Friday, March 23, 2018

Book Blogger Hop #34

Book Blogger Hop is another post I'm going to be trying out and this one has a topic each week, which is something I've been trying to bring to the blog.  I'm really excited about this one because I have a hard time coming up with something fresh to talk about and I'm hoping this helps.

If you would be interested in doing your own post, please CLICK HERE to learn more about this great hop! 

Oooh interesting topic this week...

23rd - 29th - When meeting with friends, do your discussions usually turn to books? (submitted by Maria @ A Night's Dream of Books)
For me it depends on the friend. I have serveral friends that don't enjoy reading as much as me and after awhile they tend to get annoyed if I bring up books too much LOL. But then I have a few great friends who love books and we can talk about them all day. Have to say those are my favorite kind of friends. 

Thursday, March 22, 2018

Review: Every Heart A Doorway

Every Heart A Doorway by Seanan McGuire 
Published: April 5th 2016
Format: Hardback
Pages: 173 pages
ISBN #: 0765385503
Challenges: Goodreads, 2018 Bookish Resoulution
Date Read: Feb. 13th 2018

Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children
No Solicitations
No Visitors
No Quests

Children have always disappeared under the right conditions; slipping through the shadows under a bed or at the back of a wardrobe, tumbling down rabbit holes and into old wells, and emerging somewhere... else.

But magical lands have little need for used-up miracle children.

Nancy tumbled once, but now she’s back. The things she’s experienced... they change a person. The children under Miss West’s care understand all too well. And each of them is seeking a way back to their own fantasy world.

But Nancy’s arrival marks a change at the Home. There’s a darkness just around each corner, and when tragedy strikes, it’s up to Nancy and her new-found schoolmates to get to the heart of the matter.

No matter the cost.

I'm not even sure where to start this review when it comes to this book and how much I loved it! When I was a kid I loved the books where children walked through wardrobes or flew over the rainbow to other worlds, they were ultimately my favorite books. This book/series takes it a step forward to what happens after they come back and that I absolutely love!

Let's talk about the plot first, like I said above it's one that I can't get enough of and honestly I can't wait to read the next two books. I'm hoping the author writes more books in this series. I need to know what happened to all of the characters in this book. Especially Jack and Jill, which are two side characters, but they are both so interesting. The main plot is one that caught my attention right away, even the first page caught my attention right away and the best thing about these books is that they aren't very long but they are jam packed full of plot/story.

I connected with each of these characters right away even though you really don't get to know that much about them in the first book. You do get to know Nancy a little and Miss West a lot more toward the end of book one, but the rest of the characters not so much. Which made me want to read more of this series even more.

Now I want to talk about the writing style of this amazing author, her style is one that took me a few minutes, yep only a few minutes, to get used to. It's a little different than others and honestly I love that. I get so bored when it comes to the cookie cutter writing I've been reading lately, I've been needing something new and this was it. I couldn't get enough of this book and I'm so happy there are more to read. (Spoiler: I've already read the next one by the time your reading this review lol)

 I must not forget the world building that this wonderful author has created and it's not just one world it's a few, one for each child or siblings and that in itself had to be so incredibly hard. I don't know how she did this but I'm so thankful that she did. Nothing is generic either, each one has all these little details that are just perfection and even in the first book you see that. Just another way to pull you in as an reader.

I have to mention the covers of this series! OMG I mean look above at the one for this book, it's amazing and beautifully done! They are some of the prettiest and daunting covers I've ever seen. Just adding more want for me to read them. 

All in all this is a wonderful and fast read that I couldn't get enough of. I can't wait to see what happens next in this series! If you haven't read this series, I highly recommend it and is now on the top of my list of to finish series.

 Hi! I'm Seanan McGuire, author of the Toby Daye series (Rosemary and Rue, A Local Habitation, An Artificial Night, Late Eclipses), as well as a lot of other things. I'm also Mira Grant (, author of Feed and Deadline.

Born and raised in Northern California, I fear weather and am remarkably laid-back about rattlesnakes. I watch too many horror movies, read too many comic books, and share my house with two monsters in feline form, Lilly and Alice (Siamese and Maine Coon).

Over all I'm giving Every Heart a Doorwary a Ali's Bookshelf...

Plot: 20/20
Writing: 20/20
Creativity: 20/20
Characters: 19/20
Ending: 10/10
Cover: 10/10

 Here at Ali's Bookshelf we accept books in exchange for a honest review. However, the book above was one that I bought and decided to review. We also use Amazon Affiliate links at times.

Wednesday, March 21, 2018

Ali Talks: Reading Your Backlist

Ali Talks is where I get to share my thoughts on different subjects from blogging to read and even sometimes life itself. So let's get to it, today I want to talk about reading our backlist. You know those books that have been sitting on our shelves for years and we really meant to get to them but we haven't. 

This year I made a goal for myself to do just that, to read the books that are on my shelf and ones that have been there for awhile. I can't say that I've really done much of that, but I am starting in April to read more of the books that are on my shelf. My TBR shelf is really getting rather large and overflowing with books that I once said I really want to read soon and now they just sit there. It makes me sad, so again I'm telling myself it's time to read those books. 

Am I the only one that do this? My excuse is always "There are just so many amazing books coming out this year so the other ones will be read later." Or I'll say "I'll read that one next." Then of course another amazing book is released and the cycle starts all over again. Please tell me I'm not the only one that does this. I really want to get out of that cycle though and I have a plan to start at least reading one book that's sitting there every month from now on. I won't be posting a TBR post for these, just like I've been saying all year, no TBR posts will be made, but I plan to read books on my shelf. I did create a post about the books that have been on my shelves the longest. You can find that post HERE. So hopefully you all won't mind seeing some older books in my reviews. 

This is actually a goal that I have set a few times in the past, I'm just hoping I can stick to it this time. But at the same time, I'm trying to keep reading fun this year, so I think I'm going to just pick up the books without re-reading the back cover or summary. I've found that makes it better when reading. 

So that is my plans for reading my backlist of books, how do you handle those books sitting on your shelf for so long? 


Tuesday, March 20, 2018

Review: Hello Stranger

Today I'm so thrilled to share my thoughts with you about a great book called Hello Stranger by Lisa Kleypas. 

Hello Stranger by Lisa Kleypas 
Published: February 27th 2018
Publisher:  Avon
Format: Paperback ARC
Pages: 375 pages
Challenges: Goodreads Challenge
Read Date: March 16th 2018
ISBN #: 0062371916

A woman who defies her time

Dr. Garrett Gibson, the only female physician in England, is as daring and independent as any man—why not take her pleasures like one? Yet she has never been tempted to embark on an affair, until now. Ethan Ransom, a former detective for Scotland Yard, is as gallant as he is secretive, a rumored assassin whose true loyalties are a mystery. For one exhilarating night, they give in to their potent attraction before becoming strangers again.

A man who breaks every rule

As a Ravenel by-blow spurned by his father, Ethan has little interest in polite society, yet he is captivated by the bold and beautiful Garrett. Despite their vow to resist each other after that sublime night, she is soon drawn into his most dangerous assignment yet. When the mission goes wrong, it will take all of Garrett's skill and courage to save him. As they face the menace of a treacherous government plot, Ethan is willing to take any risk for the love of the most extraordinary woman he's ever known.

First off, like always this will be a spoiler free review.  If I'm being honest, I don't usually read this genre, though I must say I loved this book! Though there were a few things that bothered me, I really enjoyed reading the story. I've never read anything by this author, so this was really new to me and I was suprised at how much I enjoyed it. I had been told for awhile now that this authors books are fantastic and had added her to a list of authors to read. I'm so glad I finally got a chance to do so.

The plot of this story is what really drew me in, yes it's not historically accurate in a few things, but even though it's not I still loved it. I was drawn right away to how strong the main character is and how she carried herself even in the first few paragraphs. I must say I didn't see a lot of the things happening that did in this story, which again I loved!

I wasn't expecting how romantic this book was though, I must say it was a bit much at first, but I got used to it. The other thing I really didn't like was the ending, it felt too perfect for my tastes, but then again it's not so bad that it took away from the story itself.

Another suprising part of this book was the funny bits that I didn't expect at all.  The main character has her flaws but who doesn't and that just made her even more real to me. Just another draw for this fanastic book.  I can't wait to read another book from this great author.

Over all this book is one that drew me in right away and I couldn't put it down. I want to read more from this author and from this genre now, which is something I didn't expect!

For Hello Stranger I'm rating it as a...

Here at Ali's Bookshelf we accept books in exchange for a honest review. The book above came from the publisher through Netgalley. We also use Amazon Affiliate links at times

Teaser Tuesday #129

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Books and a Beat. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other Teaser Tuesday participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teaser

 It was the mustache that reminded me I was no longer in England: a solid, gray millipede firmly obsuring the man's upper lip; a Village People mustache, a cowboy mustache, the miniature head of a broom that meant business. You just didn't get that kind of mustache at home. I couldn't tear my eyes from it.

I loved the first book in this series, the second one not so much, so I'm not really sure about this one yet. But so far it's pretty good. 


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...


This Blog is Protected.. registered & protected


Get your own free Blogoversary button!

My Beautiful Blog was Designed by...

Ali's Bookshelf © 2011-present