Tuesday, October 27, 2015

Teaser Tuesday and Giveway!!!



Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:



  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other Teaser Tuesday participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teaser. 



 
She kept her attention on her notebook. "Who are you going to do your report on? Dr. Seuss?" "I do like green eggs and ham, Mac I am."












Hope you enjoyed that little teaser, now if you would like to win a copy of this book, you can sign up for your chance to win below.  Also my review for this fantastic book will be posted later on this week.  So make sure you stop back by for that!








This giveaway will be for US residents only and is for a paperback copy of Better off Friends by Elizabeth Eulberg.  This paperback copy was provided by the fantastic publisher.  





Friday, October 23, 2015

Review: Lost in Tennessee


Title: Lost in Tennessee
Author: Anita DeVito
Publisher:  Entangled: Select Suspense
Series: Lost #1
Format: Ebook ARC
ISBN #: 1633753743

GoodreadsBuy This
Sometimes a man finds trouble...and sometimes it comes looking for him... Heartache makes for good country music. It's what country superstar Butch McCormick keeps telling himself. He's done with women and can't handle one more disappointment. He's taking a few months off to work on the old house on his parents' land to fix shutters, scrape paint, and figure out what he wants in life... Then she appears out of nowhere, with red hair and a peaches-and-cream complexion...and just so damned lost. Architect Kate Riley doesn't have the luxury of getting lost, having a damaged car, or being smitten by a sexy-talkin' cowboy with an irresistible smile. But the longer Kate stays at Elderberry Farm, the stranger things get. For one, there's the crazy chemistry between her and Butch. For another, dead bodies are starting to turn up...and Kate might be the murderer's next victim.







I was actually super excited to read this book, I don't usually read a lot of suspense, but this was mixed with romance and I thought it would be a great change.  Let me tell you this, I wasn't disappointed in my decision to read this one.  Lost in Tennessee is a book with fantastic characters, great twists and turns and an ending I didn't see coming. I will say that this is one of the best books I've read this year and that's saying a lot because I've read a lot this year. 

What do you get when you pair a country singer on his third divorce and a architect on a business trip in Tennessee who is working on a project there in Tennessee? Yep it's this fantastic book, I really loved that she didn't know that he's famous, that part really drew me in to the store. Another thing that drew me into this story was the authors writing style.  

I can't wait to read more books by her and seeing as this is her first book, I'm sure the rest will be just as amazing if not better, if that's possible. She knows how to keep her readers guessing, honestly I had no idea what was going to happen next and every time I guessed I was way off. I really hope that some of the other characters in this book get their own story.  The side characters are just as fantastic as the main. 

I must say that the humor in this book was a fantastic add to the romance and suspense.  Really love when an author can add a touch of humor in any book, but this authors comedic lines are perfection and done with great timing.  With a mixture of great characters, humor and love this book is one hell of a ride and one that I will recommend to anyone that is looking for just that in a book.  



Obviously, Lost in Tennessee is a book that deserves an Ali's Bookshelf....








Here at Ali's Bookshelf we accept books in exchange for a honest review. The book above is one of those books, I received this book from Entangled Publishing for an honest review. We also use Amazon Affiliate links at times.

Tuesday, October 13, 2015

Teaser Tuesday #74




Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:



  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other Teaser Tuesday participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teaser. 


 
"It's...something," I said at last. "Do you know the story, Sophie?" Mrs. Casnoff asked. When I shook my head, she smiled and gestured to the fearsome angel behind the gates.







So what did you think? I'm super excited that I'm finally getting to read this book.  I've heard so many great things about it and it's been on my shelf for a long time.  Have you read it and if so what did you think? I'd love to know.  


 

Take a Break...Watch A Vid



Take a Break...Watch This Vid is a post I love doing here on Ali's Bookshelf, it's a great way to showcase book trailers and movie trailers.  Today I have a great tv show trailer! 


As some of you might know, I never finished The Mortal Instruments series and I kind of want to now that I've saw this great looking TV show trailer.  ABC Family, which is changing it's name soon, is going to be the home of the new Shadow Hunters series.  It's based off of The Immortal Instruments books and I can't wait to see it. 

Now I loved the movie and the cast, but this cast looks amazing too, so we shall see I guess. 

Let's see what you all think, shall we?




So what do you think? Does it look good to you? Will you be watching, like me to see if they can pull this off? 






Tuesday, October 6, 2015

Teaser Tuesday #73







Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:


  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other Teaser Tuesday participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teaser. 

 
I am casting the net. Pray for my success, that I may increase our number and find those for whom I search. The porch light cast a shadow across our lawn. Before me, on the crunchy, dried-out autumn grass, a smaller, darker me walked to my car.









So what did you think? I know one thing, this book is amazing so far.  I'll also be posting my full review as soon as I finish it.  This one has three books in one, so it might take me a few weeks to finish.  We shall see. 

 

Monday, October 5, 2015

It's Monday...What Are You Reading?



It's Monday! What Are You Reading is hosted by Book Journey!
So I'm pretty excited about this month and the reading challenge I'm participating in.  Going to be reading a lot of witches and vampire books this month.  But anyway, below is what I plan to read this week. 

Today/This week I'll Be Reading
(This is a book I'll probably be reading for the next weeks.  It's a three book in one volume book so it will probably take me about two weeks. ) 



 Morgan Rowlands never thought she was anything other than a typical sixteen-year-old girl. But when she meets Cal, a captivatingly handsome coven leader, she makes a discover that turns her whole world upside down: she is a witch, descended from an ancient and powerful line. And so is Cal. Their connection is immediate and unbreakable; Cal teases out Morgan's power, her love, her magick. But Morgan discovers too soon that her powers are strong-- almost too powerful to control. And she begins to suspect that Cal may be keeping secrets from her . . . secrets that could destroy them both.




I'm Also Going to Be Reading 


Sometimes a man finds trouble...and sometimes it comes looking for him... Heartache makes for good country music. It's what country superstar Butch McCormick keeps telling himself. He's done with women and can't handle one more disappointment. He's taking a few months off to work on the old house on his parents' land to fix shutters, scrape paint, and figure out what he wants in life... Then she appears out of nowhere, with red hair and a peaches-and-cream complexion...and just so damned lost. Architect Kate Riley doesn't have the luxury of getting lost, having a damaged car, or being smitten by a sexy-talkin' cowboy with an irresistible smile. But the longer Kate stays at Elderberry Farm, the stranger things get. For one, there's the crazy chemistry between her and Butch. For another, dead bodies are starting to turn up...and Kate might be the murderer's next victim.




So there is what I'm going to be reading this week.  What about you, what are you reading? 

 

Friday, October 2, 2015

Book Blogger Hop #12




Book Blogger Hop is another post I'm going to be trying out and this one has a topic each week, which is something I've been trying to bring to the blog.  I'm really excited about this one because I have a hard time coming up with something fresh to talk about and I'm hoping this helps.   
If you would be interested in doing your own post, please CLICK HERE to learn more about this great hop! 

This Weeks Question:  
 
Halloween Edition: You're volunteering to read a book to a group of young children at a library. What scary themed book for kids would you read to them?


Hmm this is a hard question, let me think for a few minutes.... I think it would have to be this book...



I've read this one to my kids a few times and they loved it! 







So what book would you read? I would love to know, leave me a comment below and tell me which book you would read to the kids. 




Thursday, October 1, 2015

Review: Lover Awakened by J.R. Ward



Title: Lover Awakened
Author: J.R. Ward
Publisher: Signet
Series: The Black Dagger Brotherhood #3
Date Published:  September 5th 2006
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 434 pages
ISBN #:  0451219368

Authors WebsiteGoodreadsBuy This
In the shadows of the night in Caldwell, New York, there’s a deadly war raging between vampires and their slayers. And there exists a secret band of brothers like no other - six vampire warriors, defenders of their race. Of these, Zsadist is the most terrifying member of the Black Dagger Brotherhood. A former blood slave, the vampire Zsadist still bears the scars from a past filled with suffering and humiliation. Renowned for his unquenchable fury and sinister deeds, he is a savage feared by humans and vampires alike. Anger is his only companion, and terror is his only passion—until he rescues a beautiful aristocrat from the evil Lessening Society. Bella is instantly entranced by the seething power Zsadist possesses. But even as their desire for one another begins to overtake them both, Zsadist’s thirst for vengeance against Bella’s tormentors drives him to the brink of madness. Now, Bella must help her lover overcome the wounds of his tortured past, and find a future with her…





Now I've found my favorite vampire in this series! Yes I know I say this every time, but this time I really have.  Zsadist is officially my favorite Black Dagger Brotherhood Favorite! With all of that out of the way, let's talk about Lover Awakened.

My favorite part of this book is the most saddest part.  I love hearing the vampire's backstory and Zsadist's, to me, is the most heart wrenching backstory.  I don't want to give anything away, but I cried reading everything he had been through. The whole time reading this book, I kept saying he is the most tortured soul I've ever read about and still to this day I have to agree.  My heart breaks just thinking about everything.  (If you haven't read this one, you really need to pick it up and start reading it now.) Everything he thought about himself as unworthy I wanted to hug him.

I will say this, I love who his mate ends up being, at first I wasn't sure it was going to happen.  Bella has become my favorite of all the girls in these stories. I kept asking myself if he was going to open up and let her in, or was she going to end up with someone else.

Really enjoyed all the action in this book as well, not that there was less in the other two books before this one, but I liked reading it more in this one.  It's great getting to know the other brothers in this book as well, I think that's what really drew me into this story the most.  So many different takes on everything going on and so many characters walking around, but not so many that it's hard to keep up.

I will say one thing I'm really happy about, this one didn't end in such a cliff hanger.  Sometimes too many of those can be too much.  Another thing I really enjoyed about this one is that author J.R. Ward really pushed the character into talking about his past in this book and talking to someone about it and not bottling it in any longer.  I really hate to see authors that don't mention that part of the healing process for a character with this type of backstory.

I guess I'm another sucker for the wounded character, but I just love this story and Zsadist so much.  I would suggest anyone that loves the wounded character like me, to read this book, but make sure you read the other two in the series first.  This way you can see a bit more into Zsadist first.



“I was dead until you found me, though I breathed. I was sightless, though I could see. And then you came...and I was awakened.”







As if you didn't already know...





Here at Ali's Bookshelf we accept books in exchange for a honest review. The book above though I bought for myself, but still wanted to review it. We also use Amazon Affiliate links at times

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

This Blog is Protected..

myfreecopyright.com registered & protected

My Beautiful Blog was Designed by...

Ali's Bookshelf © 2011-present