Monday, July 24, 2017

Review: One Week With The Marine





Title: One Week With The Marine 
Author: Allison Gatta 
Publisher: Entangled Publishing (Brazen)
Series: Love On Location #1
Format: Ebook ARC
Date Published:  July 24th 2017
Date Read: July 16th through 21st
ASIN #: B073P12W2R

 Best friends with benefits…

Avery Forrester has never been the type to settle down—not to one place, not to one job, and certainly not to one man. Still, when her long-term best friend with benefits comes home on leave with a plan—including marriage and children—she realizes she’ll have to do something drastic in order to keep him. Luckily, drastic is what she does best.

…isn’t enough anymore.

U.S. Marine Holden Morris has never backed down from a challenge. And this time, that challenge is persuading wild child Avery Forrester, the woman he’s loved his entire life, to marry him. He wants the whole deal—a wife, a family. But convincing her to become a military wife won’t be easy. Then again, he knows Avery—in every way possible. Armed with that kind of knowledge—carnal and otherwise--how can he possibly fail?




 One Week With The Marine was exactly what I was hoping it would be. The perfect read while on vacation, well a perfect read period. I loved reading every word and can't wait to read more from this fantastic author.

The writing style of this fantastic author, Allison Gatta, is one that flows easily and makes it really simple to read and makes you want to keep turning each page to see what's about to happen. I love books like that don't you? Books that you just have to keep going to find out what's going to happen next. If so then this book is perfect for you.

Now it's a little steamy and I must say Holden has become one of my new book boyfriends. I swear ladies, you will thank me for recommending this one to you. You know I don't give any spoilers, but let's just put it this way, my favorite scene in this one involves a strangers car, an airport and the Marine!

The characters themselves really had me rooting for them to get together, even though she doesn't want to admit she really cares.  There are times when I really connected with Avery and how she was feeling. She didn't want to get hurt and she knew he was going to have to leave again. That's something I think all of us feel at least a few times in our lives. I love when you can really root for characters to get together. I need more books like this one in my life. I can't wait to read more of this series and more from this author
.
There were two characters though that I must confess that I hated! That was his mother and his father. I wanted to jump into the book and shake them a few times. They really got on my nerves, but again it added to the story line and of course I love that about the writing style as well. There's always a villain and I'm pretty sure they fit the word to a tee.

All in all, One Week With The Marine was spectacular and I hope you will feel the same when you take the time to read this one. I know I wasn't disappointed in the least.





I'm going to have to give One Week With The Marine an Ali's Bookshelf...











 Here at Ali's Bookshelf we accept books in exchange for a honest review. The book above is one that I bought for myself. I also use Amazon Affiliate links at times.



It's Monday...What Are You Reading?



This meme started with J Kaye's Blog and then was taken up by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn at the Book Date.  It's a meme where you share what you read last week, what you're currently reading and what you plan on reading that week.





So this week is BookTube-A-Thon and I've already posted my TBR for that one, so I'm only going to be showing one of the books I plan to read this week. The book is one I'm going to read, only if I get through the others that are on my list. Not sure that will happen, but we shall see! 

What I'm Reading Today 


Kissing Max Holden by Katy Upperman 

(This one is for a blog tour.)


  Kissing Max Holden was a terrible idea...

After his father has a life-altering stroke, Max Holden isn't himself. As his long-time friend, Jillian Eldridge only wants to help him, but she doesn't know how. When Max climbs through her window one night, Jill knows that she shouldn't let him kiss her. But she can't resist, and when they're caught in the act by her dad, Jill swears it'll never happen again. Because kissing Max Holden is a terrible idea.

With a new baby sibling on the way, her parents fighting all the time, and her dream of culinary school up in the air, Jill starts spending more and more time with Max. And even though her father disapproves and Max still has a girlfriend, not kissing Max is easier said than done. Will Jill follow her heart and allow their friendship to blossom into something more, or will she listen to her head and stop kissing Max Holden once and for all?




So this weeks post is really small, but if you want to check out the rest of the books on my BookTube-a-Thon list you can click here! 






Sunday, July 23, 2017

This Week at a Glance



This post is a chance to showcase some things that happened here on the blog this week and some things that happened in real life this week. Also it's to showcase some of the amazing books that I recieved as well as read. 
 

 


This week has been amazing! I'm still down in Florida and my lovely, amazing, spectacular friend came up to see me.  We both got to tick something off our bucket lists and we did it together. 
 
 









I had so much fun! The bottom two are with our guides John and Amelia. They were hilarious. We went flying through 9 zip lines, 2 rope bridges and a repel. The views were so beautiful and everywhere you looked was something even more amazing. This was something that had been on my bucketlist for so long and I'm so happy that I got to do this with one of my best friends! I was super excited to see her and get to spend a few days with her. Britta we have to do this again and soon!!! 





Book I Received This Week
 
 
 This Week I've Been Reading
 
 
(I'm almost finished with this one and can't wait to share my thoughts with you.)  
 
 
 In Case You Missed It 
 
 
 

What You Might See This Upcoming Week
 
Review: One Week With The Marine 
Elemental Lies Book Blitz 
Review: Paper Princess 
Review: Broken Prince 
August TBR 
Book-tube-a-thon is this week!  
 

On Instagram

(If you don't follow me on Instagram, you can CLICK HERE to do so! I post a lot of book and life stuff.)





 This week has been a blast and I can't wait for this upcoming week to start!  How was your week? I'd love to hear from you. Comment below!


 

Saturday, July 22, 2017

Sittin on the Shelf


So Sitten on the Shelf is a post that I added to my blog a long time ago and it's one that I really want to bring back for many reasons. One of those reasons is that my TBR pile is huge, like extreamly huge and I need to start reading these books or unhauling them. So that's the main goal with the new Sittin on the Shelf here at Ali's Bookshelf. When I first started posting these posts here on Ali's Bookshelf I had gotten the idea from a great blogging friend. Her blog was On My Reading Pile, but sadly she's not blogging anymore there.

Then the other day I found a similar post over at Kimberlyfaye Reads and her TBR Thursday posts made me really want to bring back this post. So a huge thanks to her for that. If you haven't read her blog, you really should! Her posts are fantastic! Her blog is quickly becoming one of my favorite blogs.

I have a few questions that I'm going to answer for each book and then I'm going to ask your opinion. I would love to hear your thoughts about these books.  Seriously, I need your help!!!







Title: Brightest Kind of Darkness
Author: P.T. Michelle
Publisher: Patrice Michelle
Published:  June 27th 2011
Format: Ebook
Pages: 357 pages
 Nara Collins is an average sixteen-year-old, with one exception: every night she dreams the events of the following day. Due to an incident in her past, Nara avoids using her special gift to change fate…until she dreams a future she can’t ignore.

After Nara prevents a bombing at Blue Ridge High, her ability to see the future starts to fade, while people at school are suddenly being injured at an unusually high rate.

Grappling with her diminishing powers and the need to prevent another disaster, Nara meets Ethan Harris, a mysterious loner who seems to understand her better than anyone. Ethan and Nara forge an irresistible connection, but as their relationship heats up, so do her questions about his dark past.

This book has been on my Kindle for a long time, since 2011 and I think it's way past time to read it. What do you all think? It does have a lot of pages and with the other one I have to read, we shall see if I can pull this off.

  Why I haven't read this book yet?

When I got this book I was super excited to read it and fell in love with the cover, but I think it fell the wayside due to other review books. Back then I was really pushing those review books and sometimes books that I wanted to read, were pushed aside. Which of course I know now was a huge mistake!


 What I Plan On Doing?

The plan is to read this in August! Not sure I'll be able to pull it off with all the others that I have to read, but I'm going to really try my hardest. I don't want to get rid of this one, so we shall see.


What Do You All Think? 

What do you think about my plan? Have you read this book? If so let me know your thoughts in the comments! I really want to know your thoughts.


Friday, July 21, 2017

BookTube-A-Thon TBR




So BookTube-A-Thon starts next week and I'm super excited to participate again. Even though I'll be traveling one of the days, I still want to get some reading finished throughout the whole thing. So one of my books will be an audio book (Of course lol). I'm also going to try to get through the reading challenges just not sure that will happen, but hey it's a goal right? Anyway, it's time to show the books I plan to read. 







Let's talk about the reading challenges first! 


  • 1. Read a Book with a Person on the cover. 
For this challenge I chose the book that I'm adding to my Sittin on the Shelf Challenge for next month.  Which clearly has a person on the cover!






  • 2. Read a Hyped Book 
For this one, I had to think about it for a few minutes. I have so many books to read that would work for this one, but in the end I chose one that I had heard so much about when it came out and I have been dying to start it.







  • 3. Finish a Book in One Day
For this challenge I'm going to do this one for my audio book and the day I'll be traveling. It's also a hyped book lol.







  • 4. Read a Book About a Character Whose Really Different Than You
Since again, I'll be traveling on Tuesday, I'm going to add another audio book to this list since The Lightning Thief isn't that long.  I have a sixteen hour drive that day so the this challenge will cover the second book.






  • 5. Finish A Book Completely Outside 
For this book I'm hoping I'll be home and can finish this on my front porch. It's only 104 pages so it won't be too bad!





 

 
  •  6. Finish a Book You Bought Because of the Cover
I don't usually buy books just because of the cover, but this book was one that I bought at #RAGT2017 and I loved the cover and of course the author. So I guess it counts right?

 

  • 7. Finish 7 Books in 7 Days 
Not sure I can finish all 7, but like I said I'm going to try really hard. The last book is a really short one and even the author called them Netflix books lol. I've already finished the first and I think it's time to read the second.






 




Book Blogger Hop #22







Book Blogger Hop is another post I'm going to be trying out and this one has a topic each week, which is something I've been trying to bring to the blog.  I'm really excited about this one because I have a hard time coming up with something fresh to talk about and I'm hoping this helps.


If you would be interested in doing your own post, please CLICK HERE to learn more about this great hop! 





 
This Weeks Topic:  
 
 Have you ever read a book or books you would consider 'toxic' because of the effect it(they) had on you? If so, which one(s)? (submitted by Maria @ A Night's Dream of Books)
 
Yes I've read several books that I would call Toxic, but not really. The one I can really remember of course is 13 Reasons Why, I cried for weeks about that book and another one would be Don't Breath A Word by Holly Cupala. That book is one that has stayed with me ever since I finished the last word.  I really wouldn't call these toxic books, but at the same time I cried so many times while reading both of these. 
 
 
 
 


Thursday, July 20, 2017

Review: Fractures in Ink






Title: Fractures in Ink 
Author: Helena Hunting
Publisher: Everafter Romance
Format: Ebook
Pages: 269 pages
Date Published: November 14th 2016
Date Read: Feb. 3rd through 4th, 2017
Series: Clipped Wings #3
ISBN #:B01KMN3UYW

Sometimes the things we shouldn't want become exactly what we need...

Waitressing at a seedy strip club isn't ideal, but it pays Sarah Adamson's tuition. Her goal is to finish her master's program and get a job that doesn't involve tight skirts and groping hands. She doesn't need distractions. Especially not the one that comes in the form of a hot-as-sin tattoo artist who works across the street from her apartment.

Kicked out at sixteen, and a high school dropout, Chris Zelter is familiar with wanting things he can't have. His fractured life has never been easy. As the product of someone else's bad decisions, he knows exactly what happens when the wrong person controls your marionette strings. Now an accomplished tattoo artist in a renowned studio in Chicago, Chris has it together.

Mostly.

Apart from his infatuation with Sarah. She's way out of his league, and Chris knows it.
But he's willing to be her bad decision. At least for now






 Fractures in Ink, hmm how can I sum up how amazing this book and the whole series really is, I don't know but I'm going to give it a shot. I finished this book in one day! Fractures in Ink's main characters are two of the secondary characters from the first two books and their story was one that as I read the first two I was hoping she would write their story as well.

I was so happy when I realized that this book was Sarah's and Chris's story. To see/read more of their backstories and get to know them more as the main characters was great and I really loved getting to know more about Sarah herself. Getting to read why she chose the job that she did and also getting to know more about the other characters backgrounds in this book as well, really made me love it even more.

There really isn't much more that I can say about the writing style of this book that I haven't already said in other reviews of this series. I loved reading every single word of this book and all the others. I must say the dynamic is so different between Sarah and Chris than it is between Tenley and  Hayden. Which grabbed my attention right away, amongst so many other things about this book. 

If you haven't read any of author Helena Hunting's books, it's a must. Especially if you enjoy something different and books that showcase two people that have crazy pasts but connect with each other.





I'm giving Fractures in Ink an Ali's Bookshelf...









Here at Ali's Bookshelf we accept books in exchange for a honest review. The book above is one that I bought for myself. I also use Amazon Affiliate links at times.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

Archive

This Blog is Protected..

myfreecopyright.com registered & protected

Blogoversary

Get your own free Blogoversary button!

My Beautiful Blog was Designed by...

Ali's Bookshelf © 2011-present