Sunday, June 24, 2018

Promo Blitz and Giveaway: Kingston Court








 photo KingstonCourt_cover3_zps931ilbxp.jpg
Contemporary Romance / Chick Lit
Available Now
Publisher: Acorn Publishing, LLC

 photo add-to-goodreads-button_zpsc7b3c634.png

** Top British book reviewer says Kingston Court has some of the best love scenes she’s ever read. **



Sometimes you have to fall to learn you can fly.

Samantha and Natalie are at a crossroads. Gorgeous, over-the-top Samantha, hides from her past by hanging her status and her happiness on her “perfect” husband. That is until she learns his secret.

But she’s not the only mother on the block struggling. Natalie, nurturing and careful, is thrust back into the workforce after her husband barely survives a near-fatal car accident.

This fast-paced novel follows the lives of two dramatically different women who are faced with life-altering experiences.

Death and misfortune in the span of a single year force these two women to either sink, or rediscover their inner strength and independence. Described as a modern day twist between Sex and the City and Desperate Housewives, Kingston Court is full of scandal, temptation, and all of life’s juicy little secrets.




 photo Kingston-Court-3D-ebookandregular_zps8cifuo60.jpg




NATALIE: MAY 22, 2014

I loved the Gaslamp Quarter at night. Here I got to wear heels instead of New Balance, trade my sweats for a little black dress and red lips. The city made me sexy.

It was a tranquil Thursday in late spring and I should have been hanging out with my mommy friends on Kingston Court. Once a week, without fail, we met up in the cul-de-sac with our kiddos in the evening to drink wine and catch up on all the neighborhood gossip. Tonight was special though. I had a date with my favorite man.

My husband Mark shifted the gears of our BMW as I peered up at the passing lights and giant fashion ads painted on the brick walls of San Diego’s classic building facades. Victorian era architecture mixed with modern skyscrapers. The din of traffic and dingy smell of the streets made me forget to worry over ladies’ night or our two children at home. At least for this moment, we were young again.

Mark slid a hand against my bare thigh as we slowed at a light. “Wanna ditch dinner and find a dark alley?”

The subtle streaks of his greying hair were hidden in the dimly lit sports sedan, turning him into a darker, more mysterious, version of himself. I laughed and leaned toward him, kissing the freckle below his ear. “Tempting. Very tempting. If I wasn’t so hungry I might take you up on that.”

I breathed in his citrus scented after-shave, as I wrapped my hand around his bicep. Mark flexed his arm and narrowed his green eyes at me. “You sure?” he teased in a low voice, almost like a growl. “I get all crazy when you dress like that.”

“Shoot.” My eyebrows sank as I glanced down at my open purse. A small green toothbrush sat on top of my wallet.

“What?”

“I have Ben’s toothbrush.”

My husband and I looked at each other in resignation.

“Jamie is watching him. Maybe it’ll be fine,” I said, though we both knew it wouldn’t.

Our five-year-old son could be difficult. His most recent obsession was brushing his teeth after every meal. I could think of worse things for him to be insistent upon, but going to bed without his toothbrush of choice wasn’t an option. It was only a matter of time before my best friend would call telling us to come home.

Mark’s tired face turned stoic without the charm of his smile. He pulled into the next u-turn lane to head back for the freeway.

“Are you mad?” I asked, reaching for his knee.

“Eh, we’ll just drop it off and swing by that Thai place you like.” He shrugged and took my hand, reverting back to the role of comforting husband.

I scrunched up my nose and removed the barrette holding back my shoulder length brown hair. We were celebrating my thirty-eighth birthday and there was nothing romantic about the Taste of Thai at our neighborhood strip mall.

The light in front of us turned green, and I brushed my hand against the back of his neck, hoping to be absolved of my guilt. “Maybe we can still—”

He turned to look at me. His eyes, focused only on mine, carried none of the fear I suddenly felt wash over me. In that single moment life froze. I needed to speak, to take the wheel, something. Instead, I watched the set of headlights outside Mark’s window get closer.

An intake of breath. A downpour of shattered glass. The sound of my scream as if it belonged to someone else.

The car lifted then tumbled. A dizzy Ferris wheel of lights …







 photo Holly looking away_zpsdokjxvah.jpg
Holly Kammier is a former journalist who has worked everywhere from CNN in Washington, D.C. and KCOP-TV in Los Angeles, to the NBC affiliate in small-town Medford, Oregon. A UCLA honors graduate, she is the author of the best-seller, Kingston Court, her debut novel.

Choosing Hope, her recently released novel, is a cross-over to Kingston Court with overlapping characters and locations.

The California native and mother of two, lives in San Diego, California close to her family and friends. Co-Founder of Acorn Publishing, Holly is available for speaking engagements and content editing.

You can visit her online at


Contact Links



Purchase Links




 
RABT Book Tours & PR

Friday, June 22, 2018

Book Blogger Hop #43








Book Blogger Hop is another post I'm going to be trying out and this one has a topic each week, which is something I've been trying to bring to the blog.  I'm really excited about this one because I have a hard time coming up with something fresh to talk about and I'm hoping this helps.

If you would be interested in doing your own post, please CLICK HERE to learn more about this great hop! 








20th - 26th - What's your proudest blogging milestone or achievement? (submitted by Cathy @ What Cathy Read Next
Well there are a few that I am proud of, mainly I'm proud that I've been able to blog like I have in the past couple of years. Yes I've had to take a few breaks but I still love it! Second, I'm proud of the amazing connections I've made with this blog. Going into a bookstore signing and the author and others around know my blog, now that makes me very proud! 

Thursday, June 21, 2018

Promo Blitz and Giveaway: Tribal Affairs






YA/Fantasy
Date Published: 07/31/17



Dahlia, a centuries old genie, lies hopelessly trapped in a damaged golden locket charm attached to an ankle bracelet. Its owner, sixteen-year-old Liana, wears it for the first time during her father Jamison’s opening night illusion spectacular. Not only does its presence cause Jamison to folly his performance, but it also starts a chain of bizarre events that lead to a showdown with Dahlia’s mortal enemy, Stefan, and an unsuspecting romance between Liana and his son.







He slowly turned away, changing the stance of his feet as if preparing his body for motion. That was it? Liana felt her emotional capital building back up and could think of only one thing to spend it on: getting what she came for. She looked at the collar of Stefan’s turtleneck as he walked away. It was time to go on the offensive. Liana turned and followed him offstage.

         Stefan entered the next room with the satisfaction of a hoarder returning to his nest. In fact, according to Jamison, the only reports of ever seeing him smile were at times when he was nestled comfortably among the scattered lumber, various tools, and bolts of muslin in this, his special room. Just as he was about to make another impression of his backside in a pile of sawdust on his chair, Liana bolted in like a superhero.

         “Wait, Stefan!” she called.

         He turned his head like an owl, and just as quick.

         “I wanted to make sure everything was okay with the harness.”

         “Oh, yes,” said Stefan. “I’m so sorry about what happened on opening night. It was a total fluke. I promise it won’t happen again. These brand-new harnesses are top-of-the-line.”

         “Great.”

         Liana began to notice the subtle tells in his body language and revealing tones of his voice. He was apologetic and submissive and would certainly help her.

         “Also,” she started, “I know this may seem a little strange, but, that tattoo on the back of your neck; I think I’ve seen it somewhere else before. What does it mean?”

         Stefan smiled. “That old thing? I got it back when I was in high school. I was a wild one back then.”

         Liana smiled, insisting on another answer.

         “It means about ten different things,” Stefan obliged.

         “Really?”

         “Yes, strange, isn’t it? Some ancient language, I forget the name of it. I’ve got a whole book of different translations in the back. Would you like to see it?”

         “Sure. I’d love to.”

         Stefan sauntered over to a large metal cabinet with Liana in tow. He seemed to glide across, around and through the mass of stuff about the room, while Liana dodged everything like navigating an obstacle course.

         “My wife says I collect too much crap, so I’ve started keeping things here at the theater.”

         He opened the large metal cabinet and began rummaging through piles of old dusty books. The search seemed to go on forever.

         “I don’t want to be a bother,” Liana said trying to come up with a suitable excuse to leave.

         “No, don’t be silly. It’s my pleasure.”

         Maybe so, but Liana began to regret her actions. The wrestling match wasn’t over, and reality had started gaining ground. Without a struggle, Liana gave up her dominant position and started to back away from Stefan. Assuming her place as the submissive, she was afraid to turn away from him and didn’t notice the door behind her closing.

         “You have her eyes, you know,” said Stefan.

         “What?”

         “Her eyes, the woman in your dreams.”

         As Liana began to panic, Stefan continued rummaging through the old books.

         “How do you know about—?”

         “I know everything about you.”

         He turned to look at her. He was different, no longer the slow-moving turtle but rather a dominant silverback gorilla. His shoulders bulged as his eyes pierced into Liana’s mind.

         “What do you mean?” said Liana.

         “You can see things with those eyes, can’t you?” he asked.

         Liana backed away as he gained ground on her.

         “Amazing things,” said Stefan. 

         His eyes became black, and Liana felt herself going into a trance. Images of the beautiful woman from her dreams and the elder man flashed into her head, she standing on the cliff and he advancing on her. Still, Liana couldn’t see his face. Why couldn’t she see his face? The images continued to flash, faster and faster; the beautiful woman, the elder man, the hanging man, the laughing band of ruffians, the beautiful woman, the elder man, the beautiful woman, the elder man, the elder man, the elder man. The images stopped. Liana looked directly in front of her and saw his face. It was him.

         “Xethalis,” she whispered.

         Stefan smiled. Liana thrust out her arms and pushed Stefan across the room with the strength of twenty men. His back slammed against the opposite wall, causing it to collapse on top of him.

            Liana’s trance broke. She looked down at her hands then across the room at Stefan, buried beneath the collapsed wall.







Matt Dallmann has a background in acting and holds a BFA from Marymount Manhattan College in New York City. His films and screenplays have been featured at film festivals across the United States including Cinequest, Big Apple Film Festival, Seattle’s True Independent Film Festival, DragonCon and Zero Independent Film Festival. His piano compositions have been published for commercial use and he is a member of ASCAP. Matt is also the Co-Founder and Vice President of the boutique medical billing firm VGA Billing Services, Inc. in New York City. He lives in New Jersey with his wife and two daughters.


Contact Links



Buy Links






RABT Book Tours & PR

Wednesday, June 20, 2018

Ali Talks: Dear Netgalley




You know the drill by now, but for those that haven't been around the blog long enough, Ali Talks are posts where I well get to chat about the things that are on my mind or chat about book related topics. Sometimes it's even blog related topics.

Today's topic is a small letter to Netgalley, which if you don't know it's a website that most of the bloggers I know use to get digital ARC's. I love the site, but there are a few things that I really wish they would add to their site. So this post is going to talk about those things!

Mainly I'm going to start off by saying that I do love Netgalley, it's a simple place to go for the books that are coming out soon and I'm dying to read/review. Like I said above, there are a few things that I wish they would add. So let's get to that list, shall we...



Dear Netgalley,

 First off this is just a small list of things that I wish you all would add to the site, things that I think would make it a lot easier for us reviewers.


1. Add to Goodreads - I really wish there was a way you could add an add to Goodreads button to each book page, this way we could just click that and it would add it automatically and honestly it would save me a lot of time trying to find the said book on Goodreads. I love that you have a way to add our reviews to Twitter and sometimes share them on Facebook even, but it would make it easier if we could share them on Goodreads as well.

2. A way to organize our review books - I wish there was a better way on the site to organize what books need to be read by what date. Right now it's so cluttered and I can't easily know that I have 5 books to read by July or August. There was supposed to be a weekly email sent out and I'm signed up for it, but I've never gotten it. I wish there was some way to make this part simpler. Right now I'm having to make a monthly list page in my bullet journal, don't get me wrong I love doing this, but it should be easier on the site as well.

3. Now, this isn't a complaint, I just wanted to say I love the new dashboard look! But maybe we could add the what's coming up next or a what you need to read next list to said dashboard to help with the organization problem I mentioned earlier.


That's really all the ideas I had like I said I love the site and it's a huge help, plus all the things you all have done lately has been a huge help, but there are a few things that I think would make it even easier for us reviewers. 


Sincerally, 

A helpful blogger! 









What are you're thoughts on Netgalley, do you have anything else to add? I would love to hear your thoughts, please share them in the comments below!






Tuesday, June 19, 2018

Promo Blitz: Catharsis








 photo Catharsis_zpsxc9byqc8.jpg
Fantasy, Adventure
Date Published:  December 2016
The Unleashing of the Unconscious Conflicts of Michael Anthony
Publisher: Page Publishing, Inc.

 photo add-to-goodreads-button_zpsc7b3c634.png

Catharsis is a story about a young black man trying to escape life in the United States of America and finding himself, love, and purpose in the wonderland of his mind. Michael Anthony, the main character, evolves from a most naive to a man of the world who is lost and alone. Along the way, he journeys to many places of wonder, meeting many people of color and temperament, and learning a lot about himself and life and living and love.







 photo Catharsis Author Michael Tyler_zpsiwj6fzgs.jpg
Mr. Michael Tyler was born in Richmond, VA, on the twelfth of March in the 1950 (he was only nine months old). He was reared in an environment full of racial and geopolitical fear. Black people were afraid of and hated White people, White people feared and hated Black people, and everyone was afraid that the USSR was going to blow up the world. Thus, life was tense and everyone was angry and trying to escape via God, the movies, vacationing, or drugs or alcohol or both. The cheapest escape was the church. Mr. Tyler took the cheapest route when he was baptized in the Cedar Street Memorial Baptist Church at the young age of twelve. At the age of eighteen, he graduated from Armstrong High School in June of 1968 and continued his post secondary education at the University of Science, Music, and Culture (USMC, campus of Vietnam). In 1972, Mr. Tyler attended Virginia Commonwealth University (VCU) and graduated with a baccalaureate in 1975. That same year, Mr. Tyler furthered his education by attending the University of Science and Agriculture (USA, campus of Europa). He acquired his Master of Arts degree in 2003 from the University of the District of Columbia (UDC, DC campus). Mr. Tyler, a handsome young, mature, and intelligent man is presently employed as an academician in Prince George's County, Maryland. Catharsis is Mr. Tyler's attempt at capturing some of his thoughts and experiences during the early years of his life.


Contact Links



Purchase Links

RABT Book Tours & PR

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

Archive

This Blog is Protected..

myfreecopyright.com registered & protected

Blogoversary

Get your own free Blogoversary button!

My Beautiful Blog was Designed by...

Ali's Bookshelf © 2011-present