Tuesday, July 28, 2015

Teaser Tuesday #68







Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:


  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other Teaser Tuesday participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teaser. 


 
"Enough of this." He pushed to his feet and fell into a fighting crouch. And that was why I met him in secret. He understood. Stalker wouldn't let me forget who I was.









Please, leave me a teaser below in the comments.  If you post your own teaser Tuesday post, please leave me a link below so I can read your post as well.    


Monday, July 27, 2015

It's Monday...What Are You Reading?



It's Monday! What Are You Reading is hosted by Book Journey!

 Today I'm Reading

Breaking Nova by Jessica Sorensen 
Nova Reed used to have dreams-of becoming a famous drummer, of marrying her true love. But all of that was taken away in an instant. Now she's getting by as best she can, though sometimes that means doing things the old Nova would never do. Things that are slowly eating away at her spirit. Every day blends into the next . . . until she meets Quinton Carter. His intense, honey brown eyes instantly draw her in, and he looks just about as broken as she feels inside. Quinton once got a second chance at life-but he doesn't want it. The tattoos on his chest are a constant reminder of what he's done, what he's lost. He's sworn to never allow happiness into his life . . . but then beautiful, sweet Nova makes him smile. He knows he's too damaged to get close to her, yet she's the only one who can make him feel alive again. Quinton will have to decide: does he deserve to start over? Or should he pay for his past forever?



 This Week I Plan To Read 
This is where it ends by Marieke Nijkamp
 
10:00 a.m. The principal of Opportunity, Alabama's high school finishes her speech, welcoming the entire student body to a new semester and encouraging them to excel and achieve. 10:02 a.m. The students get up to leave the auditorium for their next class. 10:03 The auditorium doors won't open. 10:05 Someone starts shooting. Told over the span of 54 harrowing minutes from four different perspectives, terror reigns as one student's calculated revenge turns into the ultimate game of survival.








 So there you have it, the two books that I plan on reading this week. What are you reading this week? 


Tuesday, July 21, 2015

Teaser Tuesday #67







Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other Teaser Tuesday participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teaser. 



The kettle boiled and the Magician made himself a cup of Earl Gray. Sipping the perfumed tea, he finally turned to look at the rag-wrapped bundle on his desk. A rare smile curled his lips. He might have lost the battle, but he had certainly come away withe greatest prize.










 Please, leave me a teaser below in the comments.  If you post your own teaser Tuesday post, please leave me a link below so I can read your post as well. 

Monday, July 20, 2015

It's Monday...What Are You Reading?







It's Monday! What Are You Reading is hosted by Book Journey!



Today I'm Reading
The Wicked Will Rise by Danielle Paige
 
In this dark, high-octane sequel to the New York Times bestselling Dorothy Must Die, Amy Gumm must do everything in her power to kill Dorothy and free Oz. To make Oz a free land again, Amy Gumm was given a mission: remove the Tin Woodman’s heart, steal the Scarecrow’s brain, take the Lion’s courage, and then Dorothy must die... But Dorothy still lives. Now the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked has vanished, and mysterious Princess Ozma might be Amy’s only ally. As Amy learns the truth about her mission, she realizes that she’s only just scratched the surface of Oz’s past—and that Kansas, the home she couldn't wait to leave behind, may also be in danger. In a place where the line between good and evil shifts with just a strong gust of wind, who can Amy trust—and who is really Wicked?


  This Week I Plan To Read 


Into a Million Pieces by Angela V. Cook 

 
Allison McKready is a succubus. So is her twin sister. But while Allison spends her summer break hiding in the library behind her Goth makeup, Jade fools around as often as she can. Allison can’t believe Jade would ignore their mother’s fatal example so recklessly, but concealing a cursed bloodline and its dangerous effects is far from Allison’s only problem. Mean girl Julie’s snob mob is determined to ruin her summer, and Aunt Sarah’s Bible thumping is getting louder. Only her new friend, Ren Fisher, offers safe haven from the chaos of her life. When one of Jade’s risky dates leads to humiliation and sudden tragedy, Allison reels, and Ren catches her. But as her feelings for him grow, so does her fear that she’ll hurt him—or worse—in an unguarded moment. The choice is coming—love him or save him—but Allison might not live to make it. One way or another, the curse will have its due.



  So there you have it, the two books that I plan on reading this week. What are you reading this week? 


Tuesday, July 14, 2015

Teaser Tuesday #66



Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:



  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other Teaser Tuesday participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teaser. 


 
And yet,I can feel the strands of the Earth. They snake against my skin,and if I could calm my racing heart, I think I could even hear them because the space around me crackles with vitality.







 Please, leave me a teaser below in the comments.  If you post your own teaser Tuesday post, please leave me a link below so I can read your post as well.  


Monday, July 13, 2015

It's Monday...What Are You Reading?



It's Monday! What Are You Reading is hosted by Book Journey!

 Today I'm Reading

The Wanderer by Robyn Carr
 
From Robyn Carr, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the popular Virgin River novels, comes Thunder Point-the highly anticipated new series that will make you laugh, make you sigh, and make you fall in love with a small town filled with people you'll never forget. Nestled on the Oregon coast is a small town of rocky beaches and rugged charm. Locals love the land's unspoiled beauty. Developers see it as a potential gold mine. When newcomer Hank Cooper learns he's been left an old friend's entire beachfront property, he finds himself with a community's destiny in his hands. Cooper has never been a man to settle in one place, and Thunder Point was supposed to be just another quick stop. But Cooper finds himself getting involved with the town. And with Sarah Dupre, a woman as complicated as she is beautiful. With the whole town watching for his next move, Cooper has to choose between his old life and a place full of new possibilities. A place that just might be home.




 This Week I Plan To Read 



Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige

I didn't ask for any of this. I didn't ask to be some kind of hero. But when your whole life gets swept up by a tornado - taking you with it - you have no choice but to go along, you know? Sure, I've read the books. I've seen the movies. I know the song about the rainbow and the happy little bluebirds. But I never expected Oz to look like this. To be a place where Good Witches can't be trusted, Wicked Witches may just be the good guys, and winged monkeys can be executed for acts of rebellion. There's still a yellow brick road - but even that's crumbling. What happened? Dorothy. They say she found a way to come back to Oz. They say she seized power and the power went to her head. And now no one is safe. My name is Amy Gumm - and I'm the other girl from Kansas. I've been recruited by the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked. I've been trained to fight. And I have a mission.


 So there you have it, the two books that I plan on reading this week. What are you reading this week? 

 

Sunday, July 12, 2015

Ali Talks: Why I haven't been Around






Alright, so this is more of a message than a discussion post, but I wanted to let you all know why I haven't been around this past week.  I'm on vacation in Florida, with my mom and my kids.  Have had a great time so far, but I still have another week down here.  I have next week already scheduled so there will be posts this week.  YAY! 

I drove down here on Monday, from Kentucky and that's a sixteen hour drive.  So I took a few days to recover and then had some fun with my kids. So that's the reason I haven't been around the past week.  Now it's time to get back in the grove and share some great books with you.  Get ready for a great week here on the blog, including a new giveaway! 

Thanks for understanding! 



Friday, July 3, 2015

Book Blogger Hop #9



Book Blogger Hop is another post I'm going to be trying out and this one has a topic each week, which is something I've been trying to bring to the blog.  I'm really excited about this one because I have a hard time coming up with something fresh to talk about and I'm hoping this helps.   
If you would be interested in doing your own post, please CLICK HERE to learn more about this great hop! 


This Weeks Question:


Do you lend your books out to friends and family?

I'm pretty picky about my books and honestly I've lent my books out before and they came back really messed up.  Once I lent one of my books out and it came back with all the pages scribbled on with a pen.  So, since then I haven't really lent my books out that much.  Except to my mom, which we share books back and forth all the time and know that we wont screw each others books up.  Now lately I have lent out a few books to my amazing fiance, so I guess that counts.

 What about you, do you lend out your books or are you as picky as me?


Wednesday, July 1, 2015

Review: The Killing Woods by Lucy Christopher


Title: The Killing Woods
Author: Lucy Christopher
Publisher: Chicken House
Published: January 7th 2014
Format: Hardback
Pages: 384 pages
ISBN #: 0545461006

Authors WebsiteGoodreadsBuy This
Fatal attraction, primal fear, survival in the forest: From the author of the Printz Honor Book STOLEN, the highly anticipated thriller about deadly games played in the dark. Ashlee Parker is dead, and Emily Shepherd's dad is accused of the crime. A former soldier suffering from PTSD, he emerges from the woods carrying the girl's broken body. "Gone," he says, then retreats into silence. What really happened that wild night? Emily knows in her bones that her father is innocent -- isn't he? Before he's convicted, she's got to find out the truth. Does Damon Hilary, Ashlee's charismatic boyfriend, have the answers? Or is he only playing games with her -- the kinds of games that can kill?





When I first got this book for review, I stared at it for a few minutes, read the summary and then put it down.  At first I didn't think it was a book that I wanted to really read right away, seeing as it wasn't something that I would usually read.  It took me a few weeks to pick it back up, but this book stayed with me.  I kept thinking about it and wondering what it would actually be like to read it.  So when I finally picked it up, I was so intrigued that I read it in one sitting. 

I will say that there are parts that were pretty predictable, but they weren't so much so that I didn't want to stop reading. I guess this just shows that just because it's not what you usually read, doesn't mean you wont actually enjoy it, because I loved reading this book.  

There are some great twists and turns in this book that weren't very predictable and I think that's what kept me reading.  This book is very sad though, so fair warning, I cried while reading The Killing Woods.  So points for the author getting that emotion out of me.  Again this is a book with duel narrative and I really enjoyed that about it. There isn't much of a romance in this book and to be honest I don't think there could have been and the book still be realistic.  I probably wouldn't have liked it if there had been romance.  

If you are looking for something that isn't the ordinary read, this is the book for you.   If you are looking for something different, then pick up The Killing Woods. I recommend this author and will read other books by her when they are released.  


Going to give The Killing Woods an Ali's Bookshelf...

Plot: 19/20
Writing: 19/20
Characters: 20/20
Creativity: 19/20
Ending: 10/10
Cover: 10/10

Total: 97 out of 100 

Here at Ali's Bookshelf we accept books in exchange for a honest review. The book above came from the publisher and I want to thank them for giving me the chance to review this great book. We also use Amazon Affiliate links at times

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

This Blog is Protected..

myfreecopyright.com registered & protected

My Beautiful Blog was Designed by...

Ali's Bookshelf © 2011-present