
The Perfect Boyfriend by Renee Novelle


Some of the Posts From This Month 
 
To This Day (Review) 

 

So there you have it, my September in Review.  I hope you all had a great month and can't wait to share next month with all of you!

 

Teaser Tuesday #49



Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:


  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teaser. 



"What?" "I'm not letting you shoot him 'til you know he's a bad man." "You're kidding." Lucy crossed her arms and raised one eyebrow imperiously at Lynn, the strongest echo of Neva she'd seen in the child yet.








 So there you have it, my teaser for the week.  Care to tease me a bit? Leave me a teaser in the comments below or the link to your teaser Tuesday. 


Monday, September 29, 2014

It's Monday...What Are You Reading?


It's Monday! What Are You Reading is hosted by Book Journey!
Weeks are just flying by, but anyway, it's time for my Monday post.  Below you will find what I plan on Reading for this week.   It's going to be a light week of reading.  Got a lot going on.  But I really want to read the book below!
 

What I'm Reading Today

Regret was for people with nothing to defend, people who had no water. Lynn knows every threat to her pond: drought, a snowless winter, coyotes, and, most importantly, people looking for a drink. She makes sure anyone who comes near the pond leaves thirsty, or doesn't leave at all. Confident in her own abilities, Lynn has no use for the world beyond the nearby fields and forest. Having a life means dedicating it to survival, and the constant work of gathering wood and water. Having a pond requires the fortitude to protect it, something Mother taught her well during their quiet hours on the rooftop, rifles in hand. But wisps of smoke on the horizon mean one thing: strangers. The mysterious footprints by the pond, nighttime threats, and gunshots make it all too clear Lynn has exactly what they want, and they won’t stop until they get it…. With evocative, spare language and incredible drama, danger, and romance, debut author Mindy McGinnis depicts one girl’s journey in a barren world not so different than our own.



 What are you reading this week??



Let Me In Book Blitz and Giveaway



Today I have a great book blitz to share with you all, included in this awesome post is a giveaway and author interview.  Enjoy! 




Title: Let Me In 
Author: Erin McCarthy 
Series: Blurred Lines #3
Publication date: September 25th 2014 


Authors WebsiteGoodreadsBuy This
A girl in danger… Aubrey Walsh never dreamed that she would find herself in an abusive relationship, but after her boyfriend hits her so hard he breaks her tooth, she flees the University of Maine to hide on a remote island with her best friend. Only to discover that she is pregnant. Terrified of what will happen if Jared finds out, she is walking along the rocks, deciding her future, when she slips. A guy with a secret past… After a job gone wrong, Riker has left the assassin business and is incognito as a ferryboat operator off the shores of Maine. It’s a lonely life, and when he sees a young woman almost fall off the rocks, he doesn’t hesitate to save her and take her in, though he’s determined to stay unemotionally uninvolved. But when the truth about her situation is revealed, he will do anything to protect Aubrey and her unborn child. Even marry her. Even kill for her. When Jared comes looking for the only girl who has ever rejected him, Riker won’t allow it. And Aubrey is torn between protecting herself and her child, or protecting the mysterious husband she has come to love. And when chance brings them together but fate tears them apart, can their love survive the storm?




USA Today and New York Times Bestselling author Erin McCarthy sold her first book in 2002 and has since written almost fifty novels and novellas in teen fiction, new adult, and adult romance. Erin has a special weakness for New Orleans, tattoos, high-heeled boots, beaches and martinis. She lives in Ohio with her family, two grumpy cats and a socially awkward dog.

 Goodreads   * Twitter 



 


Q: Tell us about Let Me In.

A: Let Me In is the third book in my Blurred Lines series.  It features Aubrey, who we met in book one, You Make Me.  Aubrey was Cat's best friend and her fiance Ethan's sister.  In this book, Aubrey comes to stay with Cat and her boyfriend Heath on a remote island off the coast of Maine after being abused by her boyfriend.  She is also pregnant.  The next door neighbor is a sexy and mysterious former Marine who vows to keep Aubrey safe from harm.  I loved giving Aubrey her own story.  She was alternately sad and snarky in You Make Me and it was interesting to dig into her thoughts. 

Q: How many books will there be in the Blurred Lines series?
 
A: As of right now, I have committed myself (haha, I might need to after this release schedule) to writing six books in the series.  Book four, Meant For Me, will release in December.  That book will feature Ethan, who has had trouble picking up the pieces of his life after he and Cat broke up.  Then book five will be sometime in the spring, most likely April. 

Q: Is Let Me In based on a classic novel?

A: While You Make Me and Live For Me were inspired by Wuthering Heights and Jane Eyre, I confess I've strayed from that.  As I introduced these characters in the first two books, I wanted to write their stories without trying to muscle them into classic plots.  But they still retain the angst and the drama of the Bronte sister novels, which to me is perfect for New Adult romance. 

Q: Do you have any contemporary romances releasing that aren't New Adult?


A: Always!  In October, Final Lap, book eight in my Fast Track series is out.  Also, Close Up, the second in a trilogy from Harlequin Blaze will be out.  November brings Sexy Mistakes, an anthology with myself and two other authors featuring online/social media snafus.  Finally, in December there will be a fun, sexy novella titled The Nemesis Affair, featuring an Irish rugby player and the woman he hires to be his nemesis.  




This giveaway is for one ebook copy of Let Me In by Erin McCarthy, it's an international giveaway. 

30 Day Book Challenge


30 Day Book Challenge

So this is actually one of my Bookish Bucket List items and I'm really excited to be able to cross it off my list.  A 30 Day Book Challenge is 30 days of items to take pictures of and share them on Instagram and I'm going to also share them here with all of you.  Making a post every day to share whatever it is that the list requires.  Did I mention how excited I am about this.  If I did oops, but it's worth saying again!


The Challenge

I'll be starting this challenge on October 1st and if you want to join in feel free.  This challenge wasn't my idea, but I can't seem to find out whose it was.  So if you know please let me know so I can credit them! Thanks.  


  • Day 1 ~ Best book you read last year 
  • Day 2 ~ A Book that you've read more than 3 times 
  • Day 3 ~ Your favorite series 
  • Day 4 ~ Favorite book of your favorite series 
  • Day 5 ~ A book that makes you happy 
  • Day 6 ~ A book that makes you sad 
  • Day 7 ~ A book that makes you laugh 
  • Day 8 ~ Most overrated book 
  • Day 9 ~ A book you thought you wouldn't like but ended up loving it
  • Day 10 ~ A book that reminds you of home 
  • Day 11 ~ A book you hated 
  • Day 12 ~ A book you love but hate at the same time
  • Day 13 ~ Your favorite writer 
  • Day 14 ~ Book turned movie and completely desecrated 
  • Day 15 ~ Favorite male character 
  • Day 16 ~ Favorite female character 
  • Day 17 ~ Favorite quote from your favorite book 
  • Day 18 ~ A book that disappointed you 
  • Day 19 ~ Favorite book turned into a movie 
  • Day 20 ~ Favorite romance book 
  • Day 21 ~ The first novel you remember reading 
  • Day 22 ~ A book that makes you cry 
  • Day 23 ~ A book you wanted to read for a long time but still haven't 
  • Day 24 ~ A book that you wish more people would've read 
  • Day 25 ~ A character who you can relate to the most 
  • Day 26 ~ A book that changed your opinion about something 
  • Day 27 ~ The most surprising plot twist or ending 
  • Day 28 ~ Favorite title of a book 
  • Day 29 ~ A book that everyone hated but you liked 
  • Day 30 ~ Your favorite book of all time



So there you have it the whole list, 30 days of images.  Some of these days there might be more than one image. We shall see.  Some of the items above, I have a few different books in mind for the topic.  Now I can't wait till Oct 1st so I can start posting these. 


Sunday, September 28, 2014

Sunday Post #8



The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead.






 This past week has been great here on the blog and in my life.  Been working on my home, getting organized and a few other things.  But even with all that, I a few great posts on the blog this week as well, which was very exciting to me. Including some fantastic book reviews and discussion posts.



Last Week On The Blog


This Upcoming Week On The Blog
  • 30 Day Instagram Book Challenge 
  • Days 1 - 4 of The Book Challenge 
  • Sept. Wrap Up
  • October TBR 
  • Ali Talks: How to tackle that reading schedule and list. 
  • Edge of You Blog Tour and Review 
  • Catching Fire (Review) 

Around the Blogoshpere

  • Over at YA Romantics, there is a great post about comparing and contrasting two amazing books.  I really liked this post! 
  • Then over at Icey books there is a post about who should read The Heir Chronicles. There is also a giveaway with this one.

New Arrivals to Ali's Bookshelf


 The Boy with the                          The Heart of Christmas                  Love's Fortune
   Hidden Name                                     by Brenda Novak                             by Laura Frantz
 by Skylar Dorset


The Tucci Table                                Sacrifice                                     Downtown Italian 
by Stanley Tucci                               by Brigid Kemmerer                  by Joe Campanale



 Broken                               Lessons I never learned at              The Silence of Six
by Marianne Curley               Meadowbrook Academy                         by E.C. Myers
                                                        by Liz Maccie                              




 As Close As Sisters                     The Fine Art of Pretending                     Witchrise 
by Colleen Faulkner                            by Rachel Harris                                     by Victoria Lamb






A special thanks goes to the following publishing company's: Spencer Hill Contemporary, Adaptive Studios, Harlequin and Harlequin Teen, Diversion Books, Sourcebooks Fire, Andrews McMeel Publishing, Revell, Kensington Books, and Bloomsbury USA Children's Books for the above ARC's.  Also Netgalley for letting me review for them.  












Saturday, September 27, 2014

Write On Review A Thon Goals and Update



The Write On review-a-thon is a monthly event created and hosted by Brianna at The Book Vixen. It’s 2 days dedicated to getting reviews done, whether you have one review to write or 30+. This edition of the review-a-thon takes place all day Saturday, September 27th and Sunday, September 28th. Let’s get those reviews done!



The reviews that I need to write and schedule:

Edge of You by Theresa DaLayne 
Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins 
The Arrangement #1 by H.M Ward
The Arrangement #2 by H.M Ward
Spy6teen by Lisa Moore 
Breaking Point by Kristen Simmons 
Neozoic by Troy Peteri 
Fathon Dawn of War by Talent Caldwell 
Lover Eternal by JR Ward 
Lover Awakened by JR Ward 
Lover Revealed by JR Ward 
Lover Unbound by JR Ward


On My Wishlist #11




On My Wishlist is a Meme hosted by Book Chick City.  




 My On My Wishlist includes books that are older and already out and ones that are brand new or not even out yet! So lets get to it.  Today I bring you 3 books that I am dying to get my hands on.  I will be updating these when I get any of these books...


 
So the first one I want to showcase is...



Title: Ruins 
Author: Dan Wells
Publisher: Balzer + Bray 


Kira, Samm, and Marcus fight to prevent a final war between Partials and humans in the gripping final installment in the Partials Sequence, a series that combines the thrilling action of The Hunger Games with the provocative themes of Blade Runner and The Stand. There is no avoiding it—the war to decide the fate of both humans and Partials is at hand. Both sides hold in their possession a weapon that could destroy the other, and Kira Walker has precious little time to prevent that from happening. She has one chance to save both species and the world with them, but it will only come at great personal cost.




Title: Time After Time 
Author: Tamara Ireland Stone 
Publisher:  Disney-Hyperion 


Calling Anna and Bennett’s romance long distance is an understatement: she’s from 1995 Chicago and he’s a time traveler from 2012 San Francisco. The two of them never should have met, but they did. They fell in love, even though they knew they shouldn't. And they found a way to stay together, against all odds. It’s not a perfect arrangement, though, with Bennett unable to stay in the past for more than brief visits, skipping out on big chunks of his present in order to be with Anna in hers. They each are confident that they’ll find a way to make things work...until Bennett witnesses a single event he never should have seen (and certainly never expected to). Will the decisions he makes from that point on cement a future he doesn't want? Told from Bennett’s point of view, Time After Time will satisfy readers looking for a fresh, exciting, and beautifully-written love story, both those who are eager to find out what’s next for Time Between Us's Anna and Bennett and those discovering their story for the first time.



Title: The Girl Who Never Was 
Author: Skylar Dorset
Publisher:  Sourcebooks Fire 


THE GIRL WHO NEVER WAS is the story of Selkie Stewart, who thinks she’s a totally normal teenager growing up in Boston. Sure, her father is in an insane asylum, her mother left her on his doorstep—literally—when she was a baby, and she’s being raised by two ancient aunts who spend their time hunting gnomes in their Beacon Hill townhouse. But other than that her life is totally normal! She’s got an adventurous best friend who’s always got her back and an unrequited crush on an older boy named Ben. Just like any other teenager, right? When Selkie goes in search of the mother she’s never known, she gets more than she bargained for. It turns out that her mother is faerie royalty, which would make Selkie a faerie princess—except for the part where her father is an ogre, which makes her only half of anything. Even more confusing, there’s a prophecy that Selkie is going to destroy the tyrannical Seelie Court, which is why her mother actually wants to kill her. Selkie has been kept hidden all her life by her adoring aunts, with the help of a Salem wizard named Will. And Ben. Because the boy she thinks she’s in love with turns out to be a faerie whose enchantment has kept her alive, but also kept her in the dark about her own life. Now, with enchantments dissolved and prophecies swinging into action, Selkie finds herself on a series of mad quests to save the people she’s always loved and a life she’s learning to love. But in a supernatural world of increasingly complex alliances and distressingly complicated deceptions, it’s so hard to know who to trust. Does her mother really wish to kill her? Would Will sacrifice her for the sake of the prophecy? And does Ben really love her or is it all an elaborate ruse? In order to survive, Selkie realizes that the key is learning—and accepting—who she really is



SO there is another great wishlist, I will cross out any that I get just so you all know if I have them or not.  Thanks for stopping by and as always...Happy Reading!!!

Friday, September 26, 2014

Feature and Follow Friday


This feature is hosted by the lovely Parajunkee and Alison Can Read! I love this feature because I get a chance to chat with other book bloggers and make new book loving friends. Mainly you answer the weeks question and then you have a chance to follow as many bloggers as you want. It's a win win meme really, you find new connections and they find you as well. Welcome to my blog all new followers!


This weeks question looks like a fun one to me so let's get to it!

Book character(s) you’d like to see with their own Twitter page

So this one was a great question and it took me a bit to come up with my list but here you go: 

  • Harry Potter (Harry Potter)
  • Hermione Granger (Harry Potter)
  • Four  (Divergent)
  • Tris (Divergent)
  • Ian O'shea (The Host)  
  • America (The Selection) 
  • Prince Maxon (The Selection) 
  • Aspen (The Selection) 
 
 So there is my list, there were so many that I would have loved to add to this list, but if I did the post would be forever and a day long.  So I kept it short.  If you haven't followed this blog there are many ways to do so.  Some include the following: 


Thanks so much for stopping by and leave a comment below and let me know if you are a new follower, I'll head over to your blog and follow as well.  

 

Thursday, September 25, 2014

The Neumarian Chronicles Blog Tour: Blance Review


Review: Balance by Ciara Knight

Title: Balance 
Author: Ciara Knight 
Series: The Neumarian Chronicles 
Publisher: Smashwords
Published: April 28th 2014
Format: Ebook 
Pages: 266 pages
ISBN #:  9781939081063

Authors WebsiteGoodreadsBuy This
Life on a war-ravaged Earth is a dying experience. Finally, after years of tyranny, the rebellion rises. Once I rescue my fiancé Ryder Arteres, I, and the rebel general, will fight to free our people. In a war where alliances shift and friends betray one another, will the final battle prove the truth of the prophecy the queen has so feared—her death—or will I lose everyone I love?

 

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

Archive

This Blog is Protected..

myfreecopyright.com registered & protected

My Beautiful Blog was Designed by...

Ali's Bookshelf © 2011-present