Monday, December 11, 2017

Books I Marked DNF Lately




So today I'm going to do something a little different here on the blog. Normally I don't mark books DNF. (DNF means Did Not Finish for those of you that didn't know that.) Lately though, I've found books that aren't holding my attention enough that I just sit them aside and haven't gone back to them since. I figured it would be a good post to make and share with you all. I know I'm probably going to get yelled at for a few of these, but each person is different when it comes to what they want to read and what's going to be good to them.  I've seen a few other bloggers and vloggers talking about this subject lately and really wanted to show you my thoughts on these books without the long drawn out review.






Lost in A Book by Jennifer Donnely 
Published January 31st 2017 by Disney Press 
Hardcover, 341 Pages 

Smart, bookish Belle, a captive in the Beast’s castle, has become accustomed to her new home and has befriended its inhabitants. When she comes upon Nevermore, an enchanted book unlike anything else she has seen in the castle, Belle finds herself pulled into its pages and transported to a world of glamour and intrigue. The adventures Belle has always imagined, the dreams she was forced to give up when she became a prisoner, seem within reach again.

The charming and mysterious characters Belle meets within the pages of Nevermore offer her glamorous conversation, a life of dazzling Parisian luxury, and even a reunion she never thought possible. Here Belle can have everything she has ever wished for. But what about her friends in the Beast’s castle? Can Belle trust her new companions inside the pages of Nevermore? Is Nevermore’s world even real? Belle must uncover the truth about the book, before she loses herself in it forever.

My Thoughts:  

I really wanted to love this book, the plot and summary pulled me in so much. That's why the day it came out I had it in my hands and started reading. But to be honest I feel like this book just fell flat for me. I couldn't connect with the characters and Belle is my all time favorite Disney character ever! I gave this book awhile before I DNF'd it, I really tried to give it as long as I possibly could. But in the end I just couldn't make myself want to read another page. I got a little over half way through and I just had to put it down. Like I said above, I really wanted to love it, I just couldn't. 





Once and For All by Sarah Dessen 
Published June 6th 2017 by Viking Books for Young Readers 
Hardcover, 358 Pages 

 As bubbly as champagne and delectable as wedding cake, Once and for All, Sarah Dessen's thirteenth novel, is set in the world of wedding planning, where crises are routine.

Louna, daughter of famed wedding planner Natalie Barrett, has seen every sort of wedding: on the beach, at historic mansions, in fancy hotels and clubs. Perhaps that's why she's cynical about happily-ever-after endings, especially since her own first love ended tragically. When Louna meets charming, happy-go-lucky serial dater Ambrose, she holds him at arm's length. But Ambrose isn't about to be discouraged, now that he's met the one girl he really wants.

Sarah Dessen’s many, many fans will adore her latest, a richly satisfying, enormously entertaining story that has everything—humor, romance, and an ending both happy and imperfect, just like life itself.


My Thoughts 

Now this one wounds me to actually admit. I've loved all of author Sarah Dessen's books and this one seemed like it was written just for me. I have degree in wedding planning so it just seemed the perfect fit. I was wrong and I'm hoping that maybe I was just in the wrong reading zone and might try to pick this one up again soon. I will say I even tried to listen to it with an audiobook and that didn't even work. So I'm not sure that I will try it again, but we shall see. 



A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray 
Published November 4th 2014 by Harper Teen 
Softcover, 368 Pages 

 
 Cloud Atlas meets Orphan Black in this epic dimension-bending trilogy by New York Times bestselling author Claudia Gray about a girl who must chase her father's killer through multiple dimensions.

Marguerite Caine's physicist parents are known for their groundbreaking achievements. Their most astonishing invention, called the Firebird, allows users to jump into multiple universes—and promises to revolutionize science forever. But then Marguerite's father is murdered, and the killer—her parent's handsome, enigmatic assistant Paul— escapes into another dimension before the law can touch him.

Marguerite refuses to let the man who destroyed her family go free. So she races after Paul through different universes, always leaping into another version of herself. But she also meets alternate versions of the people she knows—including Paul, whose life entangles with hers in increasingly familiar ways. Before long she begins to question Paul's guilt—as well as her own heart. And soon she discovers the truth behind her father's death is far more sinister than she expected.

A Thousand Pieces of You explores an amazingly intricate multi-universe where fate is unavoidable, the truth elusive, and love the greatest mystery of all.

My Thoughts 

I know most of you are probably shaking your heads at me and yelling at your computer screens for me to try reading this one again. I've honestly tried five different times to read this one and I'm not sure it's going to happen. I will say the first time I tried this one I was in a reading slump that's the reason I've tried it so many times. I love the plot and come on the summary alone had me right away with the whole Cloud Atlas meets Orphan Black part, but I just can't do it. I can't seem to finish this one. I have gotten to about the halfway mark and can't seem to get past that spot.  Maybe one day I might be able to try again. 




I'm not sure how often I'll be posting these types of posts, but like I said here lately I have DNF'd a few books. So we shall see I guess. Hope you don't want to murder me now lol.  Have you read any of these books? What did you think? Have you DNF'd any books lately, let me know I would love to know your thoughts. 




Saturday, December 9, 2017

2018 Reading Assignment Challenge




So I've decided to do a few challenges this year and hopefully (Crosses fingers) actually complete them. In the past I've been terrible at it in the past, but I'm hoping with the ones I'm picking I'll be able to complete them. Anyway, let's talk the 2018 Reading Assignment Challenge shall we! To learn more about this challenge you can click here.

The Rules

  • The 2018 Reading Assignment Challenge runs from January 1st to December 31st 2018. You may sign up anytime before October 1, 2018.
  • You may only participate for the months AFTER you sign up (so if you sign up in February, January doesn’t count)
  • Commit to reading 1, 2, 3, or 4 books a month and MAKE A LIST of the SPECIFIC books you will read in January – June. This is one of our changes… rather than committing for a year, you’re just picking the books for the first half of the year. You’ll make a new list and commit to a new number of books per month in June for July – December. So 2 books a month works for January – June, but only 1 for July – December? That’s fine!
  • You may read any genre or any format (i.e., eBook, Audiobook, Paperback, Hardcover). But they must be published before January 1, 2018 and they must be at least 100 pages.
  • Pick a level and make your list. REMEMBER: you’re committing to not just those books, but that number of books a month. You CANNOT read them all in one month.
  • At the end of each month, cross off the book(s) you read. We will have a link-up each quarter for you to link your progress.

Reading Levels


Reading Level 1:
12 books (1 book/month)
Reading Level 2:
24 books (2 books/month)
Reading Level 3:
36 books (3 books/month)
Reading Level 4:
48 books (4 books/month)



My Plans

So since this is my first try at this one, I'm going to pick level 1 for the first semester of this challenge! If I finish this one I might choose a different level for the second part of the challenge, we shall see. Below is the list of the first 6 books I'm going to read!

You can also find my list and read more about the books here, I've added them to a shelf on Goodreads. (Figured this might help me as well!)






I'm so hoping I can finally complete this challenge, it has been one that I've been wanting to do. Cross your fingers for me please! Are you joining in? If so what are you reading. Leave me a comment below and let me know.



Help Me Pick Which Book To Read Next! (Dec.)





So I'm super excited to get back into reading, lately it's been a bit of a strugle again to find something that I really enjoy. One that grabs my attention and doesn't let go. I'm not sure what it is about this time of the year that does that to me, but hopefully this new post will help. My To Be Read List meme is hosted by Michelle over at Because Reading. Mainly it's a meme that you post monthly and you share three books on your TBR list. (I must say mine is huge and would love to start reading some of the books I've had for awhile.) I'm hoping this meme will help me with mine. Anyway, then after the post goes live you will get to vote on which of the three you think I should read that month. The following week I'll be posting which one won and then I'll be reading and reviewing it.  So that's mainly the meme in a nutshell. I hope you enjoy this one and hopefully it will help me get back into reading again. 



This Month I Picked

The Way I Used To Be 
by Amber Smith
Softback, 367 Pages
Published March 22nd 2016 by Margaret K. McElderry Books

Goodreads 

 There is an alternate cover edition for this ASIN here.

In the tradition of Speak, this extraordinary debut novel shares the unforgettable story of a young woman as she struggles to find strength in the aftermath of an assault.

Eden was always good at being good. Starting high school didn’t change who she was. But the night her brother’s best friend rapes her, Eden’s world capsizes.

What was once simple, is now complex. What Eden once loved—who she once loved—she now hates. What she thought she knew to be true, is now lies. Nothing makes sense anymore, and she knows she’s supposed to tell someone what happened but she can’t. So she buries it instead. And she buries the way she used to be.

Told in four parts—freshman, sophomore, junior, and senior year—this provocative debut reveals the deep cuts of trauma. But it also demonstrates one young woman’s strength as she navigates the disappointment and unbearable pains of adolescence, of first love and first heartbreak, of friendships broken and rebuilt, and while learning to embrace a power of survival she never knew she had hidden within her heart.





The Kiss of Deception (The Remnant Chronicles #1)
by Mary E. Pearson
Softback, 486 Pages
Published July 8th 2014 by Henry Holt

Goodreads 

 A princess must find her place in a reborn world.

She flees on her wedding day.

She steals ancient documents from the Chancellor's secret collection.

She is pursued by bounty hunters sent by her own father.

She is Princess Lia, seventeen, First Daughter of the House of Morrighan.

The Kingdom of Morrighan is steeped in tradition and the stories of a bygone world, but some traditions Lia can't abide. Like having to marry someone she's never met to secure a political alliance.

Fed up and ready for a new life, Lia flees to a distant village on the morning of her wedding. She settles in among the common folk, intrigued when two mysterious and handsome strangers arrive—and unaware that one is the jilted prince and the other an assassin sent to kill her. Deceptions swirl and Lia finds herself on the brink of unlocking perilous secrets—secrets that may unravel her world—even as she feels herself falling in love.








And I Darken (The Conqueror's Saga #1)
by Kiersten White 
Hardcover, 475 Pages
Published June 28th 2016 by Delacorte Press 



No one expects a princess to be brutal. And Lada Dragwlya likes it that way. Ever since she and her gentle younger brother, Radu, were wrenched from their homeland of Wallachia and abandoned by their father to be raised in the Ottoman courts, Lada has known that being ruthless is the key to survival. She and Radu are doomed to act as pawns in a vicious game, an unseen sword hovering over their every move. For the lineage that makes them special also makes them targets.

Lada despises the Ottomans and bides her time, planning her vengeance for the day when she can return to Wallachia and claim her birthright. Radu longs only for a place where he feels safe. And when they meet Mehmed, the defiant and lonely son of the sultan, Radu feels that he’s made a true friend—and Lada wonders if she’s finally found someone worthy of her passion.

But Mehmed is heir to the very empire that Lada has sworn to fight against—and that Radu now considers home. Together, Lada, Radu, and Mehmed form a toxic triangle that strains the bonds of love and loyalty to the breaking point.



Time To Vote

Pick one of the three books above to help me find what book I will read this month. Vote by commenting below which one I should read. Voting will end on Dec. 15th at Noon EST! I'll be showcasing the winner next Saturday on the blog!



Monday, November 6, 2017

It's Monday...What Are You Reading?



This meme started with J Kaye's Blog and then was taken up by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn at the Book Date.  It's a meme where you share what you read last week, what you're currently reading and what you plan on reading that week.






Here lately, I've noticed that I've been in a sort of reading slump. Where I can't find a book that even appeals to me in the slightest, it might be what' in my crazy life right now, but I'm going to attempt to at least read one book this week and hope for the best. So below is that one book and a few others that I'm going to choose from. I think some of the reason the slump has happened is because I was trying to put pressure on myself again, to blog and read. Took the fun out of it once again and I know that doesn't work for me. So, with that being said, here is what I'm going to try to read this week. 



 Reading Plan for This Week

 




The Way I Used To Be by Amber Smith


 In the tradition of Speak, this extraordinary debut novel shares the unforgettable story of a young woman as she struggles to find strength in the aftermath of an assault.

Eden was always good at being good. Starting high school didn’t change who she was. But the night her brother’s best friend rapes her, Eden’s world capsizes.

What was once simple, is now complex. What Eden once loved—who she once loved—she now hates. What she thought she knew to be true, is now lies. Nothing makes sense anymore, and she knows she’s supposed to tell someone what happened but she can’t. So she buries it instead. And she buries the way she used to be.

Told in four parts—freshman, sophomore, junior, and senior year—this provocative debut reveals the deep cuts of trauma. But it also demonstrates one young woman’s strength as she navigates the disappointment and unbearable pains of adolescence, of first love and first heartbreak, of friendships broken and rebuilt, and while learning to embrace a power of survival she never knew she had hidden within her heart.


On Deck (might read this week but not sure yet)



The last boy and Girl in the world by Siobhan Vivian  

There are a lot of mixed feelings on Goodreads about this book, but I'm going to give it a shot. 

 From the critically acclaimed author of The List comes a “transcendent love story” (Stephen Chbosky, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Perks of Being a Wallflower) about a girl who must say goodbye to everything she knows after a storm wreaks havoc on her hometown.

What if your town was sliding underwater and everyone was ordered to pack up and leave? How would you and your friends spend your last days together?

While the adults plan for the future, box up their possessions, and find new places to live, Keeley Hewitt and her friends decide to go out with a bang. There are parties in abandoned houses. Canoe races down Main Street. The goal is to make the most of every minute they still have together.

And for Keeley, that means taking one last shot at the boy she’s loved forever.

There’s a weird sort of bravery that comes from knowing there’s nothing left to lose. You might do things you normally wouldn’t. Or say things you shouldn’t. The reward almost always outweighs the risk.

Almost.

It’s the end of Aberdeen, but the beginning of Keeley’s first love story. It just might not turn out the way she thought. Because it’s not always clear what’s worth fighting for and what is best left to become a memory.



So what are your reading plans for this week? I would love to know what you're reading. Or you can share link in the comments below so I can check out your post as well.  Hope you all have a great Monday!


Sunday, November 5, 2017

October Month In Review




I know it's already November and this post is being posted a little late, but I wanted this post to go live anyway. Hope you all won't mind. October was a crazy month for me, it was terribly busy with kids activitiies, getting ready for the holidays, normal every day stuff and of course getting ready for NaNoWriMo. Which I'll talk about in another post this week. Anyway, let's get started with the Month in Review for October. 


Books I Read This Month

 

 I've been in a major reading slump and I'm trying to work through it. I was able to finish a few books this month though YAY! 






Books I Reviewed This Month

 

Remember Me Always (4 1/2 Puppies) 
Paper Princess  (5 Puppies)



Stats 



Books Read: 4
Novella's Read: 0
Rereads: 0

Favorite Book Read This Month:Without Merit by Colleen Hoover
Least Favorite Book Read This Month:  I really didn't have a least favorite this month.


 

Reading Challenge Update



Goodreads 2017 Reading Challenge: 54/60

 

So how was your month of October? Let me know in the comments below. What did you read and did you enjoy it? 

 

 

The Frenemy Series Book Blitz




The Frenemy Series
by Kate Benson
Romantic Comedy


Author Bio.jpg


Kate Benson was raised in Texas and currently resides in central Florida with her husband and their growing army of fur minions.
She learned to read at the age of four and has been hooked ever since. She credits her passion for literature to her mother, her love of story-telling to her father and her unwavering faith in happily-ever-after’s to her husband, Sean.
Some of her favorite things include rainy days, loud music, superhero movies, hot tea and of course, lazy afternoons with a great book.
To find out more about Kate, her work or to just say hello, she loves hearing from her readers and can be found on social media.


Blurb.jpg
**This book contains adult content intended for mature readers**

DASH
Evie King.
God, even her name leaves a bad taste in my mouth.
I’ve put up with her for years for my best friend, her overprotective older brother, Mason.
I’d grown comfortable in my distaste, reliant on my hatred. But when a favor goes too far and I wake up naked next to my sworn nemesis in a hotel room in Dallas?
That’s when my life begins spiraling out of control.
We swore we’d keep it between us. We vowed to never let it happen again.
Until…
Can you crave and loathe someone at the same time?
I’m about to find out.
It only takes one snowflake to start an avalanche.
Welcome to the avalanche.

EVIE
Have you ever met one of those people who just dry humps your last nerve?
Enter Dash Hunter. Humper of my nerves.
Leave it to this jackass to ruin my life.
I’d had it all, but one drunken mistake with this asshole has it all crashing down.
They say everything happens for a reason, but I see no rhyme or reason to this disaster.
This was never what we wanted, not at all what we planned.
We were supposed to do our respective walks of shame and move on, but then…
We were blindsided. We never saw it coming.
All we want is to go back to what made sense, back to hating each other, but there’s a problem.
How do you defeat your enemy when you’re no longer frigid?
  




Blurb.jpg
***This book contains content intended for mature readers***

EVIE
Boy meets girl, they spend a decade at each other’s throats, seething with hatred until fate lands them wasted together in an airport hotel, waking naked and hungover to find they’d done the unthinkable.
Tale as old as time, right?
Dash and I both thought that’d be the happy ending of our dysfunctional fairy tale, but months of bad decisions have somehow led us to where we are now-crazy in love, despite how hard we fought it.
I guess we’d be alright if we hadn’t forgotten one minor detail: We still had to tell my insanely overprotective brother and Dash’s best friend, Mason, the truth about us.
We thought the feelings we had for each other would fade out as quickly as the alcohol, that we could fight fate.
We were wrong.

DASH
Secrets, lies, deception… we should have known from the jump we weren’t smart enough to pull any of it off.
I’m not sure what me and Evie were thinking. Hell, we were so blindsided by all of this, I think it’s safe to say we weren’t thinking at all.
If we had been, we would have moved on before everything went to hell. I should have turned around and ran before I fell for her wicked vagina voodoo, but I didn’t.
What started as the most awkward walk of shame in history with my nemesis shifted into something neither of us saw coming.
We were powerless… hooked… it came for us, slamming into us like a cinder block.
By the time we looked up and saw what was happening, it was too late.
We were already sprung.


 





Social Link.jpg



Hosted By DNSB.jpg

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

This Blog is Protected..

myfreecopyright.com registered & protected

Blogoversary

Get your own free Blogoversary button!

My Beautiful Blog was Designed by...

Ali's Bookshelf © 2011-present