Tuesday, June 30, 2015

Teaser Tuesday #65



Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:


  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other Teaser Tuesday participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teaser. 

 
It wasn't as if he were going to tuck himself into a corner with Jane Morgan, after all. Her unkind cuts would have left him bleeding.










Please, leave me a teaser below in the comments.  If you post your own teaser Tuesday post, please leave me a link below so I can read your post as well.  

Monday, June 29, 2015

It's Monday...What Are You Reading?



It's Monday! What Are You Reading is hosted by Book Journey!


Today I'm Reading

(Since I didn't finish it last week, the first one on my list is...)


Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe 
Author: Benjamin Alire Saenz

 
A lyrical novel about family and friendship from critically acclaimed author Benjamin Alire Sáenz. Aristotle is an angry teen with a brother in prison. Dante is a know-it-all who has an unusual way of looking at the world. When the two meet at the swimming pool, they seem to have nothing in common. But as the loners start spending time together, they discover that they share a special friendship—the kind that changes lives and lasts a lifetime. And it is through this friendship that Ari and Dante will learn the most important truths about themselves and the kind of people they want to be.


 This Week I Plan To Read 


No-Where But Here 
Author: Kaite McGarry

An unforgettable new series from acclaimed author Katie McGarry about taking risks, opening your heart and ending up in a place you never imagined possible. Seventeen-year-old Emily likes her life the way it is: doting parents, good friends, good school in a safe neighborhood. Sure, she's curious about her biological father—the one who chose life in a motorcycle club, the Reign of Terror, over being a parent—but that doesn't mean she wants to be a part of his world. But when a reluctant visit turns to an extended summer vacation among relatives she never knew she had, one thing becomes clear: nothing is what it seems. Not the club, not her secret-keeping father and not Oz, a guy with suck-me-in blue eyes who can help her understand them both. Oz wants one thing: to join the Reign of Terror. They're the good guys. They protect people. They're…family. And while Emily—the gorgeous and sheltered daughter of the club's most respected member—is in town, he's gonna prove it to her. So when her father asks him to keep her safe from a rival club with a score to settle, Oz knows it's his shot at his dream. What he doesn't count on is that Emily just might turn that dream upside down. No one wants them to be together. But sometimes the right person is the one you least expect, and the road you fear the most is the one that leads you home.



 So there you have it, the two books that I plan on reading this week. What are you reading this week? 


Friday, June 26, 2015

Book Blogger Hop #8



Book Blogger Hop is another post I'm going to be trying out and this one has a topic each week, which is something I've been trying to bring to the blog.  I'm really excited about this one because I have a hard time coming up with something fresh to talk about and I'm hoping this helps.   
If you would be interested in doing your own post, please CLICK HERE to learn more about this great hop! 


This Week's Question:


Do others come to you for book recommendations?

I would like to think that people come to this blog for book recommendations, but I'm not really sure.  As for in the real world, yes people come to me all the time for book recommendations.  Most of my friends know what I do for a living and what I do here on the blog.  So they are always asking me what to read next.


Thursday, June 25, 2015

Review: Center Ice by Cate Cameron


Title: Center Ice
Author: Cate Cameron
Publisher: Entangled Crush
Published: May 19th 2015
Format: Ebook
Pages: 196 pages
ISBN:  1633752674

GoodreadsBuy This
The hometown hockey hero won’t know what hit him… Karen Webber is in small-town hell. After her mother’s death, she moved to Corrigan Falls to live with strangers—her dad and his perfect, shiny new family—and there doesn’t seem to be room for a city girl with a chip on her shoulder. The only person who makes her feel like a real human being is Tyler MacDonald. But Karen isn’t interested in starting something with a player. And that’s all she keeps hearing about Tyler. Corrigan Falls is a hockey town, and Tyler’s the star player. But the viselike pressure from his father and his agent are sending him dangerously close to the edge. All people see is hockey—except Karen. Now they’ve managed to find something in each other that they both desperately need. And for the first time, Tyler is playing for keeps…






Simply put, I love this book! I love this publisher and I love this author.  Alright with all that said, let's talk about this book, publisher and author.   Center Ice is the first book in the Corrigan Falls Raiders series.  I honestly think that this is more of a New Adult book, but others think it's more young adult.  This fantastic book is told in two point of views, Karen and Tyler both get to tell their part of the story and I really like how the author did this.  Here lately I haven't liked multiple pov's in books, but she did this one nicely. 

I really enjoyed how well developed these characters are in this book. You can tell while reading, just how much this author knows them.  You don't just see the good for each character in this book, you get to see everything.  Even when times get tough, you get to read about that as well.  It's not all hunky dorey all the time and I really like that about Center Ice. 

There were times when I cracked up laughing at Karen in this book, she's so snarky at times and I love that about her.  Makes her really come to life for me seeing as I am very snarky at times. Well at least I am in my head.  I love relateable characters and Karen is that for me.  The pacing in this book is another great thing I enjoyed about it.  Center Ice isn't forced or way to fast paced.  It's got a great build up and a great hook for the next book.

All in all, this is a great read and I would recomend it to anyone looking for a well rounded book full of characters whose lifes aren't always perfect.  I can't wait for the next book in this series and I would read any book by this fantastic author.  


Going to give Center Ice an Ali's Bookshelf...



Plot: 18/20
Writing: 20/20
Creativity: 18/20
Characters: 20/20
Ending: 9/10
Cover: 10/10



Here at Ali's Bookshelf we accept books in exchange for a honest review. The book above came from the publisher through Netgalley. We also use Amazon Affiliate links at times

Wednesday, June 24, 2015

Review: Spy6teen by Lisa Moore


Title: Spy6teen
Author: Lisa Moore, Brant Fowler (and others)
Publisher: Sandbox Comic's
Published: February 3rd, 2011
Format: Kindle
ISBN: 9781106919359

Goodreads
The debut issue from Sandbox Comics, Spy6teen-- which originally appeared on Zuda, bursts into an on-going series! CallyCalhoon wants to be a model student, but that's not easy when herafter school job is with a secret government unit called THE QUAD! Hi-Spy espionage before the first bell rings!








This review is going to be a bit short, mainly because I'm marking this as a DNF.  I was really excited to read this graphic novel, its the main reason I had requested it from Netgalley, but once I started reading I had to force myself to even read beyond the second page.  

The graphics didn't grab my attention and the storyline itself was more than boring.  There was no plot and honestly the main character wasn't one that I wanted to read more of.  What little storyline there was, honestly was something that I've seen time and time again.  I found myself yawning when reading it and I forced myself to read a few pages.  I couldn't however force myself to read more than three pages. By that time I had rolled my eyes at it enough for me to put it down and delete it off of my Kindle. 

I don't feel right really rating this one, so I'm not going too.  But this one just wasn't worth my time.  I couldn't even find it on Amazon. 




Here at Ali's Bookshelf we accept books in exchange for a honest review. The book above came from the publisher through Netgalley. We also use Amazon Affiliate links at times

Tuesday, June 23, 2015

Teaser Tuesday #64



Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:


  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other Teaser Tuesday participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teaser. 



Mom's and Dad's six-inch holograms flickered to life beside her nutrient packet while Troy hopped onto the table and slid across its slick surface to occupy the spot next to her. "Merry Christmas!" Mom called, waving from her seat atop Dad's lap. They had settled on the magnolia-festooned living room sofa, and Dad wore a jolly red sweater that clashed with this orange hair.





Please, leave me a teaser below in the comments.  If you post your own teaser Tuesday post, please leave me a link below so I can read your post as well. 

Monday, June 22, 2015

It's Monday...What Are You Reading



It's Monday! What Are You Reading is hosted by Book Journey!


 Today I'm Reading (I didn't finish this last week)


Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children 
Author: Ransom Riggs 
A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs. A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.



This Week I Plan To Read 
Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe 
Author: Benjamin Alire Saenz
A lyrical novel about family and friendship from critically acclaimed author Benjamin Alire Sáenz. Aristotle is an angry teen with a brother in prison. Dante is a know-it-all who has an unusual way of looking at the world. When the two meet at the swimming pool, they seem to have nothing in common. But as the loners start spending time together, they discover that they share a special friendship—the kind that changes lives and lasts a lifetime. And it is through this friendship that Ari and Dante will learn the most important truths about themselves and the kind of people they want to be.




So there you have it, the two books that I plan on reading this week. What are you reading this week? 


 

Saturday, June 20, 2015

Another Add to Ali's Bookshelf


It is time for another add to my bookshelf! I have a great new book and I am dying to read it.  It's been awhile since I've posted one of these so here's a little explanation. The inspiration for this post is from My Reading Pile, she gave me permission to make my own and I have.  Thanks again for letting me do these types of posts. 






Greg Gaines is the last master of high school espionage, able to disappear at will into any social environment. He has only one friend, Earl, and together they spend their time making movies, their own incomprehensible versions of Coppola and Herzog cult classics. Until Greg’s mother forces him to rekindle his childhood friendship with Rachel. Rachel has been diagnosed with leukemia—-cue extreme adolescent awkwardness—-but a parental mandate has been issued and must be obeyed. When Rachel stops treatment, Greg and Earl decide the thing to do is to make a film for her, which turns into the Worst Film Ever Made and becomes a turning point in each of their lives. And all at once Greg must abandon invisibility and stand in the spotlight.


WHERE I HEARD ABOUT THIS BOOKS...




I heard about this book all over to book blogger universe.  I also heard about it because it's becoming a movie.  Saw it at Walmart and had to have it on my shelf and to read.

WHY I'M ADDING IT?
 I've heard nothing but good things about this one. Plus the summary sounds amazing.  I can't wait to read this one.

WHEN I'M GOING TO BE READING THIS BOOK?
Read the summary, doesn't that make you want to read this book? I know it does for me. It's one of those books that I had to have and to read. I haven't had a book grab me like that in awhile.

What Are Your Thoughts On This One?

So have you read this one yet? Is it on your TBR? I really want to know your thoughts about it. Should I move it up my list and read it as soon as I can? HELP! I think I might read it in July, but not sure yet.


As always...

 

Friday, June 19, 2015

Book Blogger Hop #7


Book Blogger Hop is another post I'm going to be trying out and this one has a topic each week, which is something I've been trying to bring to the blog.  I'm really excited about this one because I have a hard time coming up with something fresh to talk about and I'm hoping this helps.   
If you would be interested in doing your own post, please CLICK HERE to learn more about this great hop!


This Weeks Question:
How many posts do you publisher per week? And how many of them are reviews?

Here lately it hasn't been as much as I would like.  Normally, I post about 7 to 8 posts a well, but like I said it hasn't been like that lately.  Trying really hard to get back to that now.  As for reviews, I usually do two to three reviews as week.  That's on average, depending on tours and time.

What about you, how many posts do you do and how many of those are reviews? I would really like to know and it will help me judge how well or bad I'm doing.



Thursday, June 18, 2015

Review: Breaking Point by Kristen Simmons


Title: Breaking Point
Author: Kristen Simmons
Publisher: Tor Teen
Published: Feburary 12th, 2013
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 400 pages
ISBN: 076532959X
Genre: Young Adult Dystopian

Authors WebsiteGoodreadsBuy This
The second installment in Kristen Simmons's fast-paced, gripping YA dystopian series. After faking their deaths to escape from prison, Ember Miller and Chase Jennings have only one goal: to lay low until the Federal Bureau of Reformation forgets they ever existed. Near-celebrities now for the increasingly sensationalized tales of their struggles with the government, Ember and Chase are recognized and taken in by the Resistance—an underground organization working to systematically take down the government. At headquarters, all eyes are on the sniper, an anonymous assassin taking out FBR soldiers one by one. Rumors are flying about the sniper’s true identity, and Ember and Chase welcome the diversion…. Until the government posts its most-wanted list, and their number one suspect is Ember herself. Orders are shoot to kill, and soldiers are cleared to fire on suspicion alone. Suddenly Ember can’t even step onto the street without fear of being recognized, and “laying low” is a joke. Even members of the Resistance are starting to look at her sideways. With Chase urging her to run, Ember must decide: Go into hiding…or fight back?







First thing I must say about Breaking Point is something I'm beginning to say a lot when it comes to squeals and that this one I loved!!  I'm loving that I'm not dreading reading the second book in some series. A few years ago I couldn't say that and it just shows you how much that books have evolved and become better.  

With that being said, I want to talk about the plot for this book and the whole series.  I thought the first book of this series was fantastic and that I honestly wasn't sure she could top what she did in the first.  But author Kristen Simmons does it again and makes this series even better than I thought it would get.  This plot and the way the main characters love story grows just made me sigh.  I really love and am attached to the characters in this story.  Ember and Chase are two of my favorites when it comes to YA right now. 

I can't wait to see how Kristen Simmons will tie everything together in the next book and will tie up all the loose ends.  I really don't want this story to end, but I know it has too. The pacing of Breaking Point is perfection and if you would like to read a great dystopian, this series is the one you should read if you haven't already.  

Article 5 is a series that I could read over and over again! Not sure what else I can say about this book and this fantastic author that I haven't already said.  


I know you already know what I'm about to say, but I give Breaking Point an Ali's Bookshelf...


Plot: 20/20
Writing: 20/20
Creativity: 20/20
Characters: 20/20
Ending: 10/10
Cover: 10/10

Here at Ali's Bookshelf we accept books in exchange for a honest review. However, the book above was one that I bought and decided to review. We also use Amazon Affiliate links at times.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

Archive

This Blog is Protected..

myfreecopyright.com registered & protected

My Beautiful Blog was Designed by...

Ali's Bookshelf © 2011-present