Monday, October 23, 2017

It's Monday...What Are You Reading?



This meme started with J Kaye's Blog and then was taken up by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn at the Book Date.  It's a meme where you share what you read last week, what you're currently reading and what you plan on reading that week.


I've been a bad blogger lately and honestly my life has been a bit crazy lately. I'm sure you all can relate and I'm so glad you have stuck with me. This week I'm going to try to get back in the groove and get a few posts posted this week. Cross your fingers for me! 

 This Week I Plan To Read 





The Chaos of Standing Still by Jessica Brody

This is an author that I will always read anything she publishes and I'm super excited about this one.  I got this ARC from Netgalley and the publishers, but I will say I'll have to read it on my computer and that always makes it harder to read.


Over the course of one chaotic night stranded at the Denver airport, Ryn confronts her shattered past thanks to the charm of romance, the uniqueness of strangers, and the magic of ordinary places in this stunning novel from the author of Boys of Summer.

Ryn has one unread text message on her phone. And it’s been there for almost a year.

She hasn’t tried to read it. She can’t. She won’t. Because that one message is the last thing her best friend ever said to her before she died.

But as Ryn finds herself trapped in the Denver International Airport on New Year’s Eve thanks to a never-ending blizzard on the one-year anniversary of her best friend’s death, fate literally runs into her.

And his name is Xander.

When the two accidentally swap phones, Ryn and Xander are thrust into the chaos of an unforgettable all-night adventure, filled with charming and mysterious strangers, a secret New Year’s Eve bash, and a possible Illuminati conspiracy hidden within the Denver airport. But as the bizarre night continues, all Ryn can think about is that one unread text message. It follows her wherever she goes, because Ryn can’t get her brialliantly wild and free-spirited best friend out of her head.

Ryn can’t move on.

But tonight, for the first time ever, she’s trying. And maybe that’s a start.

As moving as it is funny, The Chaos of Standing Still is a heartwarming story about the earth-shattering challenges life throws at us—and the unexpected strangers who help us along the way.
 





I had to have this book and was super excited when I went to Target and it was there. Best thing it's actually signed. Can't wait to start this one! 

 Sixteen-year-old Aza never intended to pursue the mystery of fugitive billionaire Russell Pickett, but there’s a hundred-thousand-dollar reward at stake and her Best and Most Fearless Friend, Daisy, is eager to investigate. So together, they navigate the short distance and broad divides that separate them from Russell Pickett’s son, Davis.

Aza is trying. She is trying to be a good daughter, a good friend, a good student, and maybe even a good detective, while also living within the ever-tightening spiral of her own thoughts.

In his long-awaited return, John Green, the acclaimed, award-winning author of Looking for Alaska and The Fault in Our Stars, shares Aza’s story with shattering, unflinching clarity in this brilliant novel of love, resilience, and the power of lifelong friendship.



Up Next:  

The Book Jumper by






So that's my reading plans this week, what are yours? Come chat with me and let me know what your reading plans are for the week. 













Tuesday, October 17, 2017

Review: Remember Me Always




Title: Remember Me Always 
Author: Renee Collins 
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Publication Date: October 3, 2017
Format: ARC 
Pages:  322 pages
ISBN #:1492647608

 Shelby is nervous to start her senior year after spending the whole summer away from home. After all, it's hard to be carefree when you're trying to protect a secret.

Shelby was in a devastating car accident, and everyone in town thinks that she was undergoing more physical therapy in Denver. Instead, Shelby's mother enrolled her in a clinical program to stop the panic attacks that started after the crash. The treatment erased Shelby's memory of the accident, but she can't help feeling as if a piece of herself is missing, that the treatment took more than the doctors claimed.

So when Shelby starts hallucinating a boy with dark and mysterious eyes, she knows it must be a side-effect of the clinical program. Except you can't kiss hallucinations. And this boy insists that they know each other and are in love...







Let me start this review by saying a huge thanks to Sourcebooks for letting me part of this tour! I fell in love with this book and honestly it's one of my favorites for this year. So a huge thanks goes out to them for bringing this book to my attention. 

When I asked to be part of this tour I didn't know much about this book and I sometimes enjoy it that way, I love jumping into a book not knowing what's going to happen or what's already happened in this case. I didn't even read all of the summary but at the same time I couldn't wait to jump into this book. I'll be honest all I read was the first two sentences of the summary before I wanted to read the book. That right there shows me as a reader that this book is going to be amazing and I wasn't disappointed in the least.  

I instantly fell in love with author Renee Collin's writing style and couldn't make myself put this book down, seriously I couldn't even put it down to eat or cook dinner. The story line caught my attention and I just had to know what was going to happen next. I mean who wouldn't want to forget something in their past and especially something like Shelby needed to forget. (Don't worry that's not a spoiler its in the summary lol) 

I love the mixture of contemporary and fantasy or science fiction mixed in this book, something you don't really see often. I love how the author mixed a love story in there also, I mean come on who doesn't love a great love story mixed with science fiction!  I knew there had to be more to the accident than they were letting on in the beginning and even though I knew there was it still didn't take away from the whole story.  I couldn't wait to find out what really happened. I also knew everyone in the story was hiding things from Shelby and I wasn't sure who to trust throughout the whole book, but then again that just made me want to read more. 

This is hands down one of my favorite reads this year and I must now read more of author Renee Collin's books! So much love for this author and her writing style. If you haven't read any of her books it's a must and especially this one. Go get your copy today you won't regret it! 












Here at Ali's Bookshelf we accept books in exchange for a honest review. The book above was given to me by the publishers through Netgalley, this did not in any way sway my opinion of this book.  I also use Amazon Affiliate links at times.





Remember Me Always Tour and Giveaway


I'm so excited to be part of this tour today!  The first post of the day here on Ali's Bookshelf is going to be a glimpse into the book and the giveaway for the tour. Later today the review for this fantastic book will go live as well. So let's get to it shall we. 






Title: Remember Me Always 
Author: Renee Collins 
Published: Oct 3rd, 2017
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire


 Shelby is nervous to start her senior year after spending the whole summer away from home. After all, it's hard to be carefree when you're trying to protect a secret.

Shelby was in a devastating car accident, and everyone in town thinks that she was undergoing more physical therapy in Denver. Instead, Shelby's mother enrolled her in a clinical program to stop the panic attacks that started after the crash. The treatment erased Shelby's memory of the accident, but she can't help feeling as if a piece of herself is missing, that the treatment took more than the doctors claimed.

So when Shelby starts hallucinating a boy with dark and mysterious eyes, she knows it must be a side-effect of the clinical program. Except you can't kiss hallucinations. And this boy insists that they know each other and are in love...

Buy Links
Barnes and Noble: http://bit.ly/2hMZYhJ
Book Depository: http://bit.ly/2y15Ee1







Renee Collins grew up in Hawaii, where she played Lady Capulet in her high school production of Romeo and Juliet. In college, she decided to abandon her dreams of being a famous actress to study history and become a writer, but she’ll always have a soft spot in her heart for drama kids. Renee currently lives in Colorado with her family.









No purchase necessary to enter or win. A purchase does not improve your chances of winning. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.
Open to legal residents of USA who are 18 years or older. Giveaway begins August 14th and ends at September 1st. Enter the Giveaway during the Promotion Period online by submitting the entry form. The entry form can be found on the following website at. Winner will be selected by Random.org and be notified by email. Winner has 48 hours to respond before a new winner is selected. 3 winner(s) will receive 1 finished copy of If the Creek Don’t Rise(approximate retail value or "ARV": $15.99US). By providing your information in this form, you are providing your information to Sourcebooks. Sourcebooks does not share or sell information and will use any information only for the purpose of this giveaway. (Facebook, Twitter, and Goodreads) are in no way associated with this giveaway.




a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, October 12, 2017

Review: Paper Princess




Title: Paper Princess 
Author: Erin Watt
Series: The Royals #1
Publisher: Timeout LLC
Date Published:  April 4th 2016
Date Read: Jan. 26th through 28th 2017
Format: Paperback/Audio

From strip clubs and truck stops to southern coast mansions and prep schools, one girl tries to stay true to herself.

These Royals will ruin you…

Ella Harper is a survivor—a pragmatic optimist. She’s spent her whole life moving from town to town with her flighty mother, struggling to make ends meet and believing that someday she’ll climb out of the gutter. After her mother’s death, Ella is truly alone.

Until Callum Royal appears, plucking Ella out of poverty and tossing her into his posh mansion among his five sons who all hate her. Each Royal boy is more magnetic than the last, but none as captivating as Reed Royal, the boy who is determined to send her back to the slums she came from.

Reed doesn’t want her. He says she doesn’t belong with the Royals.

He might be right.

Wealth. Excess. Deception. It’s like nothing Ella has ever experienced, and if she’s going to survive her time in the Royal palace, she’ll need to learn to issue her own Royal decrees.






There is so much that I want to say about this book that I have no clue how to start. Honestly, I've been sitting here staring at this screen and I can remember every detail about this book and I want to say so much that it's all coming out in an excitable babble. LOL!

So I'm just going to start off by saying, if you haven't figured it out yet, that I love this book so much. The whole plotline is fantastic and well written that I had no clue what was going to happen next. Seriously, it caught me off guard several times. Which doesn't happen very often when reading for me, most of the time I see things coming or can guess what's going to happen next. When I find a book that I can't predict I'm usually in awe of it. Plus it doesn't hurt that the writing style was perfection and it made reading this book a great read.

Let's talk about the characters! Which in this book is my favorite part, I really connected with several of them in this book. Not really with their actions but I really connected with their emotions. I even cried a few times while reading this one. The book starts out in such a way that I didn't expect that I was hooked right away and plopped right into Ella's life, in such a way that I couldn't look away not even for a second. Honestly, I didn't stop listening to this one for very long and had to finish it as fast as I could. I just had to know what was going to happen to her next. Besides Ella, Easton (one of the brothers) also became one of my favorite characters in this story. He's funny and becomes very close to Ella in the end. So much love for him.

The author's writing style was the other thing that pulled me in right away, I wouldn't really say this was an easy to read story, but it's one that really flowed.  If you haven't read Paper Princess what are you waiting for, seriously, get your copy today and start reading. You won't be dissapointed!





If you haven't guessed already...



 Here at Ali's Bookshelf we accept books in exchange for a honest review. The book above however is one that I purchased for myself.  I also use Amazon Affiliate links at times.
 

Monday, October 2, 2017

It's Monday...What Are You Reading?




This meme started with J Kaye's Blog and then was taken up by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn at the Book Date.  It's a meme where you share what you read last week, what you're currently reading and what you plan on reading that week.






September ended up being a really bad month for me in life and my reading life as well. I'm hoping October is a lot better and I plan to at least start if off better. This week I plan to read at least two books. For my reading challenge on Goodreads I only have ten more books to read this year to reach my goal, which is awesome! 

This Week I Plan To Read 




Fallen Heir by Erin Watt


These Royals will ruin you.

Easton Royal has it all: looks, money, intelligence. His goal in life is to have as much fun as possible. He never thinks about the consequences because he doesn’t have to.

Until Hartley Wright appears, shaking up his easy life. She’s the one girl who’s said no, despite being attracted to him. Easton can’t figure her out and that makes her all the more irresistible.

Hartley doesn’t want him. She says he needs to grow up.

She might be right.

Rivals. Rules. Regrets. For the first time in Easton’s life, wearing a Royal crown isn’t enough. He’s about to learn that the higher you start, the harder you fall.
 







Nnewts by Doug TenNapel 


 The first book in the Nnewts series follows the story of Herk, a lovable Nnewt who longs for stronger legs, something his mother and father wish they could give him. When his quaint village is attacked by the reptile Lizzarks, he's forced to flee his home and leave behind the only life he's ever known. Now, all alone and on the run, Herk navigates a dangerous world filled with strange creatures and mysterious wonders, where friends are few and an evil lord is in hot pursuit.



Up Next 

Before She Ignites by Jodi Meadows 
Autumn Rose by Abigail Gibbs  






So that's this weeks reading plans. If I get through the first two books I'll be moving on down the list. YAY! I'm excited about each of these books. I've had Autumn Rose on my TBR for a long time. 

 

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

This Blog is Protected..

myfreecopyright.com registered & protected

Blogoversary

Get your own free Blogoversary button!

My Beautiful Blog was Designed by...

Ali's Bookshelf © 2011-present