Wednesday, December 11, 2013

Sittin on the Shelf


Title: Mockingjay
Author: Suzanne Collins
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Pub Date:  August 24th 2010
Pages: 390 pages
Find It: Goodreads  * Amazon  * Barnes & Noble * Joseph Beth



Katniss Everdeen, girl on fire, has survived, even though her home has been destroyed. Gale has escaped. Katniss's family is safe. Peeta has been captured by the Capitol. District 13 really does exist. There are rebels. There are new leaders. A revolution is unfolding. It is by design that Katniss was rescued from the arena in the cruel and haunting Quarter Quell, and it is by design that she has long been part of the revolution without knowing it. District 13 has come out of the shadows and is plotting to overthrow the Capitol. Everyone, it seems, has had a hand in the carefully laid plans -- except Katniss. The success of the rebellion hinges on Katniss's willingness to be a pawn, to accept responsibility for countless lives, and to change the course of the future of Panem. To do this, she must put aside her feelings of anger and distrust. She must become the rebels' Mockingjay -- no matter what the personal cost.

Waiting on Wednesday



Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine where she spotlights upcoming releases.
So this week, I'm waiting on this spectacular book: 
Evertrue 
Author: Brodi Ashton 
Release Date: January 21st 2014
*I'm really sad that this series is going to be over, but I'm also very excited to read the next book! Also I must say this cover is stunning. *  
Now that Nikki has rescued Jack, all she wants is to be with him and graduate high school. But Cole tricked Nikki into feeding off him, and she’s begun the process of turning into an Everliving herself... which means she must feed on a Forfeit soon — or die. Terrified for her survival, Nikki and Jack begin a desperate attempt to reverse the process using any means possible. Even Cole, who they expected to fight them at every turn, has become an unlikely ally — but how long can it last? Nikki needs to feed on Cole to survive, Cole needs Nikki to gain the throne in the Everneath, Jack needs Nikki because she is everything to him — and together, they must travel back to the Underworld to undo Nikki’s fate and make her mortal once more. But Cole isn’t the only one with plans for Nikki: the Queen has not forgotten Nikki’s treachery, and she wants her destroyed for good. Will Nikki be forced to spend eternity in the Underworld, or does she have what it takes to bring down the Everneath once and for all? In this stunning conclusion to the Everneath trilogy, Brodi Ashton evokes the resiliency of the human spirit and the indomitable power of true love.




So what do you think about this one? Which book are you waiting on right now?

Tuesday, December 10, 2013

Teaser Tuesday: #37


Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teaser. 






Wrestling with a gigantic inflatable Santa Claus was so not how Hannah wanted to start this holiday season. She jerked to the side, trying to place the display piece on his feet. Her elf slipper slid. Bang.


Alright, how was that for a little teaser, sounds to be me like this book is going to be a fun little read.  What are you reading right now? Care to give me a little tease in the comments, or leave me a link to your post? 

Monday, December 9, 2013

What Books to Buy Children and Teens for Christmas 2013


Alright so this is going to be a series of posts, one that will showcase books that I think are great gifts for children and teens.  I thought it would be a great way to showcase the books and to share some gift ideas.    

I've been wanting to put this type of list together for a while, so when I was asked to do just that I decided it was time. 

Today's post is going to be children's books that were released this year, then I will be working on other posts as well with teen books, middle grade books, and even other classic children's books. 
So let's do this.  




This book is great for little girls and I think it's perfect for any girl around the age of 6 to 8, but any younger it could be read too. 

To Be Read Post/Weekly Wrap Up: 12/8/13




So as must of you have noticed, I haven't been posting much at all and I am so sorry for that.  I had hit a reading slump and a blogging slump and had to take a bit of time off.  But I'm back and have huge plans to keep the blogging and books coming.  So with that being said, let's see how the past week went for me and check out what I plan on reading this week.  Also later this week I'll be posting some of my plans for 2014 for the blog and other things as well so stay tuned.



This past week I only reading one book.  Yep reading slump, but it's okay I'm getting back in the grove of things.  So here is the book I read this past week.  



When newly-single Rachel Tanner finds out that pro pitcher Kevin Ganlin has come home to recover from an injury, her heart skips a beat. She’s loved him from afar since her preteen years, never bold enough to let him know. Kevin is less than thrilled when Rachel shows up at his doorstep. She’s his best friend’s little sister and officially off limits. Besides, he’s staring early retirement in the face, a one-man pity-party with no interest in anything more serious than quick flings on the road. Until an icy mishap lands Rachel cozied up on his sofa, irresistible in his practice sweats. A little game of Truth or Truth reveals much more than Rachel had ever dared to hope and leads to a midnight make-out session that leaves them both panting. But can she trust that he’s truly changed his ways? This Christmas, Kevin will do whatever it takes to make Rachel understand she’s the only one for him.




I will be posting my review of Christmas Curveball later this week and can't wait to share the thoughts on this book with all of you.   I read this book mainly because I needed something light and fluffy.  Plus its the perfect Christmas book to read!

Sunday, December 8, 2013

On My Wishlist: #9



On My Wishlist is a Meme hosted by Book Chick City.  


 My On My Wishlist includes books that are older and already out and ones that are brand new or not even out yet! So lets get to it.  Today I bring you 3 books that I am dying to get my hands on.  I will be updating these when I get any of these books...
So the first one I want to showcase is...


The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken 


When Ruby woke up on her tenth birthday, something about her had changed. Something alarming enough to make her parents lock her in the garage and call the police. Something that gets her sent to Thurmond, a brutal government “rehabilitation camp.” She might have survived the mysterious disease that’s killed most of America’s children, but she and the others have emerged with something far worse: frightening abilities they cannot control. Now sixteen, Ruby is one of the dangerous ones. When the truth comes out, Ruby barely escapes Thurmond with her life. Now she’s on the run, desperate to find the one safe haven left for kids like her—East River. She joins a group of kids who escaped their own camp. Liam, their brave leader, is falling hard for Ruby. But no matter how much she aches for him, Ruby can’t risk getting close. Not after what happened to her parents. When they arrive at East River, nothing is as it seems, least of all its mysterious leader. But there are other forces at work, people who will stop at nothing to use Ruby in their fight against the government. Ruby will be faced with a terrible choice, one that may mean giving up her only chance at a life worth living.

Tuesday, December 3, 2013

Blog Tour: Confessions of an Authors Assistant



So today I have a wonderful author with me for an author interview and to talk about her books.  I want to welcome author Victoria Danann to Ali's Bookshelf.  Thanks for joining us today.  Below you will get to know more about her books and her as an author.  Enjoy!





The Order of the Black Swan is a serial saga including My Familiar Stranger, The Witch’s Dream, A Summoner’s Tale, Moonlight, Gathering Storm, and NEVER BEFORE RELEASED Book 6, A Tale of Two Kingdoms. Once upon a time a girl lost everything familiar. She escaped death by being forced into an experiment that left her in another world where modern day knights, elves, vampires, werewolves, witches, demons and fae became her allies, friends and family. She discovered a place where adventure intersects fairytales, where honor is more than an ideal, and she learned that love can find you in the strangest places, when you're least expecting it, even when you're far, far from home. This is the story of Elora Laiken's strange and wonderful journey. It is also the story of those whose lives she touches along the way. If you love romance, paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, urban fantasy, contemporary, this series is right for you. 17+

Wednesday, November 27, 2013

How You Do What You Do by Violet Patterson



Today we have author Violet Patterson with us to share How she does what she does and what's on her bookshelf.  So I hope you enjoy! 




How You Do What You Do or What's On Your Bookshelf 

I used to say that I read a little bit of everything and for a large part of my life it was a true statement.  Now, not so much.  Over the years I’ve begun to weed out genres that no longer interest me and authors who disappoint me.  I also have this tendency to read more than one book at a time plus an audio book for my commute to work.  Right now I am reading the last Sookie Stackhouse because I could not put it off any longer, I have to read the train wreck that ended the series that got me hooked on this genre so long ago.  I’m listening to ICED by Karen Marie Moning who I just love.  The Fever series was fantastic in my opinion and I own all of them.  I’m also reading some Steampunk anthologies just to mix it up a bit.

Friday, November 15, 2013

Once Upon A Zombie Apocalypse Blog Tour







Title: Once Upon A Zombie Apocalypse (Jade)
Author: Jennifer Malone Wright 
Published: March 12th 2013
Link:  Goodreads  * Amazon


Chemical Warfare has turned most of the world’s population into flesh eating Zombies. These are the accounts of two survivors. Kylee and Jade are on their way from one author convention to another. After saying goodbye to all their friends, they never dreamed the plane would land with them fighting for their lives. Jade Warwick has been preparing for the end of the world for years, but she never thought the world would end with zombies. The only thing salvaging her almost lost sanity is the fact that she is with her best friend, Kylee. With their first mission being to find their families, will the girls manage to save their families while trying to save each other? ***Once Upon A Zombie Apocalypse or (OUAZA) as the fans call it, is a short story episodic saga written by K.B. Miller and Jennifer Malone Wright. The first episode is from both Jade and Kylee's perspective and is two separate novella's. The same story, but from two different characters. It is done this way with the first episode only, so that you can meet our girls and really get to know and love them like we do.Each following episode is written solely by one of the authors and available through their links.


Tuesday, November 5, 2013

Author Interivew with the author of Love & The Goddess Mary E. Coen





So today I have the lovely author Mary Elizabeth Coen with us for an author interview and an excerpt of her great book Love & The Goddess.  



      Did you have a say in the covers of your books? (I must say that I love them!)
Not much say in my original cover as I paid for a package with a self publishing company and expected to see it a t various stages but had the end result handed to me – fait accomplit! Since I’d ordered 2,000 paperbacks it would have delayed the printing process if I waited for another cover a t the time.
I recently had my cover re-designed for kindle and worked closely each step of the way with Jeanine Henning. I love it and it hints at the fun element of the story.

Monday, November 4, 2013

I Got A Little Lost Reading The Lost Boy


Review: The Lost Boy by Greg Ruth

Alright, so I did this review a little bit different, I actually created a vid for the review.  Below you will find that video and more of my thoughts and rating of this graphic novel. 




Title: The Lost Boy
Author: Greg Ruth
Type: Graphic Novel
Published: Graphix


Some mysteries are too dangerous to leave alone . . . Nate's not happy about his family moving to a new house in a new town. After all, nobody asked him if he wanted to move in the first place. But when he discovers a tape recorder and note addressed to him under the floorboards of his bedroom, Nate is thrust into a dark mystery about a boy who went missing many, many years ago. Now, as strange happenings and weird creatures begin to track Nate, he must partner with Tabitha, a local girl, to find out what they want with him. But time is running out, for a powerful force is gathering strength in the woods at the edge of town, and before long Nate and Tabitha will be forced to confront a terrifying foe, and uncover the truth about the Lost Boy.

 


The Daunting Nov TBR List



So today I have my TBR List for Nov to share with you and I actually have a vid!!! YAY!!! Also later today I have another vid for you which will be a review video for The Lost Boy Graphic Novel.  But anyway, let's get to it.  



Book List (Click on each title to go to the matching Goodreads Page) 


So there is my TBR list for Nov, I hope I can get through all of these books.  What's on your list for Nov???

Monday, October 28, 2013

Take a Breath...Watch a Vid



This is a meme that I have created.  Sometimes you just have to take a break from all the reading and how about watching a vid during that break.  

Today I'm sharing the newest and final Catching Fire Trailer.  This one is stunning and I love it!!!


Wednesday, October 23, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday #28



Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine where she spotlights upcoming releases.

 This Week I'm Waiting On: 


Ruins (Book 3 in the Partials Sequence)
Author: Dan Wells
Publisher: Balzer + Bray 
 Expected publication: March 11th 2014 



Tuesday, October 22, 2013

Teaser Tuesday: #36



Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:





  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teaser. 

Okay I know the rules say 2 teasers, but this is going to be more than a few lines.  I can't help it, this part is my favorite and I laughed so hard even though I knew it was coming. 

 
Aria's mouth went instantly dry. Standing in front of the classroom was Ezra from the bar. Ezra, the recipient of her haiku. Her Ezra, looking lanky and adorable in a Rosewood jacket and tie, his hair combed, his buttons buttoned correctly, and a leather-bound lesson planner under his left arm. Standing at the blackboard and writing...Mr. Fitz, AP English. He stared at her, his face draining of color. "Holy shit." The entire class turned around to see who he was looking at. Aria didn't want to stare back at them, so she looked down at her text message. Aria: Suprise! I wonder what your pig puppet will have to say about this...-A Holy shit, indeed.




Monday, October 21, 2013

To Be Read List (Week of 10/21/2013)



 
So you read the title of this post correct, I am revamping my To Be Read List posts.  I've been thinking of this for a long time and I really want to combine some of my favorite posts and make them mine.  So what I want to do is combine my weekly updates, my weekly reading posts, and Showcase Sunday posts all together.  So this is what I have come up with.  My To Be Read Lists will be a weekly post with all these combined.  This post is my first week of doing this.  I got some of this idea by checking out several of my favorite blogs, I have combined their ideas into one and now this is my To Be Read List Weekly Posts. 

(Blog Credits: Fiktshun,and Books Biscuits and Tea,)

So this past week I got a few great books.  Check out the great image below and the links to each book on Goodreads are under the image.   This week I got a few books from Scholastic and I want to say Thank you so much for these.  I also got a few books from a used bookstore to add to my collection and a book convention.  

Books Received for Review:


 INHUMAN by Kat Falls
Sorrow's Knot by Erin Bow
The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvator
Unfed by Kirsty McKay
Seeing Red by Kathryn Erskine
A Spark Unseen by Sharon Cameron
New Money by Lorraine Zago Rosenthal
The Infinity Ring #5 by Matthew J. Kirby
The 39 Clues #1 by Jade Watson 
The 39 Clues #2 by Clifford Riley
Spirit Animals Book 1 by Brandon Mull

Thursday, October 17, 2013

OH Lordy...This Book Has Me All HOTCHA CHA!

Review: Infinite Betrayal (Blood Fued #1)by Gayle Donnelly and Robyn Mackenzie


Title: Infinite Betrayal
Authors: Gayle Donnelly and Robyn Mackenzie
Publisher: Ellora's Cave
Format: Ebook

Book one in the Blood Feud series. Mina Roarke has always been told she is special. In what way, she’s never fully understood…until circumstances lead her down a path of adrenaline-charged danger and blazing sexual heat, and introduce her to a world she never knew existed. Mathias, a warrior for a secret shifter race known as the Coteri, has been ordered to protect Mina at all costs. Although his oath to protect her is paramount, can he rein in his animal instincts long enough to avoid claiming the one person he’s forbidden to have? Reader Advisory: This book contains brief scenes of torture with explicit sexual overtones that some readers might find offensive.





Wednesday, October 16, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday



Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine where she spotlights upcoming releases.

This Week I'm Waiting On: 


Faking Normal 
Author: Courtney C. Stevens
Publisher:  HarperCollins Children's Books  
Expected pub date: February 25th 2014 


Tuesday, October 1, 2013

Teaser Tuesday #35



Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:



  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teaser. 

Sunday, September 29, 2013

Ali's Week at A Glance and Showcase Sunday!




Alright, so this is my Week at a Glance and Showcase Sunday post for this week.  I haven't done one of these in a while but I really want to get back in the habit of posting a couple of these types a posts on the blog.  So here we go! 


THIS WEEK ON ALI'S BOOKSHELF

So this week I have been major sick with the flu, like a lot of people in my area but I did start Team Vampire by 

Wednesday, September 18, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday #26






Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

I usually don't do these posts but there are a lot of books coming out soon that I'm dying to read and share with you all so I figured why not post one of them today! 


Wednesday, September 11, 2013

Road Tripping


Review: Kiss of Death by Rachel Caine


In a Glance: Road tripping, with a typically Morganville twist



Title: Kiss of Death
Author: Rachel Caine
Publisher: Allison and Busby
Format: My own tatty paperback
Pages: 348 pages
ISBN #: 9780749007843
 
Authors WebsiteGoodreadsBuy This
Caine's back with a bang after the lacklustre performance as our favourite Morganville residents go on a road trip with a twist to Dallas. Of course, this being Morganville, things don't go exactly to plan, especially when Oliver escorts them and insists on a series of short stops that result in disaster and near death experiences for all involved. When they stumble upon the little town of Blacke, it appears there's a minor mystery to be solved as well. Put quite simply, it appears that wherever the Glass House residents go, death, danger and wanton destruction follows right behind them.









Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

Archive

This Blog is Protected..

myfreecopyright.com registered & protected

My Beautiful Blog was Designed by...

Ali's Bookshelf © 2011-present