Thursday, October 12, 2017

Review: Paper Princess




Title: Paper Princess 
Author: Erin Watt
Series: The Royals #1
Publisher: Timeout LLC
Date Published:  April 4th 2016
Date Read: Jan. 26th through 28th 2017
Format: Paperback/Audio

From strip clubs and truck stops to southern coast mansions and prep schools, one girl tries to stay true to herself.

These Royals will ruin you…

Ella Harper is a survivor—a pragmatic optimist. She’s spent her whole life moving from town to town with her flighty mother, struggling to make ends meet and believing that someday she’ll climb out of the gutter. After her mother’s death, Ella is truly alone.

Until Callum Royal appears, plucking Ella out of poverty and tossing her into his posh mansion among his five sons who all hate her. Each Royal boy is more magnetic than the last, but none as captivating as Reed Royal, the boy who is determined to send her back to the slums she came from.

Reed doesn’t want her. He says she doesn’t belong with the Royals.

He might be right.

Wealth. Excess. Deception. It’s like nothing Ella has ever experienced, and if she’s going to survive her time in the Royal palace, she’ll need to learn to issue her own Royal decrees.






There is so much that I want to say about this book that I have no clue how to start. Honestly, I've been sitting here staring at this screen and I can remember every detail about this book and I want to say so much that it's all coming out in an excitable babble. LOL!

So I'm just going to start off by saying, if you haven't figured it out yet, that I love this book so much. The whole plotline is fantastic and well written that I had no clue what was going to happen next. Seriously, it caught me off guard several times. Which doesn't happen very often when reading for me, most of the time I see things coming or can guess what's going to happen next. When I find a book that I can't predict I'm usually in awe of it. Plus it doesn't hurt that the writing style was perfection and it made reading this book a great read.

Let's talk about the characters! Which in this book is my favorite part, I really connected with several of them in this book. Not really with their actions but I really connected with their emotions. I even cried a few times while reading this one. The book starts out in such a way that I didn't expect that I was hooked right away and plopped right into Ella's life, in such a way that I couldn't look away not even for a second. Honestly, I didn't stop listening to this one for very long and had to finish it as fast as I could. I just had to know what was going to happen to her next. Besides Ella, Easton (one of the brothers) also became one of my favorite characters in this story. He's funny and becomes very close to Ella in the end. So much love for him.

The author's writing style was the other thing that pulled me in right away, I wouldn't really say this was an easy to read story, but it's one that really flowed.  If you haven't read Paper Princess what are you waiting for, seriously, get your copy today and start reading. You won't be dissapointed!





If you haven't guessed already...



 Here at Ali's Bookshelf we accept books in exchange for a honest review. The book above however is one that I purchased for myself.  I also use Amazon Affiliate links at times.
 

Monday, October 2, 2017

It's Monday...What Are You Reading?




This meme started with J Kaye's Blog and then was taken up by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn at the Book Date.  It's a meme where you share what you read last week, what you're currently reading and what you plan on reading that week.






September ended up being a really bad month for me in life and my reading life as well. I'm hoping October is a lot better and I plan to at least start if off better. This week I plan to read at least two books. For my reading challenge on Goodreads I only have ten more books to read this year to reach my goal, which is awesome! 

This Week I Plan To Read 




Fallen Heir by Erin Watt


These Royals will ruin you.

Easton Royal has it all: looks, money, intelligence. His goal in life is to have as much fun as possible. He never thinks about the consequences because he doesn’t have to.

Until Hartley Wright appears, shaking up his easy life. She’s the one girl who’s said no, despite being attracted to him. Easton can’t figure her out and that makes her all the more irresistible.

Hartley doesn’t want him. She says he needs to grow up.

She might be right.

Rivals. Rules. Regrets. For the first time in Easton’s life, wearing a Royal crown isn’t enough. He’s about to learn that the higher you start, the harder you fall.
 







Nnewts by Doug TenNapel 


 The first book in the Nnewts series follows the story of Herk, a lovable Nnewt who longs for stronger legs, something his mother and father wish they could give him. When his quaint village is attacked by the reptile Lizzarks, he's forced to flee his home and leave behind the only life he's ever known. Now, all alone and on the run, Herk navigates a dangerous world filled with strange creatures and mysterious wonders, where friends are few and an evil lord is in hot pursuit.



Up Next 

Before She Ignites by Jodi Meadows 
Autumn Rose by Abigail Gibbs  






So that's this weeks reading plans. If I get through the first two books I'll be moving on down the list. YAY! I'm excited about each of these books. I've had Autumn Rose on my TBR for a long time. 

 

Monday, September 11, 2017

It's Monday...What Are You Reading?



This meme started with J Kaye's Blog and then was taken up by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn at the Book Date.  It's a meme where you share what you read last week, what you're currently reading and what you plan on reading that week.






Have  any of you ever had so many choices as to what to read next and it made you not know what to read next? Please tell me I'm not the only one that this happens to. Anyway, I have a few choices so I'm just going to put a few of them on here and see what I actually get to this week. 




Audiobook for This Week





Heartless by Marissa Meyer 

 Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland and a favorite of the unmarried King, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, she wants to open a shop and create delectable pastries. But for her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for a woman who could be a queen.

At a royal ball where Cath is expected to receive the King’s marriage proposal, she meets handsome and mysterious Jest. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the King and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into a secret courtship.

Cath is determined to choose her own destiny. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.


Books to Choose From This Week 




The Hearts We Sold by Emily Lloyd-Jones 

 When Dee Moreno makes a deal with a demon—her heart in exchange for an escape from a disastrous home life—she finds the trade may have been more than she bargained for. And becoming “heartless” is only the beginning. What lies ahead is a nightmare far bigger, far more monstrous than anything she could have ever imagined.

With reality turned on its head, Dee has only a group of other deal-making teens to keep her grounded, including the charming but secretive James Lancer. And as something grows between them amid an otherworldy ordeal, Dee begins to wonder: Can she give someone her heart when it’s no longer hers to give?






The Valiant by Lesley Livingston

Princess. Captive. Gladiator.

Fallon is the daughter of a proud Celtic king, the sister of the legendary warrior Sorcha, and the sworn enemy of Julius Caesar.

When Fallon was a child, Caesar’s armies invaded her homeland, and her beloved sister was killed in battle.

Now, on the eve of her seventeenth birthday, Fallon is eager to follow in her sister’s footsteps and earn her place in the fearsome Cantii war band. She never gets the chance.

Fallon is captured and sold to an elite training school for female gladiators—owned by none other than Julius Caesar. In a cruel twist of fate, the man who destroyed Fallon’s family might be her only hope of survival.

Now Fallon must overcome vicious rivalries and deadly fights—in and out of the arena. And perhaps the most dangerous threat of all: her forbidden yet irresistible feelings for Cai, a young Roman soldier.






So what are your reading plans for the week? 

 

Tuesday, September 5, 2017

Teaesr Tuesday #117



Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Books and a Beat. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:


  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other Teaser Tuesday participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teaser


 The paramedic's eyes met hers, and although his expression went soft, his words were dead serious as they triggered the cold realization she'd been missing in all the chaos. "The police are going to be here awhile, Serenity. Your diner is officially a crime scene."








Tuesday, August 29, 2017

Review: Dating The It Guy










Dating the It Guy 
by Krysten Lindsay Hager
Publication date: March 21st 2017

Emme is a sophomore in high school who starts dating, Brendon Agretti, the popular senior who happens to be a senator’s son and well-known for his good looks. Emme feels out of her comfort zone in Brendon’s world and it doesn’t help that his picture perfect ex, Lauren, seems determined to get back into his life, along with every other girl who wants to be the future Mrs. Agretti. Emme is already conflicted due to the fact her last boyfriend cheated on her and her whole world is off kilter with her family issues. Life suddenly seems easier keeping Brendon away and relying on her crystals and horoscopes to guide her. Emme soon starts to realize she needs to focus less on the stars and more on her senses. Can Emme get over her insecurities and make her relationship work? Life sure is complicated when you’re dating the it guy.












First off let me begin this review by saying how excited I was to read this book. I had heard some great things about it before I agreed to be part of the tour and I'm so glad that I did.  Even though this book reminded me how it was to be a teenage girl and how it felt to be insecure, I really enjoyed reading it.

Dating The It Guy wasn't as predictable as I thought it would be going in either, which of course I loved. Sometimes you need to be thrown for a loop as a reader, at least I know I do, I need those twists to keep me interested and this book did just that. I really connected with the main character Emme on so many levels and of course that made me want to continue reading just to know what was going to happen to her and Brendon.

The writing style the author uses in this book is perfection! It shows just how much passion she had for writing this book and telling Emme's story.  The best part about author Krysten Lindsay Hager writing style is that she shows you every angle of the story. You don't just get the one sided story, you get to see everything and I really loved that about Dating the It Guy.  I also really loved the growth that she shows with each character in this book, Emme especially.

This story is full of heartbreak, love and all the other emotions that come with being a teenage girl. Yikes I had forgotten how crazy it was to be that age.  I can't wait to read more from this talented author. Dating the It Guy has becoming easily one of my favorite YA reads of this year. Fair warning there are some points while reading that you will want to cry, so grab some tissues. There is some agnst in this one. 





The rating I'm going to give Dating the It Guy shouldn't come as surprise! 







Here at Ali's Bookshelf we accept books in exchange for a honest review. The book above is just that, I got this one from the blog tour company.  I also use Amazon Affiliate links at times.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

This Blog is Protected..

myfreecopyright.com registered & protected

Blogoversary

Get your own free Blogoversary button!

My Beautiful Blog was Designed by...

Ali's Bookshelf © 2011-present