Sunday, April 21, 2019

Review: Starting Place Study Bible NIV


 I recieved this book for free in exchange for my honest review.  My thoughts are my own and mine alone.


Starting Place Study Bible NIV
Publisher: Zondervan
Published: February 26th 2019
Format: Hardcover
Type: Study Bible

Amazon * Goodreads * Zondervan

Sometimes the hardest part of beginning is knowing where to start!
The Bible’s depth can seem overwhelming, but within the pages of Scripture you will find words of peace, hope, and love waiting for you. The NIV Starting Place Study Bible guides you through Scripture, so you can understand God’s love for you and build a relationship with the Savior who longs to know you personally.









First off I want to thank the publishing company for sending me this AMAZING study bible. Now Bible's aren't something I normally review, but I had been looking for a great one to use to study and Zondervan was amazing enough to send me this one. I didn't go into this knowing much about this Bible, but for that I'm actually grateful, because once I got my hands on this one I was so amazed at how much it included. 

I want to mention how beautiful the cover is on this Bible as well as the quality when you take off the dust jacket. I have always liked Zondervan Bibles and this one was no exception to that. They make Bibles with care and each one is made to last. Which I think is something very important, especially in a Bible that you're going to use to study with.

New International Version is one of my favorite translations of the Bible so this of course was the one that I knew I wanted when I picked this one out. It is a bit larger in size, so it's not really a bible I would take to church with me on Sunday mornings, but it is one that I can use at home to read on a daily basis. I really love all the extra tid bits this Bible has. The study helpers are something I really was looking for in a great study Bible and this one didn't disappoint when it came to that at all. There is a lot jam packed in this Bible. I really enjoy the context notes as well, some of them talk about peoples, lands, and rulers others talk about things like culture and history. Again I love all the little extra's when using a great study Bible like this one. 

 The paper is great quality and the print is large enough to read, which to me is a great thing when it comes to a bible that you're going to be reading a lot. Small print in some Bible's hurt my eyes, this one is perfect when it comes to the size of the print. 

Overall I think this is a fantastic study Bible that I will enjoy each time I open the cover! 
 






I'm going to give Zondervan's Starting Place Study Bible an Ali's Bookshelf...


 
 
 

Thursday, April 18, 2019

Mini Audio Book Reviews







So in order to play catch up a bit on reviews, I've decided to add a post every once in a while called Mini Reviews, I've seen a lot of blogs do this recently and I think it's time I add something like it as well. I really love the concept and I hope you do as well. Anyway, below you will find several reviews, this post is all about the audio book. Since this month I'm reading 50% audio book and 50% ebook I'm going to be doing a few posts like this for the month of April and May!  Also my newly released ARC's will always have their own posts.






I listend to this book on Scribd, it wasn't a review book, but I loved it so much that I had to share my thoughts on this one. This wasn't from the publisher so I purchased it myself. No matter what you will always get my honest opinion on any book I review. 



Five Feet Apart by Rechael Lippincott, Mikki Daughtry, and Tobias Iaconis

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Published: November 20th 2018
Format: Audiobook (I also own the hardcover)
Pages: 288 pages
Challenges:  Goodreads, Tackle my TBR Challenge, Audiobook Challenge 

Goodreads * Amazon * Scribd  
  Can you love someone you can never touch?

Stella Grant likes to be in control—even though her totally out of control lungs have sent her in and out of the hospital most of her life. At this point, what Stella needs to control most is keeping herself away from anyone or anything that might pass along an infection and jeopardize the possibility of a lung transplant. Six feet apart. No exceptions.

The only thing Will Newman wants to be in control of is getting out of this hospital. He couldn’t care less about his treatments, or a fancy new clinical drug trial. Soon, he’ll turn eighteen and then he’ll be able to unplug all these machines and actually go see the world, not just its hospitals.

Will’s exactly what Stella needs to stay away from. If he so much as breathes on Stella she could lose her spot on the transplant list. Either one of them could die. The only way to stay alive is to stay apart. But suddenly six feet doesn’t feel like safety. It feels like punishment.

What if they could steal back just a little bit of the space their broken lungs have stolen from them? Would five feet apart really be so dangerous if it stops their hearts from breaking too?



I don't even know where to start with this review, I just finished this book and I'm a lost for words really. I do know that I love this book! The writing is perfection and the plot is well let's just say this book brought out so many emotions in me. I know several kids and a few teens that have CF and it's something that I never really understood until I saw in in person and talked to them. Through this book I saw a glimpse of what they feel at times. Yes I said glimpse because unless we are living that we have no clue what it's really like. 

Five Feet Apart did at times feel a bit like Fault in our Stars, but not so much that I didn't want to contiue reading it. I adored the audiobook of this one, not sure I would have been able to cry and read at the same time for this one. Yes, I did cry a lot! So tissue warning with this one, trust me you will connect with these characters and you will feel their emotions. It's just that kind of book and I love it for that very reason. 

The characters are so well thought out in this book and I connected with them so much so. I saw bits and pieces of myself in each of them and I guess that's why I connected so much. In Stella I saw the organization geek that had to have everything a certain way, afraid to take chances at first, but also so brave that she doesn't even realize it. In Will I saw my creative side and the rebel. Yep I'm both. Like I said I love these characters so much. Their story is exactly what I thought it would be, but seriously that ending is just....Okay I'm not going to give anything away, but gah I love these two. 

The  writing style of these amazing authors was one that pulled me in and wouldn't let me go, one that made me laugh, want to throw the book and even cry at times. All in all this book is the perfect read if you want to feel the emotions of the characters. I have so much love for this kind of story and this book! 




All in all I'm giving Five Feet Apart an Ali's Bookshelf...








Beneath the Sugar Sky by Seanan McGuire

Publisher: Tor
Published:  January 9th 2018
Format: Audiobook
Pages: 174 pages
Challenges: Audiobook Challenge, Tackle My TBR Challeng, Goodreads  

Goodreads * Amazon *  

 When Rini lands with a literal splash in the pond behind Eleanor West's Home for Wayward Children, the last thing she expects to find is that her mother, Sumi, died years before Rini was even conceived. But Rini can’t let Reality get in the way of her quest – not when she has an entire world to save! (Much more common than one would suppose.)

If she can't find a way to restore her mother, Rini will have more than a world to save: she will never have been born in the first place. And in a world without magic, she doesn’t have long before Reality notices her existence and washes her away. Good thing the student body is well-acquainted with quests...

A tale of friendship, baking, and derring-do.

Warning: May contain nuts.


I have loved this series since I first read the first book and I have also loved the audiobooks. So for this very reason I decided to listen to this one. I did however also read along with the hardcover. This of course is my audiobook review. Let me first start off by saying that I loved the nararation of this one. The narrator is amazing and I figured out how to pronounce certain names that I wasn't sure of, which is a plus if you ask me.

The plot of this series is one that has hooked me from the get go. I mean come on haven't you ever wondered what happened to those characters that go to these magical places but then end up going home. I always wondered how they would cope, if they actually do.

Beneath the Sugar Sky had me from the very first chapter. I had to know how a daughter of a character showed up out of the blue, when said character's mother died in the last book. I mean come on wouldn't that have you hooked right away?  I love this authors writing style so much and of course the world building is just WOW!

I can't say enough great things about this book, but I don't want to give spoilers away. I will say this, I can't wait to read /listen to the next book, which is the newest for this series.



I of course will be giving Beneath the Sugar Sky an Ali's Bookshelf...







Tuesday, April 16, 2019

Teaser Tuesday # 166




Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Books and a Beat. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:


  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other Teaser Tuesday participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teaser.


 True, Dixon was more swaggering Texan than mannered British, but Shackelford Oil was just as much American royalty as Saybrook's Diamonds. They'd become a couple effortlessly, and shortly thereafter a plan was put into place.











I haven't read a Sara Shepard book in a long time, saw this one at the library and thought it sounded pretty good. We shall see! 

Have you read this one? What were your thoughts? No spoilers please. 


 

Thursday, April 4, 2019

Cover Reveal: Better Than Me




You all know I love me some Kimberly Kincaid books! I mean what's not to love right? Anyway, today I get to share with you all a cover reveal for her newest up coming release! Are you ready? 










OH MY God!!! Look at this cover, I thought I loved the first one in this series, if you haven't seen it you can see it here. I think I love this one even more. Anyway, below is all the information you need to know about this hot book! 

 

Better Thank Me by Kimberly Kincaid 

Expected Publication Date: May 7th 2019



What happens when Remington's most notoriously single, notoriously sexy surgeon falls for the one woman he can't have? Did I mention that she's A) his best friend, B) immune to his charm, and C) sleeping on his couch for the next six weeks?

Familiarity breeds temptation for Jonah Sheridan and Natalie Kendrick in this steamy friends-to-lovers medical contemporary romance. While part of the Remington Medical world, this book is a complete standalone and can be read as your first Kimberly Kincaid novel, or your twentieth. No cliffhangers, no spoilers, all red-hot HEA!



I can not wait to read this book! Make sure you pre-order  your copy today! You can do so by clicking the link below. 











 Kimberly Kincaid writes contemporary romance that splits the difference between sexy and sweet. When she's not sitting cross-legged in an ancient desk chair known as "The Pleather Bomber", she can be found practicing obscene amounts of yoga, whipping up anything from enchiladas to éclairs in her kitchen, or curled up with her nose in a book. Kimberly is a USA Today best-seller and 2015 RWA RITA® finalist who lives (and writes!) by the mantra that food is love. She resides in Virginia with her wildly patient husband and their three daughters.







Let's Chat 



What do you think of this cover? I would love to know your thoughts! 


 

Wednesday, April 3, 2019

April's TBR Plan







I know I say this pretty much every month or so, but I can't believe it's already April. This year is already flying by, it seems like it just started.


I'm trying to take away the pressure that a TBR used to put on me, honestly I think it was more of blogger pressure than reading pressure, but we shall see. Anyway, the idea behind this came from Girl in the Pages. Her TBR's are called a plan and I thought that was very fitting for me. It's just a plan, not a have to!  If you haven't checked her blog out, please go do so now, she's one of my favorite bloggers/blogs. I read this one pretty much every time she posts.  I've also been loving Bookmark Lit lately and I love how she picks her TBR books. So, I thought I would give it a shot as well. If you haven't checked her blog out, it's a must. You should head there and read her blog as well!
 

 


 
 
March Update
 
March was a pretty good reading month for me. I finished 4 books that were on my TBR Plan for March and that makes me very happy. As I've stated before I'm working on reading more ebooks. I tend to forget about them since they aren't right there for me to see them. 
 
 
 
 
 
April's TBR Plan 

So for April I'm going to stick with catagories but I'm going to tweek it a bit from what I did in March, don't get me wrong I really loved reading the way that Lauren over at Bookmark Lit does with the catagories, just that a few of them didn't work for me. So below you will find the new ones. 
 
 
                 Future Release                  Current Release              Current Release
 
 
                 Audiobook                          Audiobook                          Audiobook/Purchased

 
Wildcard


 
Fake it till you Break it by Jenn P. Nguyen
Beneath The Sugar Sky by Seanan McGuire 
Five Feet Apart by Rachael Lippincott
Otherearth by Jason Segel  
California Girls by Susan Mallery





There won't be any physical copies for review this month, but I have a few Scholastic children's books that I will be adding to this list and several of these audiobooks I have the physical copies of. So I guess those count! Maybe LOL. 
 
 
 There you have it, my April TBR! I'm still crossing my fingers that this reading by catagory thing helps me get caught up on my reading, so far it's starting to work. Happy April everyone and as always...
 
 





Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

Archive

Labels

#FitReaders (8) 1 1/2 puppy Rating (1) 1 puppy rating (3) 2 1/2 puppy Rating (5) 2 1/2 Puppy Rating (2) 2 Puppy Rating (2) 3 1/2 puppy Rating (14) 3 puppy Rating (8) 4 1/2 Puppy Rating (52) 4 puppy Rating (69) 5 puppy rating (107) adult (44) Ali Talks (42) Ali Talks Live (24) Ali's Blogging To Do List (9) Ali's Favorites (1) Alis Book Club (5) Another Add to Alis Bookshelf (8) ARC (4) ARC Review (11) audio book (14) Author Features (12) Author Interview (22) Author Signing (2) being a mom (1) Blog Tour (173) blogger challenge (10) Bloggiesta (7) Bloggiesta 2018 (2) blogging challenge (3) Book Club (4) Book Spotlight (21) Book vs Movie (5) bookish bucket list (1) bout of books (19) Browsin Your Bookshelf (4) Bullet Journal (1) Character Interview (2) Character Post (1) Cover reveal (33) Day in The Life (13) Day in the Life of a homeschool mom (1) discussion (22) down the tbr hole (6) Dystopian Month (1) Dystopian Survival Week (4) End of Year Survey (1) fantasy (37) Follow Friday (16) Giveaway (106) Guest Post (71) homeschool (4) How Do I Do What I Do? (4) It's Monday (69) Its Monday (53) lifestyle (6) Mini Me Corner (18) Monthly Wrap Up (9) On My Wishlist (15) RAGT (1) Read-a-thon (13) Review (272) Right Up My Alley (8) Showcase Sunday (10) Sittin on the Shelf (8) Sunday Post (12) Take a Break (11) Task it Tuesday (1) TBR List (25) TBR Pile Reading Challenge (2) Teaser Tuesday (170) The Victorious & The Vanquished (3) Top Ten Tuesday (7) Waiting on Wednesday (40) Welcome (1) Young Adult (63)

This Blog is Protected..

myfreecopyright.com registered & protected

Blogoversary

Get your own free Blogoversary button!

My Beautiful Blog was Designed by...

Ali's Bookshelf © 2011-present