Friday, December 13, 2019

Book Blogger Hop #80




Book Blogger Hop is another post I'm going to be trying out and this one has a topic each week, which is something I've been trying to bring to the blog.  I'm really excited about this one because I have a hard time coming up with something fresh to talk about and I'm hoping this helps.
If you would be interested in doing your own post, please CLICK HERE to learn more about this great hop!
 
 
 
 13th - 19th - Is there a specific genre you like to read during the Winter? (submitted by Billy @ Coffee Addicted Writer)

 
 
Let's see, starting on December 1st, I start reading Christmas books. Other than that I don't read just one genre. I like a mixture when it comes to my reading.  





 
What about you, are you a one genre type person when it comes to winter? Or are you like me and enjoy a mixture of genres? 






Tuesday, December 10, 2019

Teaser Tuesday #182








Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Books and a Beat. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:  

  •  Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other Teaser Tuesday participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teaser.


The man was repugnant. Sclerosis skin, a shallow chin lost in folds of stubbled fat. A sheen of spittle at his mouth, whiskey's kiss scrawled across cheeks and nose and his eyes, O, Daughters, his eyes. Blue as the sunburned sky. Glittering like stars in the still of truedark. 














Okay so I totally gave you more than 2 sentences, but I couldn't break off the beautifulness of the sentences above. I hope you agree with me on that one.  Anyway, leave me a comment below if you've read this one? I'm so entranced by this one! 



Friday, December 6, 2019

Book Blogger Hop #79









Book Blogger Hop is another post I'm going to be trying out and this one has a topic each week, which is something I've been trying to bring to the blog.  I'm really excited about this one because I have a hard time coming up with something fresh to talk about and I'm hoping this helps.
If you would be interested in doing your own post, please CLICK HERE to learn more about this great hop!
 
 
 

 


 
6th - 12th - Do you keep your TBR stack on a separate shelf from your already read books or are they mixed? (submitted by Elizabeth @ Silver's Reviews)
  


At this moment my main TBR is on my TBR cart, but the rest of my TBR is everywhere. Since my move, I haven't been able to actually organize my books the way I want them. But that's about to change. I'm getting a few new shelves for Christmas and I'm hoping to get all my books just the way I want them! That's the plan! 


 
 
What about you, do you have all your TBR together or mixed in with your other books? I would love to know. Also, any tips you may have for me on organizing my books would be great! 
 
 



Thursday, December 5, 2019

Tragic + Devine Author Guest Post: 10 Tips To Becoming A Better Writer





 I am so excited to share with you some tips from author Melody Felix-Prieto. She's the author of The Tragic + Devine and today she has 10 tips to share with us about becoming a better writer.




10 Tips for Becoming a Better Writer 

1. Outline! Always outline first! Writer’s block is just an excuse (a thought) someone came up with because they failed to outline. This happened to me when I wrote my book. I got stuck in CH. 15 for months! But once I sat down and wrote out an outline the book practically wrote itself! 

2. Write everyday 

3.Write what you love

4. If you don’t know what to write, write what you know 

5. Read every day. This keeps your mind active.

6. Keep a notebook by your bed, you never know when inspiration might strike. 

7. Read other author’s work.

8. Make sure to know the difference between words that sound the same but spelled differently. Exm: they’ re/their
   
9. Improve your grammar. I use Grammarly when I write, it’s improved my writing so much!

10. Become a people watcher. A lot of the dialogue in my book came from real people. I’ve learned to actively listen to other's conversations (no to be nosy) but to learn how people speak, how they behave





THE TRAGIC + DIVINE, Book 1
Young Adult Paranormal Romance
Published Date: 11.29.19 2nd Edition
Publisher: INtense Publications LLC
 photo add-to-goodreads-button_zpsc7b3c634.png
Alexis Minerva has never been the type to cause trouble. With good grades, and a clean school record, she's on the track to move out of Dixon-a small town with even smaller minded people.
But on the night before her 17th birthday, she meets Milo James-a sexy, mysterious angel with a thirst for danger who represents a mother's worst nightmare. From the moment her eyes locked with his, there was an undeniable connection she couldn't shake off.
Convinced she'll never see Milo again, Alexis goes back to her mundane world counting down the days until graduation. Then one day, Milo shows up in Dixon unexpectedly rocking the small community.
Determined not to follow in her sister's footsteps despite Priscilla's troubled past haunting her every move, Alexis tries her best to avoid Milo, even though he seems to be everywhere she goes. But a chilling phone call from her sister changes everything. Now she must step into Milo's world to find her sister-a fast-paced world filled with less-than-holy activities and late-night wild parties.
As the tension intensifies between Alexis and Milo, Alexis discovers a dark secret that threatens to tear them apart setting off events that will change her life forever.



 



  
MELODY FELIX-PRIETO lives in Georgia with her husband and two children. When she isn't writing, you can find her taking photographs, editing video projects, or watching movies. THE TRAGIC + DIVINE is her debut novel. Visit her online at www.melodyfelixprieto.com. 

Tuesday, December 3, 2019

December 2019 TBR Plan







Does anyone know where November went? Because I'm seriously not sure. It doesn't feel like it's this close to the end of the year. My year has been a whirlwind of craziness, but at the same time, it's been an amazing year. Anyway, it's that time again, time to share what I plan to read for the month. Since it's December, you guess it, I'm going to be reading a lot of holiday books. Some of which are for a read-a-thon going on right now as I type out this post. 






I'm part of a tour for Harlequin for these four-holiday books and I can't wait to share my thoughts for each and every one of them with you. A Wedding in December, Cowboy Christmas Redemption, Christmas in Silver Springs and An Alaskan Christmas will all be showcased and reviewed her on the blog this month.






I know I mentioned above that I'm participating in a read a thon right now and that is the Tis A Season A Thon and 10 Blind Dates is the group read, it's one that I've been wanting to read, so it was perfect. Also I've had The Afterlife of Holly Chase since last year and wasn't able to read it, so that's being added to my list as well. I've hard such great things about this book so I can't wait to read it.  Now I know The Merciful Crow and The Beautiful aren't holiday reads, but I got them from the library and I'm dying to read them too. So I added them both to the list as well.


If you want to see my full list for the Tis The Season A Thon, you can CLICK HERE.




So there you have it, my reading plans for the last month of 2019! It's still hard to believe this year is almost over. It's going to be a very busy month for me, so keep your fingers crossed that I can get to as many of these books as I can.

What are your reading plans for December? Let me know in the comments below. 


Teaser Tuesday #181




Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Books and a Beat. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:  

  •  Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other Teaser Tuesday participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teaser.


 A dead Prince lay in their cart like any other sinner, not an arm's length away. Fie could scarce believe it. A Prince. A Phoenix.












 So I heard a Youtuber talking about this book a few days ago and I knew I had to get my hands on it. I love the writing style so far. A review will be coming soon!


Have you read this one yet? 













Saturday, November 30, 2019

Blog Tour: Where Winter Finds You Review






Today I'm so freakin excited to bring you my thoughts on author J.R. Ward's newest release Where Winter Finds You. 



Where Winter Finds You by J.R. Ward 
Series: The Black Dagger Brotherhood
Genres: Romance, Fantasy, Paranormal, Adult
Published By: Gallery Books
Also by this Author: Dark Lover, Lover Eternal, Lover Awakened, Lover Unbound, Lover Revealed, Lover Avenged, Lover Mine, Lover Enshrined, Lover Unleashed, Lover Reborn, Covet, Crave, Envy, The Bourbon Kings, ETC ( So many others)  
Format: Paperback
Goodreads * Amazon * Author Website


 #1 New York Times bestselling author J.R. Ward is heating things up this winter with a holiday novel featuring some of her most iconic Black Dagger Brothers.

When Trez lost his beloved to a tragic death (The Shadows, Black Dagger Brotherhood #13), his soul was crushed and his destiny seemed relegated to suffering. But when he meets a mysterious female, he becomes convinced his true love has been reincarnated. Is he right? Or has his grief created a disastrous delusion?

Therese has come to Caldwell to escape a rift with her bloodline. The revelation that she was adopted and not born into her family shakes the foundations of her identity, and she is determined to make it on her own. Her attraction to Trez is not what she’s looking for, except the sexy Shadow proves to be undeniable.

Has fate provided a grieving widower with a second chance...or is Trez too blinded by the past to see the present for what it really is? In this sensual, arresting book full of the themes of redemption and self-discovery, two lost souls find themselves at a crossroads where the heart is the only compass that can be trusted...but that may require a courage that neither of them possesses.









When I first got the email asking me if I wanted to be part of this tour and review author J.R. Ward's newest upcoming release, let's just say I jumped up and down and squealed a little. Yep, I acted like a little kid and I'm so not sorry about that.  I knew right away that I wanted to be part of the tour and have the chance to review Where Winter Finds You! I love The Black Dagger Brotherhood books so much! (If you didn't already know that, well now you do!) I mean come on take sexy vampires and sprinkle in Christmas feels and you have an amazing book.

Author J.R. Ward's world she has created for this series is just breathtaking and this book just adds to my love of the series. I won't be giving any spoilers away for this one in this review, mainly because I have several friends that are dying to read it and haven't had a chance yet, but it's so worth the jumping up and down and of course the wait. 

These characters are just as breathtaking as the rest, but Trez has become a favorite of mine. Just don't tell Zsadist on me! LOL. I couldn't get enough of this book and I will say this I didn't think Trez was going to get a happy ending after everything that happened to his love, so when I heard that this was a book for him I was even more excited to read it. Though when he meets the new female in this book and she tries not to be attracted to him, I was yelling at the book "like seriously how can you not be. Just give in already!" While I was reading though, I wasn't sure how it was all going to work out and I want these characters to be happy, but at the same time, I wasn't sure it was going to happen. That was the best part though, not being sure. I never want to read books that are so predictable and The Black Dagger Brotherhood and this book is so not! The twists and turns of this one were just perfection and I loved all the Christmas feels. 

Like I said above, I couldn't get enough of this book and I finished it in one day.  Oh, also I must say this cover is one of my favorites. I don't know how J.R. Ward does what she does, but honestly, I hope she never stops, because I will never stop reading these books. 





I'm giving Where Winter Finds You Ali's Bookshelf...




(Oh and this is my first Christmas read of the year! YAY.) 













J.R. Ward is the author of more than thirty novels, including those in her #1 New York Times bestselling Black Dagger Brotherhood series. There are more than fifteen million copies of her novels in print worldwide, and they have been published in twenty-six different countries around the world. She lives in the South with her family.


Don’t forget to sign-up for exclusive Black Dagger Brotherhood original content:









 I recieved this book for free in exchange for my honest review.  My thoughts are my own and mine alone.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

Archive

Labels

#FitReaders (8) 1 1/2 puppy Rating (1) 1 puppy rating (3) 2 1/2 puppy Rating (5) 2 1/2 Puppy Rating (2) 2 Puppy Rating (2) 3 1/2 puppy Rating (14) 3 puppy Rating (8) 4 1/2 Puppy Rating (54) 4 puppy Rating (70) 5 puppy rating (108) adult (47) Ali Talks (42) Ali Talks Live (24) Ali's Blogging To Do List (9) Ali's Favorites (1) Alis Book Club (5) Another Add to Alis Bookshelf (9) ARC (4) ARC Review (12) audio book (14) Author Features (12) Author Interview (22) Author Signing (2) being a mom (1) Blog Tour (178) blogger challenge (10) Bloggiesta (7) Bloggiesta 2018 (2) blogging challenge (3) Book Club (4) Book Spotlight (21) Book vs Movie (5) bookish bucket list (1) bout of books (20) Browsin Your Bookshelf (4) Bullet Journal (1) Character Interview (2) Character Post (1) Cover reveal (34) Day in The Life (13) Day in the Life of a homeschool mom (1) discussion (22) down the tbr hole (6) Dystopian Month (1) Dystopian Survival Week (4) End of Year Survey (1) fantasy (38) Follow Friday (16) Giveaway (109) Guest Post (72) homeschool (5) How Do I Do What I Do? (4) It's Monday (69) Its Monday (53) lifestyle (7) Mini Me Corner (18) Monthly Wrap Up (9) On My Wishlist (15) RAGT (1) Read-a-thon (14) Review (277) Right Up My Alley (8) Showcase Sunday (10) Sittin on the Shelf (8) Sunday Post (12) Take a Break (11) Task it Tuesday (1) TBR List (26) TBR Pile Reading Challenge (2) Teaser Tuesday (186) The Victorious & The Vanquished (3) Top Ten Tuesday (7) Waiting on Wednesday (40) Welcome (1) Young Adult (65)

This Blog is Protected..

myfreecopyright.com registered & protected

Blogoversary

Get your own free Blogoversary button!

My Beautiful Blog was Designed by...

Ali's Bookshelf © 2011-present