Tuesday, March 31, 2015

Ali's Month In A Glance




It's time to take a look back at the month here on at Ali's Bookshelf! It's already the end of March and it seems like this year is flying by faster than last year did.  So, let's take a look at the past month. 


This month, I didn't read as many books as I had wanted, but I did read a great list of books.  Below is the list and the ones I reviewed are linked.  

Books I Read in March


Posts I loved From March



I had a great month and can't wait to start April.  Keep a watch out for tomorrows posts, one of which will be my April to be read list.  Hope you all had a great March! 

 

Teaser Tuesday #56




Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:



  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teaser. 



The pain in the voice at the other end of the phone sliced through Charlotte Harris like a shard of glass.Three seconds ago, when she'd seen her best friend's name pop up on her phone, she'd answered with a chipper, "hi!" Her greeting was met with a beat of silence, followed by a deep, male response. One hallow, broken syllable; the nickname he gave her a year ago. "Ace."




 As usual I couldn't just give two sentences lol.  I hope you see why and that you don't mind.  I'm loving this book so much!


 

Monday, March 30, 2015

It's Monday...What Are You Reading?



It's Monday! What Are You Reading is hosted by Book Journey!

 

 

 It's time for my Monday post.  Below you will find what I plan on Reading for this week.   It's going to be a light week of reading.  Got a lot going on.  But I really want to read the book below! 

What I'm Reading Today!
Bringing Home The Bad Boy 
Author: Jessica Lemmon
Publisher: Forever 
 
The Bad Boy Is Back Evan Downey needs a new beginning. Since the death of his wife five years ago, the brilliant tattoo artist has shut himself away in a prison of grief that not even his work can break him out of-and what's worse, Evan knows his son Lyon is bearing the brunt of his seclusion. Moving back to the lake town of Evergreen Cove where he spent his childhood summers is his last chance for a fresh start. Charlotte Harris knows she owes it to her best friend's memory to help Evan and his son find their way again, but she can't stop her traitorous heart from skipping a beat every time she looks into Evan's mesmerizing eyes. Charlotte is determined to stay strictly in the Friend Zone-until a mind-blowing night knocks that plan by the wayside. Now, if they're brave enough to let it, Charlotte and Evan might just find a love capable of healing their broken hearts . . .


Audio Book I'm Listening To This Week:


The Darkest Minds
Author: Alexandra Bracken
Narrated by Amy McFadden 
 
When Ruby woke up on her tenth birthday, something about her had changed. Something alarming enough to make her parents lock her in the garage and call the police. Something that gets her sent to Thurmond, a brutal government “rehabilitation camp.” She might have survived the mysterious disease that’s killed most of America’s children, but she and the others have emerged with something far worse: frightening abilities they cannot control. Now sixteen, Ruby is one of the dangerous ones. When the truth comes out, Ruby barely escapes Thurmond with her life. Now she’s on the run, desperate to find the one safe haven left for kids like her—East River. She joins a group of kids who escaped their own camp. Liam, their brave leader, is falling hard for Ruby. But no matter how much she aches for him, Ruby can’t risk getting close. Not after what happened to her parents. When they arrive at East River, nothing is as it seems, least of all its mysterious leader. But there are other forces at work, people who will stop at nothing to use Ruby in their fight against the government. Ruby will be faced with a terrible choice, one that may mean giving up her only chance at a life worth living.



I have several audio books that I have that I need to listen to, so I figured I would start listening to one every week till I can get caught up.  So hopefully I can post some new audio book reviews shortly.  I hope you all have a great Monday and a fantastic week!
 

Sunday, March 29, 2015

Bloggiesta Finishline!!!




This week has just flown by, I got so much done though for the blog.  Below is the list of all that I accomplished this week.  Also I must say I really enjoyed the week long Bloggiesta! It made it easier for me with work and everything so I didn't have to rush to get everything done that I needed to.  

My To Do List: 

Everything that is marked through is what I finished, I'm still working on the other things, but I hope to have them finished by tonight.  It's only 7:30 here right now so I still have a few more hours to work.  

  • Fix Slider (Update it)
  • Schedule posts for the next 2 to 3 weeks
  • Update my Goodreads 
  • Do at least 2 of the Mini Challenges 
  • Write at least 5 reviews and schedule them to post
  • Comment on other Bloggiesta Participant's blogs. 
  • Participate in at least one Twitter Chat. 
  • Update my 2015 Challenge page 
  •  Clean out Emails
  • Digital Decluttering: (Past mini challenge) 
  • Go through and reply to comments from the past two weeks.  
  • Go through my TBR Pile and make a list for the next couple of reads. 
I hope I have enough time to finish, but if I don't I always have tomorrow.  I hope everyone that participated in Bloggiesta this past week had a great time, because I know I did.

 

Sunday Post: #10




The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead.

 A lot has been going on around here and in my every day life.  One my mom has been really sick and was rushed to the hospital.  Her appendix burst on her and she had to have surgery.  She's better now and at home, but still in a lot of pain.  That's why some of the reviews I had planned for the past two weeks haven't been posted.  Also this week is Bloggiesta and I've been working on the blog like crazy.  My list is almost complete and seeing as today is the last day for the event, I'm going to try to get everything finished before the day is out.

I promise though, reviews are coming and I'm going to try to keep up the posts on this blog as much as I can.  Thanks again for sticking with me through the past year and the start of this one.  It's been rough, but I'm getting back in the flow of things finally!





Last Week On The Blog
  • Bloggiesta Mini Challenges (Using Trello, Pinterest, )
  • Book Blogger Hop #3 
  • Mini Me Corner Review: Ice Cream Summer
  • Perception by A. L. Waddington (Review) 
  • Enlightened by A. L. Waddington (Review) 
  • Essence by A. L. Waddington (Review) 
  • Perception (Blog Tour and Giveaway, closed)

This Week On The Blog

  • Review: One Wish by Robyn Carr  (Had to move it to this week)
  • Review: Broken by Kelly Elliott
  • Review: Broken Dreams by Kelly Elliott 
  • Blog Tour: Throne of Darkness


Around the Blogoshpere

With it being bloggiesta week, I'm going to share a few of the mini challenges that I am going to try to add to my list before this week is over.

  •  Simplify Blogging is a mini challenge post hosted by the amazing girls over at On A Book Bender.  I love this blog so much and her ideas about simplifying blogger were just what I needed.
 There are so many more that I could share, but I'll stop and just leave you with this link.  A list of the mini challenges for bloggiesta.

    New Arrivals to Ali's Bookshelf

    I didn't pick up any new books this week, due to me having so many that I need to read already.  But I have a few coming in for this upcoming week from Amazon.  So next week I should have a few to share with you.  YAY!



    Friday, March 27, 2015

    Book Blogger Hop #4



    Book Blogger Hop is another post I'm going to be trying out and this one has a topic each week, which is something I've been trying to bring to the blog.  I'm really excited about this one because I have a hard time coming up with something fresh to talk about and I'm hoping this helps.   

    If you would be interested in doing your own post, please CLICK HERE to learn more about this great hop!



    This Weeks Question: 



    Which books have you read in the past month that still have you thinking back to the storyline and the characters?

    These books aren't ones that I read this past month, but they are ones that I can't stop thinking about.  I really want to read the third book in the series, but haven't had a chance yet.



    I loved both of these books and the reviews for both of them are coming shortly, but I can't seem to get  Layton and Whitley out of my mind, as well as Courtney and Reed.  The author of these books is amazing with words and the way she told their stories.  Like I said I can't wait to read the next book in the series. 


    What book or characters are stuck in your head and you can't seem to stop thinking about them?

     

    Thursday, March 26, 2015

    What's Next #2






    So I've been wanting to try a few new memes on the blog, change some things up a bit.  This is one that I have chosen, it's hosted by the amazing ICEYBOOKS! I love her blog and if you haven't checked it out, you should.

    In this meme you pick a few books that you want to read next and you make a post about them.  Then pretty much you ask your readers which one you should read next.  I'm thinking this might help me in my reading slump a bit as well.






    The Bad Boy Is Back Evan Downey needs a new beginning. Since the death of his wife five years ago, the brilliant tattoo artist has shut himself away in a prison of grief that not even his work can break him out of-and what's worse, Evan knows his son Lyon is bearing the brunt of his seclusion. Moving back to the lake town of Evergreen Cove where he spent his childhood summers is his last chance for a fresh start. Charlotte Harris knows she owes it to her best friend's memory to help Evan and his son find their way again, but she can't stop her traitorous heart from skipping a beat every time she looks into Evan's mesmerizing eyes. Charlotte is determined to stay strictly in the Friend Zone-until a mind-blowing night knocks that plan by the wayside. Now, if they're brave enough to let it, Charlotte and Evan might just find a love capable of healing their broken hearts . . .



    From the author of the Charmed Life and It's Raining Cupcakes series comes a novel of family, friends, and a Paris adventure that readers will never forget! Nora has always wanted to see Paris, thanks to her Grandma Sylvia's stories. But when Sylvia suddenly passes away just months before their planned trip, Nora thinks she's lost everything. Nora still dreams of Paris--and when she finds her own name on a set of clues to a Parisian scavenger hunt packed away in her grandmother's room, along with plane tickets, Nora knows that Sylvia still wants her to go, too. At last, Nora sets off on the adventure--and mystery--of a lifetime. What did Grandma Sylvia want her to find in Paris? Why do all the clues insist that Nora's mother be with her? And could the key to healing and forgiveness be found at the top of the Eiffel Tower?


    Antony and Cleopatra. Helen of Troy and Paris. Romeo and Juliet. And now . . . Henry and Flora. For centuries Love and Death have chosen their players. They have set the rules, rolled the dice, and kept close, ready to influence, angling for supremacy. And Death has always won. Always. Could there ever be one time, one place, one pair whose love would truly tip the balance? Meet Flora Saudade, an African-American girl who dreams of becoming the next Amelia Earhart by day and sings in the smoky jazz clubs of Seattle by night. Meet Henry Bishop, born a few blocks and a million worlds away, a white boy with his future assured — a wealthy adoptive family in the midst of the Great Depression, a college scholarship, and all the opportunities in the world seemingly available to him. The players have been chosen. The dice have been rolled. But when human beings make moves of their own, what happens next is anyone’s guess. Achingly romantic and brilliantly imagined, The Game of Love and Death is a love story you will never forget.




    What should I read next? I need your help! Leave a comment below and let me know which book I should read next. 

     

    Wednesday, March 25, 2015

    Waiting On Wednesday #36



    Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine where she spotlights upcoming releases.
     
     
    So this week I'm dying to get my hands on this book...
     
     
     
     
     
     
    Title: Ash & Bramble 
    Author: Sarah Prineas
     Publisher: HarperTeen
    Expected Publication Date: September 15th 2015
     
     
     When the glass slipper just doesn’t fit…

    The tale of Cinderella has been retold countless times. But what you know is not the true story.

    Pin has no recollection of who she is or how she got to the Godmother’s fortress. She only knows that she is a Seamstress, working day in and out to make ball gowns fit for fairy tales. But she longs to forsake her backbreaking servitude and dares to escape with the brave young Shoemaker.

    Pin isn’t free for long before she’s captured again and forced to live the new life the Godmother chooses for her—a fairy tale story, complete with a charming prince—instead of finding her own happily ever after.

    Sarah Prineas’s bold fairy tale retelling is a dark and captivating world where swords are more fitting than slippers, young shoemakers are just as striking as princes, and a heroine is more than ready to rescue herself before the clock strikes midnight.
     
     
     
    This book has been on my waiting list for awhile, well as soon as I heard about it, I marked it as a must read on Goodreads.  I love the cover and the synopsis sounds perfect.  I can't wait to get my hands on this one! 
     
     
     

    Tuesday, March 24, 2015

    Bloggiesta Mini Challenge #2: Using Trello




    So I just completed my second mini challenger for Bloggiesta.  Really hope this helps organize everything for the blog a bit more than it already is. 

    I had a lot of fun with this mini challenge and want to thank the great host for the challenge.  She gave some great ideas on how to use Trello and I used them.  To read her post about Trello, head over to Pretty Sassy Cool.    Was able to organize upcoming reviews, make a list of my arcs that needed to be read and so much more using this great free site.  

    I'm still not completely finished with what I want to do with it, but I'm learning and loving it so far. Here is a glance at what I have so far.  



    It was really simple to set up and I'm loving the check list format. There is also a calendar format where you can schedule upcoming posts.  I'm really enjoying that part of the site as well. 

    What do you use to organize your upcoming blog lists? Do you use paper, Google docs and Calendar (Which is what I used to do), or something else? I would love to know. 


    Bloggiesta: Pinterest Mini Challenge



    Super excited, Bloggiesta started yesterday!!! I didn't get to do anything yesterday seeing as I was in bed all day not feeling well, but today has started out great.  I've already completed the first mini challenge that I wanted to complete.  


    In this challenge we were supposed to pin our author interviews.  I have decided to make a board for all author interviews and guest posts.  I still have to finish pinning all the guest posts, but all the author interviews are complete. Click the image below to see all the pins.  I have 20 so far!!


    I mainly wanted to work on this mini challenge because it was something I had always planned on doing, but never actually got around to it.  I challenge you, if you are a blogger, to do the same. 

    Today I'm planning on knocking some of my to do list out and complete a few more mini challenges.  I love that this bloggiesta is a full week, gives me plenty of time to get that to do list complete. 


    Friday, March 20, 2015

    Book Blogger Hop: #3




    Book Blogger Hop is another post I'm going to be trying out and this one has a topic each week, which is something I've been trying to bring to the blog.  I'm really excited about this one because I have a hard time coming up with something fresh to talk about and I'm hoping this helps.  
    If you would be interested in doing your own post, please CLICK HERE to learn more about this great hop! 
    This Weeks Question: 
    Do you read more on a rainy day or on a gorgeous day so you can be outside?

     To be honest, the weather has no effect on my reading.  I read if it's hot, snowing or raining.  Most of the time I do my reading inside though, there are a few days that I end up outside on my front porch reading, but not often.  I'm more comfortable in my bed reading.  Especially if the book is on the larger side when it comes to pages.  Those larger books get heavy to hold after awhile.

    How about you, do you like to go outside on those beautiful days and read or are you like me and just stay inside and read? 


    Thursday, March 19, 2015

    Mini Me Corner Review: Ice Cream Summer







    Min Me Corner is a post I created here on the blog, it's a place where I can showcase Children's books that I have read with my kids.  This week we have one that Scholastic sent to us that is an ARC.  My kids love seeing these and we sat down this week and I got to explain to them what an ARC is and why they are so important.  



    From Hans Christian Anderson Award winner and three-time Caldecott Honoree Peter Sis comes a delectable picture book that is as breezy, sweet and irresistible as ice cream in summer. Dear Grandpa, Summer is going well. I am very busy. But don't worry, I am not forgetting about school! I read every day. I practice my math facts. And I am even studying world history! Peter Sís's delicious tongue-in-cheek vision of summer dishes up the whole scoop on everyone's favorite frozen treat--and proves that ice cream is every bit as enriching for the mind as it is for the taste buds. Readers everywhere will be begging for seconds and thirds!




    First off I must say how much I enjoyed reading this book with my kids.  The illustrations are beautiful and very colorful, which of course grabbed my sons attention.  He has autism and it takes me a great deal of time to get him to sit down and read, most of the time anyway, this book got his attention quickly and held it. 

    Ice Cream Summer goes from page to page describing a little boys summer in letter form to his grandpa, with each page though the history of ice cream is woven in and that was great to share with my kids as well.  My kids both love to learn and when you add something like this inside their books it's a great discussion piece. 

    The words were easy enough for my seven year old son to enjoy and the story was enough to keep my ten year old daughters attention. 

    Sammy's Comments: Liked all the colors and seeing all the ice cream facts. 

    Braxton's Comments: It's funny and even the dog had ice cream. 

    Ice Cream Summer's expected release date is May 26th 2015, so if you want to get your child a book that will hold their attention and has a great history lesson in the middle of it, then this is the book you should get.








    We want to thank Scholastic Press for this great book and for the chance to share it with our readers here at Ali's Bookshelf.


    Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
     

    Archive

    This Blog is Protected..

    myfreecopyright.com registered & protected

    My Beautiful Blog was Designed by...

    Ali's Bookshelf © 2011-present