Tuesday, October 17, 2017

Review: Remember Me Always




Title: Remember Me Always 
Author: Renee Collins 
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Publication Date: October 3, 2017
Format: ARC 
Pages:  322 pages
ISBN #:1492647608

 Shelby is nervous to start her senior year after spending the whole summer away from home. After all, it's hard to be carefree when you're trying to protect a secret.

Shelby was in a devastating car accident, and everyone in town thinks that she was undergoing more physical therapy in Denver. Instead, Shelby's mother enrolled her in a clinical program to stop the panic attacks that started after the crash. The treatment erased Shelby's memory of the accident, but she can't help feeling as if a piece of herself is missing, that the treatment took more than the doctors claimed.

So when Shelby starts hallucinating a boy with dark and mysterious eyes, she knows it must be a side-effect of the clinical program. Except you can't kiss hallucinations. And this boy insists that they know each other and are in love...







Let me start this review by saying a huge thanks to Sourcebooks for letting me part of this tour! I fell in love with this book and honestly it's one of my favorites for this year. So a huge thanks goes out to them for bringing this book to my attention. 

When I asked to be part of this tour I didn't know much about this book and I sometimes enjoy it that way, I love jumping into a book not knowing what's going to happen or what's already happened in this case. I didn't even read all of the summary but at the same time I couldn't wait to jump into this book. I'll be honest all I read was the first two sentences of the summary before I wanted to read the book. That right there shows me as a reader that this book is going to be amazing and I wasn't disappointed in the least.  

I instantly fell in love with author Renee Collin's writing style and couldn't make myself put this book down, seriously I couldn't even put it down to eat or cook dinner. The story line caught my attention and I just had to know what was going to happen next. I mean who wouldn't want to forget something in their past and especially something like Shelby needed to forget. (Don't worry that's not a spoiler its in the summary lol) 

I love the mixture of contemporary and fantasy or science fiction mixed in this book, something you don't really see often. I love how the author mixed a love story in there also, I mean come on who doesn't love a great love story mixed with science fiction!  I knew there had to be more to the accident than they were letting on in the beginning and even though I knew there was it still didn't take away from the whole story.  I couldn't wait to find out what really happened. I also knew everyone in the story was hiding things from Shelby and I wasn't sure who to trust throughout the whole book, but then again that just made me want to read more. 

This is hands down one of my favorite reads this year and I must now read more of author Renee Collin's books! So much love for this author and her writing style. If you haven't read any of her books it's a must and especially this one. Go get your copy today you won't regret it! 












Here at Ali's Bookshelf we accept books in exchange for a honest review. The book above was given to me by the publishers through Netgalley, this did not in any way sway my opinion of this book.  I also use Amazon Affiliate links at times.





Remember Me Always Tour and Giveaway


I'm so excited to be part of this tour today!  The first post of the day here on Ali's Bookshelf is going to be a glimpse into the book and the giveaway for the tour. Later today the review for this fantastic book will go live as well. So let's get to it shall we. 






Title: Remember Me Always 
Author: Renee Collins 
Published: Oct 3rd, 2017
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire


 Shelby is nervous to start her senior year after spending the whole summer away from home. After all, it's hard to be carefree when you're trying to protect a secret.

Shelby was in a devastating car accident, and everyone in town thinks that she was undergoing more physical therapy in Denver. Instead, Shelby's mother enrolled her in a clinical program to stop the panic attacks that started after the crash. The treatment erased Shelby's memory of the accident, but she can't help feeling as if a piece of herself is missing, that the treatment took more than the doctors claimed.

So when Shelby starts hallucinating a boy with dark and mysterious eyes, she knows it must be a side-effect of the clinical program. Except you can't kiss hallucinations. And this boy insists that they know each other and are in love...

Buy Links
Barnes and Noble: http://bit.ly/2hMZYhJ
Book Depository: http://bit.ly/2y15Ee1







Renee Collins grew up in Hawaii, where she played Lady Capulet in her high school production of Romeo and Juliet. In college, she decided to abandon her dreams of being a famous actress to study history and become a writer, but she’ll always have a soft spot in her heart for drama kids. Renee currently lives in Colorado with her family.









No purchase necessary to enter or win. A purchase does not improve your chances of winning. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.
Open to legal residents of USA who are 18 years or older. Giveaway begins August 14th and ends at September 1st. Enter the Giveaway during the Promotion Period online by submitting the entry form. The entry form can be found on the following website at. Winner will be selected by Random.org and be notified by email. Winner has 48 hours to respond before a new winner is selected. 3 winner(s) will receive 1 finished copy of If the Creek Don’t Rise(approximate retail value or "ARV": $15.99US). By providing your information in this form, you are providing your information to Sourcebooks. Sourcebooks does not share or sell information and will use any information only for the purpose of this giveaway. (Facebook, Twitter, and Goodreads) are in no way associated with this giveaway.




a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, October 12, 2017

Review: Paper Princess




Title: Paper Princess 
Author: Erin Watt
Series: The Royals #1
Publisher: Timeout LLC
Date Published:  April 4th 2016
Date Read: Jan. 26th through 28th 2017
Format: Paperback/Audio

From strip clubs and truck stops to southern coast mansions and prep schools, one girl tries to stay true to herself.

These Royals will ruin you…

Ella Harper is a survivor—a pragmatic optimist. She’s spent her whole life moving from town to town with her flighty mother, struggling to make ends meet and believing that someday she’ll climb out of the gutter. After her mother’s death, Ella is truly alone.

Until Callum Royal appears, plucking Ella out of poverty and tossing her into his posh mansion among his five sons who all hate her. Each Royal boy is more magnetic than the last, but none as captivating as Reed Royal, the boy who is determined to send her back to the slums she came from.

Reed doesn’t want her. He says she doesn’t belong with the Royals.

He might be right.

Wealth. Excess. Deception. It’s like nothing Ella has ever experienced, and if she’s going to survive her time in the Royal palace, she’ll need to learn to issue her own Royal decrees.






There is so much that I want to say about this book that I have no clue how to start. Honestly, I've been sitting here staring at this screen and I can remember every detail about this book and I want to say so much that it's all coming out in an excitable babble. LOL!

So I'm just going to start off by saying, if you haven't figured it out yet, that I love this book so much. The whole plotline is fantastic and well written that I had no clue what was going to happen next. Seriously, it caught me off guard several times. Which doesn't happen very often when reading for me, most of the time I see things coming or can guess what's going to happen next. When I find a book that I can't predict I'm usually in awe of it. Plus it doesn't hurt that the writing style was perfection and it made reading this book a great read.

Let's talk about the characters! Which in this book is my favorite part, I really connected with several of them in this book. Not really with their actions but I really connected with their emotions. I even cried a few times while reading this one. The book starts out in such a way that I didn't expect that I was hooked right away and plopped right into Ella's life, in such a way that I couldn't look away not even for a second. Honestly, I didn't stop listening to this one for very long and had to finish it as fast as I could. I just had to know what was going to happen to her next. Besides Ella, Easton (one of the brothers) also became one of my favorite characters in this story. He's funny and becomes very close to Ella in the end. So much love for him.

The author's writing style was the other thing that pulled me in right away, I wouldn't really say this was an easy to read story, but it's one that really flowed.  If you haven't read Paper Princess what are you waiting for, seriously, get your copy today and start reading. You won't be dissapointed!





If you haven't guessed already...



 Here at Ali's Bookshelf we accept books in exchange for a honest review. The book above however is one that I purchased for myself.  I also use Amazon Affiliate links at times.
 

Monday, October 2, 2017

It's Monday...What Are You Reading?




This meme started with J Kaye's Blog and then was taken up by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn at the Book Date.  It's a meme where you share what you read last week, what you're currently reading and what you plan on reading that week.






September ended up being a really bad month for me in life and my reading life as well. I'm hoping October is a lot better and I plan to at least start if off better. This week I plan to read at least two books. For my reading challenge on Goodreads I only have ten more books to read this year to reach my goal, which is awesome! 

This Week I Plan To Read 




Fallen Heir by Erin Watt


These Royals will ruin you.

Easton Royal has it all: looks, money, intelligence. His goal in life is to have as much fun as possible. He never thinks about the consequences because he doesn’t have to.

Until Hartley Wright appears, shaking up his easy life. She’s the one girl who’s said no, despite being attracted to him. Easton can’t figure her out and that makes her all the more irresistible.

Hartley doesn’t want him. She says he needs to grow up.

She might be right.

Rivals. Rules. Regrets. For the first time in Easton’s life, wearing a Royal crown isn’t enough. He’s about to learn that the higher you start, the harder you fall.
 







Nnewts by Doug TenNapel 


 The first book in the Nnewts series follows the story of Herk, a lovable Nnewt who longs for stronger legs, something his mother and father wish they could give him. When his quaint village is attacked by the reptile Lizzarks, he's forced to flee his home and leave behind the only life he's ever known. Now, all alone and on the run, Herk navigates a dangerous world filled with strange creatures and mysterious wonders, where friends are few and an evil lord is in hot pursuit.



Up Next 

Before She Ignites by Jodi Meadows 
Autumn Rose by Abigail Gibbs  






So that's this weeks reading plans. If I get through the first two books I'll be moving on down the list. YAY! I'm excited about each of these books. I've had Autumn Rose on my TBR for a long time. 

 

Monday, September 11, 2017

It's Monday...What Are You Reading?



This meme started with J Kaye's Blog and then was taken up by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn at the Book Date.  It's a meme where you share what you read last week, what you're currently reading and what you plan on reading that week.






Have  any of you ever had so many choices as to what to read next and it made you not know what to read next? Please tell me I'm not the only one that this happens to. Anyway, I have a few choices so I'm just going to put a few of them on here and see what I actually get to this week. 




Audiobook for This Week





Heartless by Marissa Meyer 

 Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland and a favorite of the unmarried King, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, she wants to open a shop and create delectable pastries. But for her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for a woman who could be a queen.

At a royal ball where Cath is expected to receive the King’s marriage proposal, she meets handsome and mysterious Jest. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the King and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into a secret courtship.

Cath is determined to choose her own destiny. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.


Books to Choose From This Week 




The Hearts We Sold by Emily Lloyd-Jones 

 When Dee Moreno makes a deal with a demon—her heart in exchange for an escape from a disastrous home life—she finds the trade may have been more than she bargained for. And becoming “heartless” is only the beginning. What lies ahead is a nightmare far bigger, far more monstrous than anything she could have ever imagined.

With reality turned on its head, Dee has only a group of other deal-making teens to keep her grounded, including the charming but secretive James Lancer. And as something grows between them amid an otherworldy ordeal, Dee begins to wonder: Can she give someone her heart when it’s no longer hers to give?






The Valiant by Lesley Livingston

Princess. Captive. Gladiator.

Fallon is the daughter of a proud Celtic king, the sister of the legendary warrior Sorcha, and the sworn enemy of Julius Caesar.

When Fallon was a child, Caesar’s armies invaded her homeland, and her beloved sister was killed in battle.

Now, on the eve of her seventeenth birthday, Fallon is eager to follow in her sister’s footsteps and earn her place in the fearsome Cantii war band. She never gets the chance.

Fallon is captured and sold to an elite training school for female gladiators—owned by none other than Julius Caesar. In a cruel twist of fate, the man who destroyed Fallon’s family might be her only hope of survival.

Now Fallon must overcome vicious rivalries and deadly fights—in and out of the arena. And perhaps the most dangerous threat of all: her forbidden yet irresistible feelings for Cai, a young Roman soldier.






So what are your reading plans for the week? 

 

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

This Blog is Protected..

myfreecopyright.com registered & protected

Blogoversary

Get your own free Blogoversary button!

My Beautiful Blog was Designed by...

Ali's Bookshelf © 2011-present