Friday, November 30, 2012

Review: The Lost Prince by Selden Edwards


Review: The Lost Prince by Selden Edwards



IN A GLANCE: This one did not disappoint!


Title: The Lost Prince
Author: Selden Edwards
Publisher: Dutton Adult
Format: ARC
Pages:  448 pages
ISBN #: 0525952942

Authors WebsiteGoodreadsBuy This
From the author of the beloved New York Times bestselling novel The Little Book, comes a novel about a love that is capable of bridging unfathomable distances. Recently returned from the experience of a lifetime in fin de siècle Vienna, where she met and tragically lost the first great love of her life, Eleanor Burden has no choice but to settle into her expected place in society, marry the man she is supposed to marry, and wait for life to come to her. As the twentieth century approaches, hers is a story not unlike that of the other young women she grew up with in 1890s Boston—a privileged upbringing punctuated by a period of youthful adventure and followed by the inevitable acknowledgment of real life—except for one small difference: Eleanor possesses an unshakable belief that she has advance knowledge of every major historical event to come during her lifetime. But soon the script of events she has written in her mind—a script described by no less than Sigmund Freud as the invented delusions of a hysteric—begins to unravel. Eleanor Burden, at once fragile and powerful, must find the courage of her deepest convictions, discover the difference between predetermination and free will, secure her belief in her own sanity, and decide whether she will allow history to unfold come what may—or use her extraordinary gifts to bend history to her will and deliver for her the life she knows she is meant to have.





Tuesday, November 27, 2012

Teaser Tuesday #30




Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teaser.
 
 

Sunday, November 25, 2012

Blog Tour: Dog-Ma: The Zen of Slobber Guest Post and Interview




So today I have another great tour for you all.  Dog-Ma: The Zen of Slobber is a great book and today I have a guest post from the author to share.  Below you will find the guest post, author information and book information as well.  Enjoy! 




There was a time that I thought that writing my book was the hard work. Then I started trying to get it reviewed and sold and found that the REAL work had just begun. It’s tough out there. Blogging, book signings, press releases...oh my...
Promoting for me is fun. It stems from 30+ years in the retail business, first as an underling working for some amazing teachers and then as a business owner. I know I love to sell.

Because of my subject matter – dogs – and my personal struggle with breast cancer I have many outlets to hawk my books. I have been able to lock down book signings at the usual places; libraries and bookstores and at some unconventional ones like veterinarian offices and pet food stores. If there are people gathered in a group, I will talk to them and try to sell books. A book hoar, some would say...

Thursday, November 22, 2012

Forged Tour: Author Interview with author Becky Banks




Today I have a great tour to share with all of you.  Forged by Becky Banks is an amazing book and today I have a great author interview with this fabulous author.  Thank you so much, Becky, for sharing this wonderful interview and your amazing book with us. 





  Can you tell us something interesting about your writing process?

I write naked, outside. The wind across my bare skin is an infinite fountain of creative energy that inspires my work.     

Just kidding. I live in the soggy Northwest, if I wrote outside I’d be electrocuted, not to mention being naked in 40 degree weather is torture, not inspiration. Though, my neighbors might find inspiration in it! Really though, I’m just your average writer. I do write with music and I write by the seat of my pants. That is, I write as the story unfolds in my mind. That does have its drawbacks though, as I’ve been known to rewrite an entire novel multiple times until it comes out right. Which, can be a pain in the ass! 

 Where did the idea for your book come from?

Forged was inspired from all the stories my girlfriends have shared with me over the years. It seems inevitable that three glasses of wine in on a girl’s night, the topic of first loves will emerge. I thought about it for days until Eva and Nate formed up in my mind and the novel was born. 

Wednesday, November 21, 2012

Blog Tour: Spook House by Michael West Book Excerpt





So today I have an awesome blog tour to share with all of you.  Author Michael West is touring his amazing new book Spook House and this is one of his stops.  So excited! 

Below you will find an excerpt from his new book and some of the art inside the book as well.  Make sure you check this book out!


Title: Spook House
Author: Michael West
Publisher: Seventh Star Press


There are some places in this world that go far beyond any normal definition of “haunted.” These places are so evil, so diabolical, that they become gateways to Hell itself. The Fuller Farm is one such place. It is said that old man Fuller conducted unspeakable acts, blood rituals and human sacrifices, all in an attempt to gain the ultimate knowledge, the ultimate power. And then, he was killed–horribly murdered on his own lands, leaving the house to stand as a vacant monument to his wickedness. But once a door is opened, it can never really be closed. Now, the stars are right. The gateway is ready to once more unleash unspeakable horror upon the town of Harmony, Indiana. And this will be one Halloween that they will never forget!



Tuesday, November 20, 2012

Jitterbug PR is looking for some Tour Hosts!!


Hey everyone, well you all know that I have started my own little PR/Marketing/blog tour business called Jitterbug PR.  Right now, I am searching for some great bloggers that would like to be tour hosts for Jitterbug PR and would love some of my great blogging friends to check it out and hopefully be a tour hosts for us.






I do promise this to all my tour hosts, Jitterbug PR is one of the most organized blog tour companies you will ever post tours for.  I have everything set up perfectly where its all set for you, except for reviews of course.  lol That's all you! But, we do make sure you have everything you need and we send out reminder emails the week of the tour.  

We really hope you will check it out and become a tour host!!! We have some really great tours coming up real soon!




Tuesday, November 13, 2012

Blog Tour: In The Red by Selah Janel Author Interview



So today I have a great tour for you today.  Its a author interview with Selah Janel.  Check out her amazing answers to the questions that I just had to ask her. 




Can you tell us something interesting about your writing process?

I sometimes use a little bit of the sense memory technique I learned in acting in my writing. I want my characters to be emotionally believable, so at times if I’m stuck I try to think of a time and a place that I felt something that meshes up with how I want my character to feel. That’s not saying that situations in the book are things that I’ve been through – far from in. I have tried to find ways to line up how characters react to things, though, to things I’ve felt or been through in the past, so that it doesn’t come off as cliché or unrealistic. 

Monday, November 12, 2012

Cover Reveal: Broken Hearts & Dusty Dreams





Alright so today, I have a great cover reveal for you.  Below you will find the cover for Broken Hearts & Dusty Dreams by Lisa Bilbrey.  This is one of the great stories in the new Sugarplum Dreams book.  So check out this great cover and synopsis below.  


Thursday, November 8, 2012

Blog Tour: The Liar Society The Lies That Bind Guest Post




I'm so excited about today, I have a great guest post for you by the authors of The Liar Society! Plus later on today I will be posting my review of the second book in the series The Lies That Bind. 

So sit back and enjoy this great guest post! 



Top Ten Stupid Mistakes Villains Make:  
Kate dissects and lists the mindless mistakes that Pemberly Brown’s secret societies make while attempting to sneak around the campus



Kate Lowry here from THE LIES THAT BIND. Today, I want to share with you my top ten list of stupid mistakes villains make.

Tuesday, November 6, 2012

Review: Traitor Angel by H. David Blalock


Review: Traitor Angel by H. David Blalock



IN A GLANCE: Very Different, and a very fast read!

Title: Traitor Angel
Author: H. David Blalock
Publisher: Seventh Star Press
Format: Ebook
Pages: 228 pages
ISBN #:  1937929736

Authors WebsiteGoodreadsBuy This
In the second book of the Angelkiller Triad, Traitor Angel, the war between The Army of Light and The Enemy continues behind the scenes. Unknown to the general population, the battle for control of humanity is heating up. Jonah Mason, called Angelkiller, faces more than one decision. His Army resistance cell is wounded physically and emotionally, on the brink of falling apart. The mysterious allies calling themselves Knights are pressuring him to abandon his people. Meanwhile, the world outside draws closer to Armageddon. As Mason and his friends pursue their campaign against Dorian Azrael's global megacorporation, Andlat Enterprises, the stakes get higher with each desperate foray into the enemy's computers. They are fated to lose one of their number and gain an unlikely ally, but any advantage they gain could be fleeting at best. If they fail, it could mean the end of The Army and all resistance to the forces of Darkness.





Friday, November 2, 2012

Review: Moonlight and Oranges by Elise Stephens


Review: Moonlight and Oranges by Elise Stephens


IN A GLANCE: I enjoyed reading this one.

Title: Moonlight and Oranges
Author: Elise Stephens
Publisher: Booktrope Editions
Format: Ebook
Pages:  220 pages
ISBN #:  1935961357

Authors WebsiteGoodreadsBuy This
A timeless tale of young romance. Lorona Connelly is ready for a change from her carefully planned, bookish life. When sparks fly at a costume party, she embraces a chance for romance with the handsome Kestrin Feather. However, she quickly realizes that even love and destiny may not be enough to overcome the reality of an overprotective mother-in-law and Kestrin's long, tarnished history of relationships. When Lorona's curiosity leads her to Kestrin's journal, doubt plagues them both with insecurities and threatens the relationship. Can true love overcome the odds, or was their whirlwind romance just a frivolous crush? Author Elise Stephens shares a journey of young love, fate, and wounded trust in the story of Lorona and Kestrin, a couple who must learn to overcome their fears to share a life together.


Blog Tour: Moonlight and Oranges Giveaway and Book Info




Alright so today, I have a great blog tour to share with all of you.  I will be posting this post that will have the book, author information and a giveaway.  Then I will be posting my review of this great book as well.  So let's sit back and relax, time for some book fun! 



Book Information


A timeless tale of young romance. Lorona Connelly is ready for a change from her carefully planned, bookish life. When sparks fly at a costume party, she embraces a chance for romance with the handsome Kestrin Feather. However, she quickly realizes that even love and destiny may not be enough to overcome the reality of an overprotective mother-in-law and Kestrin’s long, tarnished history of relationships. When Lorona’s curiosity leads her to Kestrin’s journal, doubt plagues them both with insecurities and threatens the relationship. Can true love overcome the odds, or was their whirlwind romance just a frivolous crush? Author Elise Stephens shares a journey of young love, fate, and wounded trust in the story of Lorona and Kestrin, a couple who must learn to overcome their fears to share a life together.

Review: Time Between Us by Tamara Ireland Stone


Review: Time Between Us by Tamara Ireland Stone


IN A GLANCE: Mind blowing and stunning.

Title: Time Between Us
Author: Tamara Ireland Stone
Publisher: Hyperion
Format: ARC (Southern ARC Tours)
Pages: 384  Pages
ISBN #: 142315956X

Authors WebsiteGoodreadsBuy This
Anna and Bennett were never supposed to meet: she lives in 1995 Chicago and he lives in 2012 San Francisco. But Bennett has the unique ability to travel through time and space, which brings him into Anna’s life, and with him a new world of adventure and possibility. As their relationship deepens, the two face the reality that time may knock Bennett back to where he belongs, even as a devastating crisis throws everything they believe into question. Against a ticking clock, Anna and Bennett are forced to ask themselves how far they can push the bounds of fate, what consequences they can bear in order to stay together, and whether their love can stand the test of time. Fresh, exciting, and deeply romantic, Time Between Us is a stunning, spellbinding debut from an extraordinary new voice in YA fiction.


Review: The Lost Daughter of Easa by J.L. Mulvihill


Review: The Lost Daughter of Easa by J.L. Mulvihill



IN A GLANCE: Fantastic, Fabulous, and written so lovely!

Title: The Lost Daughter of Easa
Author: J.L. Mulvihill
Publisher: Kerlak Publishing
Format: Paperback
Pages: 339 Pages
ISBN #: 1937035050

Authors WebsiteGoodreadsBuy This
After falling through a portal, seventeen-year-old Elsie Lind awakens with amnesia and lost in a forest. She must draw on her instincts of self-preservation to escape ravenous wild beasts, goblins, demons, and a dark witch who knows the secret of her past.Locked deep within Elsie's mind are haunting dreams and childhood memories that hold the key to her survival. She is now in the battle of her life; the struggle to claim her identity. However, bad choices and trusting in the wrong sort of guidance leave her a criminal on the run. Now, in this medieval realm where magic influences technology and beings of folklore are as real as the demons they fight, an ancient threat endangers the entire land. Her struggle allies her with two brothers conflicting with their own character flaws and dislike for each other. Between these three unlikely companions, an evil must be stopped before its power takes hold of Authora and The Lost Daughter of Easa.


Thursday, November 1, 2012

Review: Dream of Legends by Stephen Zimmer



Review: Dream of Legends by Stephen Zimmer


IN A GLANCE: Marvelous and remarkable.

Title: Dream of Legends
Author: Stephen Zimmer
Publisher: Seventh Star Press
Format: Paperback
Pages: 746 Pages
ISBN #: 0983108625


Authors WebsiteGoodreadsBuy This
Dream of legends, and soar across the world of Ave! For Janus and the other exiles from a modern world, finding themselves in the fantastical lands of Ave was just the beginning. The assault upon the Kingdom of Saxany and the tribes of the Five Realms ignites, as the eyes of The Unifier turn southward, across the seas towards faraway Midragard. A desperate, dangerous time looms, when all will be swept up in the tides of war rippling out from Avanor. Yet in the heart of the maelstrom, several lights begin to shine through the darkness. Some are on a path of discovery, to uncover the power that lies within, while others will brave perilous journeys, to seek out the things said to exist only in the faded mists of myth and legend. In the face of monstrous adversaries, massive armies, and even horrific entities summoned from infernal depths, courage and honor become the sword and shield in the hands of those who choose to resist. Book Two of the Fires in Eden Series, Dream of Legends is immersive, epic fantasy, for those who love to explore richly developed fantasy worlds alongside an ensemble of intriguing, diverse characters. Readers of the great epic fantasy authors such as Robert Jordan, George R.R. Martin, Steven Erikson, and J.R.R. Tolkien will find a wondrous trove of adventure, characters, and depth in this next step of the Fires in Eden series.



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

Archive

This Blog is Protected..

myfreecopyright.com registered & protected

My Beautiful Blog was Designed by...

Ali's Bookshelf © 2011-present