Tuesday, October 15, 2019

Teaser Tuesday #176




Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Books and a Beat. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:


  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other Teaser Tuesday participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teaser.


 I'm starting to worry that Smarty-Pants Camp is going to ruin my best friend, Harold. Okay, okay. I shouldn't call it "Smarty-Pants Camp." It's a National Scholar of Promise summer program at Stanford that's super hard to get into--the most recent under-eighteen world-chess champion got wait-listed. Harold got in on the first try.












This one has been on my TBR since earlier this year, it sounds really good. Think it's time to give it a try. What do you all think? 

 

Monday, October 14, 2019

Fall Bucket List





I've always wanted to post a post like this one and you know what this is the year! I've seen several other bloggers posting their posts about fall and just had to post one myself. I was inspired mostly by Lauren over at Bookmark Lit.  Though as I'm writing this one, I'm sitting here wondering what in the world do I put on this list...think I'll just wing it. 


Bookish Goals 


  1. Read at least 3 Fallish Books:  This time of the year I enjoy reading fallish books. I'm super excited to take a walk out in our new park and maybe sitting on a bench beneath a tree to read. The weather here is perfect for that. If not a walk, maybe reading on the couch with some steamy cup of hot chocolate. 


2. Read -a- thon:   I need to find at least one more read-a-thon to participate in. This way I might be able to get a few more of my challenges completed, which leads me to my next goal. 

3. Challenges: I have several books I need to read to complete this years challenges! Yikes, I really have a lot to catch up on.  



Personal Goals  


 1. Find the perfect fall morning and night routine: This is something I've been working on since I moved. It's a bit frustrating that I haven't gotten into a routine just yet. Hopefully I can fix this soon. 

 2. Find time for myself: I really want to work on this more in the fall. I've been trying to remember to take time for myself, not that it always works. 

3. Bake: This is the time of the year that I love! Baking is the perfect part of fall when it comes to me and I've already started. Bread was the first things I baked. Bananna Nut and cinnamon swirl YUMMY! 

4. Take more Pictures:  This is a goal I've been working on lately, I want more images of our lives, more ways to look back and remember each and every detail! 

5. Decorate: I really want to decorate my house for fall! Make it pretty. I've never really had room to do so and now that I do, I want to do it all! LOL. I also need to fix up my room and closet and that all falls into the same catagory.  

6. Pumkin Patch and Farmers Markets: These are things that are a must in the fall and want to start doing more things like this with my kiddos. Hopefully I can find them here in our new hometown. 


Homeschool Goals 

 

 

1. Schedule some fieldtrips: We love fieldtrips and so far we've had some great ones. Going to have to add a few more to our list. 

2. Have some fun:  I want to stop putting so much pressure on myself and the kiddos for school. It's time to stop and have some fun. Which was one of the many reasons why we decided to homeschool. 

3. Start strewing: Strewing is something I'm trying to figure out. Want to see if it works for our homeschool.

4. Start posting more on the blog: This is something I had planned to do this year, but have failed at. Going to try to start this up again. I want to add more homeschool posts to the blog. I'm taking the images now, so it's time to share them with you all as well.  





So there you have it, my fall bucket list for this year! I actually posted one this year, yep I'm a little proud of myself lol. What's on your fall bucket list this year? 

I hope you all have a great day! 

 

Thursday, October 3, 2019

October TBR Plan




So I was going to use the TBR Monopoly board again this month, but I decided to change it back to the original kind of TBR for this month. I'm in a bit of a reading slump and figured reading what I want to read is the perfect way to get out of that. Below is the books that I've chosen to read in October. Again this is the plan, it could always change! 


 I'm trying to take away the pressure that a TBR used to put on me, honestly I think it was more of blogger pressure than reading pressure, but we shall see. Anyway, the idea behind this came from Girl in the Pages. Her TBR's are called a plan and I thought that was very fitting for me. It's just a plan, not a have to!  If you haven't checked her blog out, please go do so now, she's one of my favorite bloggers/blogs. I read this one pretty much every time she posts.  I've also been loving Bookmark Lit lately and I love how she picks her TBR books. So, I thought I would give it a shot as well. If you haven't checked her blog out, it's a must. You should head there and read her blog as well!









October Plan  

 
   Upcoming Release                        Upcoming Release                                  Wild Card
  

  
Upcoming Release                                 Upcoming Release                   Homeschool Read



The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland 
Into the Crooked Place by Alexandra Christo
Rose Coffin by M.P. Kozlowsky 
Shadow Scent by P.M. Freestone 

 There you have it, my October TBR! I'm still crossing my fingers that this reading by catagory thing helps me get caught up on my reading, so far it's starting to work. Happy October everyone and as always...



Monday, July 22, 2019

The Reading Rush Day 1: It Has Begun!




I'm so excited, The Reading Rush has begun! Anyway, if you haven't seen my TBR you can by CLICKING HERE. I'm not really sure how I want these posts to go this year. Usually I do a daily post with all my updates at the end of the day, but this year there is a website that helps you keep track of pages read and books read. So I'm not sure if I should keep track here also. You know what I think I will, that way you can all see how I'm doing. So this week there will be daily posts with my daily updates. 

Throughout the day, I'll pop into this post and tell you all a bit about my day! Along with pages read and or books finished.  Guess I should probably get to it then. 


Update 1: The Reading Rush started at 12:01 AM and as soon as it did I started reading. Our electric went out around 5 PM last night and I was frantically hoping it would come back on in time. Reading by candle light really isn't as easy as it sounds. Anyway, it did come back on around 11 PM and I was able to start reading right on time. I actually finished Two books before I went to sleep last night! GO ME!!!  So we are off to a great start so far. 


Finished Books so far: 



Pages Read:

Monstress - 235 Pages 
Golden Compass Graphic Novel  Vol 1 - 80 Pages 



Update 2: So I started my third book and I've been reading it, but I'm not really enjoying it. Not sure what I'm going to do seeing as it is for two challenges. Maybe I'll give it a break and start one of my other books. HMMM what should I do? 
 
 

 


 
So there you have it the first day of the reading rush. I actually got a lot done today. I'm going to try to either push through with the third book or pick up A Darker Shade of Magic. Let me know in the comments below what you would do? 
 
 
 



Tuesday, July 16, 2019

The Reading Rush TBR









I am so excited about this read-a-thon. I haven't participated in a read-a-thon in a little while mainly because I was trying to get caught up here on the blog. (Yep I said trying!) Anyway, The Reading Rush is the read-a-thon that is previoiusly known as the BookTubeAThon. I've participated in that one a few times and normally I do pretty well. This year though the hostes Ariel and Raeleen have vamped the whole thing. It now has it's own website where you can earn badges and there are forums so you can chat with other book lovers. It's going to be so much fun and I can't wait. Oh and did I mention that it starts July 22nd to the 28th.


So there are some great challenges for this read-a-thon as well, thats one of the way you earn those badges. Below are the books I'm going to try to read for this read-a-thon and the challenges they go with. Some books work for several challenges!







 The first challenge is to read a book with purple on the cover. I picked Diary of a Single Wedding Planner by Violet Howe. This book also works for another challenge, which is to read an authors first book. So two challenges down with the first book. YAY ME!




The next challenge is to Read a book in the same spot the entire time. So I figured this needed to be a shorter book. (Though thinking about it really didn't have to be. I just needed to pick a comfy spot and just keep coming back to it.) Though I went with a shorter book lol. I picked The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman. Oh yeah did I mention it's the graphic novel? That's what I meant by short book.  I'll be reading Volume 1 for this challenge.

This will also work for another challenge as well and that's to read a book and watch the movie adaptation. I didn't want to re-read anything and couldn't think of anything I wanted to watch, so I figured this one would work.





This one I'm really excited about! A Darker Shade of Magic is a book that I've been dying to read but haven't found the time to do so. Anyway, this one works for two challenges as well. Do you see a patern here? The challenges for this one are Read a book you meant to read last year and Read a Book with five or more words in the title. 






So there is one more challenge that I'm going for and that is to read a book with a non human main character. (There is a badge if you read seven books, but I'm not pushing myself for that one!) Anyway, I'm going to read Monstress for that. I figued it's a graphic novel and it will be another fast read. The main character isn't human so it worked.  I'm also reading Hex Hall right now, so if I don't finish that book in time I'll be finishing it after I finish these books above. 








Like I said above I'm super excited for this read-a-thon to start and if you would like more information on this one you can CLICK HERE!  I hope you're all having a great week and as always...






Tuesday, July 2, 2019

July TBR Plans




Can you believe it's already July? I can't, it's crazy to think that it's already the seventh month of the year. Anyway, lately I've been thinking about this blog and wanting to change things up even more than I already have in the past several months. I'm just not sure how I'm going to do that. The first step was to bring back these Montly TBR's, though they used to bring on the stress hardcore. Calling these posts the TBR Plan has helped, it's eased off the pressure to read it all. If I don't, it's not big deal I can always just add them to next months list right? 

Anyway, I wanted to change it up a bit more, so this month...drum roll please... I made something to help me pick my TBR books. Yep I said I made something! If I'm being honest I have so many books that I need to read, ones that have been on my shelves for a while now. Ones that I'm dying to read and haven't had my chance just yet and ones that I forgot I even had. So this month and for the next several months, I'm going to focus on those books, but with a twist! Are you ready for this?







Yep, I created a Ali's Bookopoly board! I got this idea from Becca and The Books on Youtube and if you haven't watched her vids, she is a delight to watch. Anyway, I thought it was a great way to actually pick which books to read and and to help me read ones that I already own. Now hopefully next month, I'll be able to make a video of me playing my bookopoly but my camera wasn't working this month. GRRR anyway, so I took pics instead. Like I said hopefully I'll have a video for you all next month, so this months post will be a little longer than normal. 

The rules are pretty simple. Roll the dice and move your little pawn that many spaces. Then pick a book that's from the catagory! If I roll a double though I have to add another roll/book to my list. Luckily this month, I didn't roll any doubles. So I have five books that I'll be reading in July! 

 Let's Play Ali's Bookopoly! 

 For my first roll I rolled an 8 and landed on Paranormal/Magical Realism and yes my pawn I picked for this game is Sleeping Beauty, thought it added a nice touch seeing as she is my favorite Disney Princess! 



 So the book that I picked for this roll is My One And Only by Alanea Alder! I love this whole series so much and I can't wait to start this one. I actually got this one last month for my birthday.  So I knew I had to add this one into my TBR if I could. 



My second roll I rolled a four which landed me on Read an ebook or audiobook. I knew this one would be an easy pick too book wise because I needed to listen to this book for another challenge I'm doing. So it worked out just fine! So I'll be listening to They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera. This one has been on my shelf for a while now and I have it in both print and audio.

 

 My next roll was a fun one. There are Community Shelf and Chance cards that go with this game. The Community Shelf cards are little challenges and the Chance cards are 20 books that have been on my shelf for a while, 10 that I'm dying to read and 10 that I'm interested in but not dying to get my hands on. Anyway, for my third roll I landed on a Community Shelf spot. 


The book I picked for this one, is a quick read so of course that makes it a bit easier. I picked a Manga that my daughter enjoyed and that I actually have the book of. Vampire Kisses Blood Relatives by Ellen Schreiber.





For my fourth roll I rolled a nine and landed on Adult Fantasy! One of my favorite genres. 




For Adult Fantasy I picked The Princess of Landover by Terry Brooks. I love his books and couldn't wait to read this one.  Also look at this cover, it's so pretty!




For my final roll, I rolled a seven and ended up on Community Shelf again! YIKES. Anyway, the card told me to randomly generate a number and read that corresponding book on my TBR list on Goodreads. I actually liked this one. 




So book 519 on my TBR own shelf was Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins. I have to say I'm excited about this one. I have wanted to read that book for a while now.  It's been on my shelf for years. 



So there you have it, something a little different, I had a blast playing and picking out books to match each genre. Hopefully I'll have as much fun reading these books. I hope you all have a great reading month and as always ...


Friday, June 28, 2019

Book Blogger Hop #74








Book Blogger Hop is another post I'm going to be trying out and this one has a topic each week, which is something I've been trying to bring to the blog.  I'm really excited about this one because I have a hard time coming up with something fresh to talk about and I'm hoping this helps.
 
If you would be interested in doing your own post, please CLICK HERE to learn more about this great hop!
 
 

 
 28th - July 4th - Would you or do you choose a book solely on the cover? (submitted by Elizabeth @ Silver's Reviews


Okay, I'll admit I have done this several times. Sometimes there are those covers that just pull you in and honestly I like going into a book not knowing much about it.  The covers they are putting out now are so pretty and the ones that I never thought I would like I now love. Illustrated covers are something I never thought I would like, but I do. So yes, I've read/bought a book solely because of the cover. 


So, have you been like me and bought/read a book solely because of the cover? Come on now, I'm sure you have. Let me know in the comments below your favorite book that you have picked just because of the cover, but ended up loving the book just as much.







Tuesday, June 25, 2019

Teaser Tuesday #175





Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Books and a Beat. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:


  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other Teaser Tuesday participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teaser.


 Fifteen-year-old Winona Grey stared out at the waterfront ranch that had been her family for four generations, looking for something that had changed. Loss like theirs should leave a mark--summer grass gone suddenly brown, dark clouds that refused to life, a tree split by lightning. Something.













This is another great book I picked up from the used library sale, I got some great ones this year. Can't wait for the next one, anyway, I haven't read too many books by this author and honestly the first one I read I didn't enjoy. I'm hoping to give her another shot with this one. 


 

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

Archive

Labels

#FitReaders (8) 1 1/2 puppy Rating (1) 1 puppy rating (3) 2 1/2 puppy Rating (5) 2 1/2 Puppy Rating (2) 2 Puppy Rating (2) 3 1/2 puppy Rating (14) 3 puppy Rating (8) 4 1/2 Puppy Rating (53) 4 puppy Rating (70) 5 puppy rating (108) adult (46) Ali Talks (42) Ali Talks Live (24) Ali's Blogging To Do List (9) Ali's Favorites (1) Alis Book Club (5) Another Add to Alis Bookshelf (9) ARC (4) ARC Review (12) audio book (14) Author Features (12) Author Interview (22) Author Signing (2) being a mom (1) Blog Tour (174) blogger challenge (10) Bloggiesta (7) Bloggiesta 2018 (2) blogging challenge (3) Book Club (4) Book Spotlight (21) Book vs Movie (5) bookish bucket list (1) bout of books (20) Browsin Your Bookshelf (4) Bullet Journal (1) Character Interview (2) Character Post (1) Cover reveal (34) Day in The Life (13) Day in the Life of a homeschool mom (1) discussion (22) down the tbr hole (6) Dystopian Month (1) Dystopian Survival Week (4) End of Year Survey (1) fantasy (37) Follow Friday (16) Giveaway (107) Guest Post (71) homeschool (4) How Do I Do What I Do? (4) It's Monday (69) Its Monday (53) lifestyle (7) Mini Me Corner (18) Monthly Wrap Up (9) On My Wishlist (15) RAGT (1) Read-a-thon (13) Review (275) Right Up My Alley (8) Showcase Sunday (10) Sittin on the Shelf (8) Sunday Post (12) Take a Break (11) Task it Tuesday (1) TBR List (26) TBR Pile Reading Challenge (2) Teaser Tuesday (180) The Victorious & The Vanquished (3) Top Ten Tuesday (7) Waiting on Wednesday (40) Welcome (1) Young Adult (64)

This Blog is Protected..

myfreecopyright.com registered & protected

Blogoversary

Get your own free Blogoversary button!

My Beautiful Blog was Designed by...

Ali's Bookshelf © 2011-present