Saturday, July 22, 2017

Sittin on the Shelf


So Sitten on the Shelf is a post that I added to my blog a long time ago and it's one that I really want to bring back for many reasons. One of those reasons is that my TBR pile is huge, like extreamly huge and I need to start reading these books or unhauling them. So that's the main goal with the new Sittin on the Shelf here at Ali's Bookshelf. When I first started posting these posts here on Ali's Bookshelf I had gotten the idea from a great blogging friend. Her blog was On My Reading Pile, but sadly she's not blogging anymore there.

Then the other day I found a similar post over at Kimberlyfaye Reads and her TBR Thursday posts made me really want to bring back this post. So a huge thanks to her for that. If you haven't read her blog, you really should! Her posts are fantastic! Her blog is quickly becoming one of my favorite blogs.

I have a few questions that I'm going to answer for each book and then I'm going to ask your opinion. I would love to hear your thoughts about these books.  Seriously, I need your help!!!







Title: Brightest Kind of Darkness
Author: P.T. Michelle
Publisher: Patrice Michelle
Published:  June 27th 2011
Format: Ebook
Pages: 357 pages
 Nara Collins is an average sixteen-year-old, with one exception: every night she dreams the events of the following day. Due to an incident in her past, Nara avoids using her special gift to change fate…until she dreams a future she can’t ignore.

After Nara prevents a bombing at Blue Ridge High, her ability to see the future starts to fade, while people at school are suddenly being injured at an unusually high rate.

Grappling with her diminishing powers and the need to prevent another disaster, Nara meets Ethan Harris, a mysterious loner who seems to understand her better than anyone. Ethan and Nara forge an irresistible connection, but as their relationship heats up, so do her questions about his dark past.

This book has been on my Kindle for a long time, since 2011 and I think it's way past time to read it. What do you all think? It does have a lot of pages and with the other one I have to read, we shall see if I can pull this off.

  Why I haven't read this book yet?

When I got this book I was super excited to read it and fell in love with the cover, but I think it fell the wayside due to other review books. Back then I was really pushing those review books and sometimes books that I wanted to read, were pushed aside. Which of course I know now was a huge mistake!


 What I Plan On Doing?

The plan is to read this in August! Not sure I'll be able to pull it off with all the others that I have to read, but I'm going to really try my hardest. I don't want to get rid of this one, so we shall see.


What Do You All Think? 

What do you think about my plan? Have you read this book? If so let me know your thoughts in the comments! I really want to know your thoughts.


Friday, July 21, 2017

BookTube-A-Thon TBR




So BookTube-A-Thon starts next week and I'm super excited to participate again. Even though I'll be traveling one of the days, I still want to get some reading finished throughout the whole thing. So one of my books will be an audio book (Of course lol). I'm also going to try to get through the reading challenges just not sure that will happen, but hey it's a goal right? Anyway, it's time to show the books I plan to read. 







Let's talk about the reading challenges first! 


  • 1. Read a Book with a Person on the cover. 
For this challenge I chose the book that I'm adding to my Sittin on the Shelf Challenge for next month.  Which clearly has a person on the cover!






  • 2. Read a Hyped Book 
For this one, I had to think about it for a few minutes. I have so many books to read that would work for this one, but in the end I chose one that I had heard so much about when it came out and I have been dying to start it.







  • 3. Finish a Book in One Day
For this challenge I'm going to do this one for my audio book and the day I'll be traveling. It's also a hyped book lol.







  • 4. Read a Book About a Character Whose Really Different Than You
Since again, I'll be traveling on Tuesday, I'm going to add another audio book to this list since The Lightning Thief isn't that long.  I have a sixteen hour drive that day so the this challenge will cover the second book.






  • 5. Finish A Book Completely Outside 
For this book I'm hoping I'll be home and can finish this on my front porch. It's only 104 pages so it won't be too bad!





 

 
  •  6. Finish a Book You Bought Because of the Cover
I don't usually buy books just because of the cover, but this book was one that I bought at #RAGT2017 and I loved the cover and of course the author. So I guess it counts right?

 

  • 7. Finish 7 Books in 7 Days 
Not sure I can finish all 7, but like I said I'm going to try really hard. The last book is a really short one and even the author called them Netflix books lol. I've already finished the first and I think it's time to read the second.






 




Book Blogger Hop #22







Book Blogger Hop is another post I'm going to be trying out and this one has a topic each week, which is something I've been trying to bring to the blog.  I'm really excited about this one because I have a hard time coming up with something fresh to talk about and I'm hoping this helps.


If you would be interested in doing your own post, please CLICK HERE to learn more about this great hop! 





 
This Weeks Topic:  
 
 Have you ever read a book or books you would consider 'toxic' because of the effect it(they) had on you? If so, which one(s)? (submitted by Maria @ A Night's Dream of Books)
 
Yes I've read several books that I would call Toxic, but not really. The one I can really remember of course is 13 Reasons Why, I cried for weeks about that book and another one would be Don't Breath A Word by Holly Cupala. That book is one that has stayed with me ever since I finished the last word.  I really wouldn't call these toxic books, but at the same time I cried so many times while reading both of these. 
 
 
 
 


Thursday, July 20, 2017

Review: Fractures in Ink






Title: Fractures in Ink 
Author: Helena Hunting
Publisher: Everafter Romance
Format: Ebook
Pages: 269 pages
Date Published: November 14th 2016
Date Read: Feb. 3rd through 4th, 2017
Series: Clipped Wings #3
ISBN #:B01KMN3UYW

Sometimes the things we shouldn't want become exactly what we need...

Waitressing at a seedy strip club isn't ideal, but it pays Sarah Adamson's tuition. Her goal is to finish her master's program and get a job that doesn't involve tight skirts and groping hands. She doesn't need distractions. Especially not the one that comes in the form of a hot-as-sin tattoo artist who works across the street from her apartment.

Kicked out at sixteen, and a high school dropout, Chris Zelter is familiar with wanting things he can't have. His fractured life has never been easy. As the product of someone else's bad decisions, he knows exactly what happens when the wrong person controls your marionette strings. Now an accomplished tattoo artist in a renowned studio in Chicago, Chris has it together.

Mostly.

Apart from his infatuation with Sarah. She's way out of his league, and Chris knows it.
But he's willing to be her bad decision. At least for now






 Fractures in Ink, hmm how can I sum up how amazing this book and the whole series really is, I don't know but I'm going to give it a shot. I finished this book in one day! Fractures in Ink's main characters are two of the secondary characters from the first two books and their story was one that as I read the first two I was hoping she would write their story as well.

I was so happy when I realized that this book was Sarah's and Chris's story. To see/read more of their backstories and get to know them more as the main characters was great and I really loved getting to know more about Sarah herself. Getting to read why she chose the job that she did and also getting to know more about the other characters backgrounds in this book as well, really made me love it even more.

There really isn't much more that I can say about the writing style of this book that I haven't already said in other reviews of this series. I loved reading every single word of this book and all the others. I must say the dynamic is so different between Sarah and Chris than it is between Tenley and  Hayden. Which grabbed my attention right away, amongst so many other things about this book. 

If you haven't read any of author Helena Hunting's books, it's a must. Especially if you enjoy something different and books that showcase two people that have crazy pasts but connect with each other.





I'm giving Fractures in Ink an Ali's Bookshelf...









Here at Ali's Bookshelf we accept books in exchange for a honest review. The book above is one that I bought for myself. I also use Amazon Affiliate links at times.

Wednesday, July 19, 2017

Review: Inked Armor




Title: Inked Armor 
Author: Helena Hunting
Publisher: Gallery Books
Format: Ebook
Pages: 368 Pages
Date Published: May 13th 2014
Date Read: Jan. 18th through Jan. 25th
ISBN #: 1476764301

 In this follow-up to Clipped Wings, the emotional love story continues between Hayden and Tenley; two young people who desperately want to love and be loved but are afraid to completely let go of their pasts.

In the wake of losing Tenley Page, tattooist Hayden Stryker's tumultuous past is haunting him. Plagued by nightmares about the murder of his parents, Hayden reaches out again to Tenley. Having run from the man she doesn't believe she deserves, Tenley finally lays her guilt to rest. Despite their intense physical attraction, Hayden and Tenley struggle to repair their fragile emotional connection. As Hayden gets closer to the truth, he must find a way to reconcile his guilt over his parents' death in order to keep the woman who finally cracked his armor, and found her way into his heart.





Inked Armor is the second book in the Clipped Wings series and just like the first book I loved reading this one. It's actually the conclusion to the duo. Though there is another book in the series. Which I'll be reviewing later on this week.

The plot of this story and characters were both a large part of why I loved this story so much. The characters are so easy to root for and you just want them to finally work things out. You get to see more of Tenley's past in this book and I really enjoyed that part. Yes there is a bad guy and one that I wanted to punch in his face a few times, but that just made this book even better than the first.

The writing style that author Helena Hunting writes in is perfection. A fast and easy read that will have you laughing and crying all the way through. Best thing about this book is that I didn't want it to end. I want more of this cast of characters!  Really enjoyed the dynamic between all the friends and family throughout this whole series. Everyone is so different with crazy pasts and that just draws you in even more as a reader. Again I really connected with Tenley in this book, just as much, if not more than I did in the first. Her past is crazy and full of so much sorrow, but I'm so happy with what happened in this book to get her through it. She's so much stronger than she thought in the beginning.

All in all Inked Armor is a great book for someone who loved the first book in the series. It's not like most second book in a series, this one could carry it's own weight and did an amazing job doing so. I can't wait to read more from this author in the future and I know each book of her's will be amazing!






For Inked Armor I'm going to give it an Ali's Bookshelf...

 









Here at Ali's Bookshelf we accept books in exchange for a honest review. The book above was one that I bought for myself. I also use Amazon Affiliate links at times.







Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

Archive

This Blog is Protected..

myfreecopyright.com registered & protected

Blogoversary

Get your own free Blogoversary button!

My Beautiful Blog was Designed by...

Ali's Bookshelf © 2011-present