Monday, October 31, 2011

100 Followers Giveaway!





Hey everyone...I'm so excited Ali's Bookshelf is almost to 100 followers! So here is what I plan to do.  Starting today when I hit 70, 80, 90 followers someone will get picked to win a bookmark that I have to giveaway! After that, as soon as I hit 100 followers Some random follower will win a prize pack of 5 books and bookmarks! I will Announce what the 5 books are as soon as I hit 90 followers!!! So make sure you hit that follow button!

Thanks so much...and Good Luck!!! 


Its Monday...What are you reading?





Guess what...Its Monday! What are you reading this week? This is a weekly event to list the books completed last week, the books currently being reading, and the books to be finish this week. It is hosted by Book Journey. 



I had a good week last week, but not great! I participated in Bout of Books read-a-thon, but only got 3 of the 6 books read that I wanted to read.  So mainly I will be working on getting that list read this week! I wont be able to read much, becuase as most of you know I am a college student and I have  to take a National Board test on Friday.  But I will be reading some this week as my break from studying.  (I don't think I would be able to go a whole week without reading something lol)

So this is the list of books I have read this past week and ones I plan to read this week!

Sunday, October 30, 2011

Book Review: Beckoning Light by Alyssa Rose Ivy

Beckoning Light by Alyssa Rose Ivy








Title: Beckoning Light
Author: Alyssa Rose Ivy
Publisher/date: July 25th 2011 by Createspace
Format: Paperback
Audience: Young Adult
ISBN: 146370884X
Buy This: Amazon





As Charlotte steps through the gate, she has a strong feeling that nothing will ever be the same again. Moving back to South Carolina after three years away, Charlotte knows she's going to have to face people from her past and adjust to a new high school, but she's completely unprepared for what else waits for her in Charleston. Drawn through an old garden gate, Charlotte discovers a hidden world where she meets Calvin, a boy to whom she is inexplicably attracted. As Charlotte is pulled deeper into this hidden world, it's up to her older brother Kevin to rescue her. No matter how hard Kevin tries, the rescue depends upon Charlotte fighting her intense feelings for Calvin while mastering a set of abilities that she has only just discovered she possesses.

In My Mailbox #5




In my mailbox is a meme created by Kristi at The Story Siren and inspired by Alea at Pop Culture Junkie. It is a list of what books you have received over the previous week, either for review, from the library, from the bookstore, or from trades.  

Cover Crazy: Dearly Departed








The purpose of Cover Crazy is to feature a cover each week for us to admire its beauty. I really like this idea since there are so many great covers out there! Cover Crazy is a meme that was started by The Book Worms.


Wednesday, October 26, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday (10-26-11)


"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking  the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating. 







Tuesday, October 25, 2011

Teaser Tuesday







Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following: 



  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!



Nilafay ran, slipping on the unfamiliar terrain, desperate to reach water. The rocks dug into the thin flesh of her webbed feet, cutting her skin. This place was so foreign despite being only miles from her home. Never had she seen the sun so bright or felt the moisture evaporate directly off her skin; she was sure she would die from the cruelty of the atmosphere. (Two moons of Sera by Pavarti K.Tyler)







So that's a little teaser for you of what I'm reading today! What are you reading.

Sunday, October 23, 2011

WW Read a Thon Challenge Post: Zombie Apocalypse





WWRead-a-Thon Challenge: Zombie Apocalypse  This is a challenge hosted by my big sib... My Shelf Confessions.  

You all should join in and answer 5 books you would take with you... so here is the scenario .. 


In the event of a Zombie Apocalypse you are forced to take shelter with family and/or friends for a period of no less than 5 years. You have time to pack some supplies and some extra things to keep yourself entertained. However, since there will be many people sharing the same space, space will be limited and you are told you are only allowed to bring up to 5 books. What books would you pack to sustain you? If you want to go a step further you can give a reason why you would choose the books you chose.

 So these are my 5 and why...


1. The Host~ Because its a book I could read over and over and never stop reading it and loving it.

2. The Lord of the Rings ~ b/c my book has all of them in it lol and that take a while to read.

3. The Chronicles of Narnia ~ again b/c my copy has all of the books in it and again its a long read and since I’m going to be in there for a while I need some long books lol.

4. The Complete novels of Jane Austen ~ Same reason as above plus I love her stories sweep me into another time and place and if I’m stuck in a place with family I will need that lol. (especially for that long)

5. Mocked by Faith ~ because its a book about overcoming things in life that are hard and you have no control over and I think that would be a perfect book to read over and over again if I needed to be reminded that. 


Now its your turn...head over to My Shelf Confessions and let her know what your five books are that you would would take.  You might even win a prize lol... ( love the prizes)




Cover Crazy



The purpose of Cover Crazy is to feature a cover each week for us to admire its beauty. I really like this idea since there are so many great covers out there! Cover Crazy is a meme that was started by The Book Worms.


So this weeks cover that I am going crazy over is for a book called The Muse by Rebecca Lim.  Its a beautiful cover and I can't wait to read her books!   The Muse is the third book in the Earthbond series. 



Mercy is an angel, exiled from heaven, and when she wakes in the body of nineteen-year-old Irina, Mercy discovers that she's one of the world's most infamous supermodels on the verge of a very public breakdown. Against the glamorous background of Milan's opulent fashion world, Mercy continues her increasingly desperate search for Ryan Daley, the mortal boy she remembers falling for in a past life. But, this time, Mercy's memories and powers are growing ever stronger - and she begins to doubt the pleas of her dream lover, Luc, as more of her mysterious past is revealed by beings both celestial and demonic. Are Luc's desires as selfless as her own or does he want her for a more terrifying purpose? The grand scale celestial battle for Mercy's soul builds to an incredible stormy crescendo as archangels and demons clash in a cataclysmic showdown that not all will survive ... 'a sinister and rather fabulous world. It takes considerable skill to write about angels with conviction and Lim does a remarkably good job at it' THE AGE Ages 13+


I love the way the title branches off and the colors draw you into and make you wonder just what the book is going to be like.  Just like I said above I can't wait to read all of the Earthbond Series.



Saturday, October 22, 2011

In My Mailbox (#4)





In my mailbox is a meme created by Kristi at The Story Siren and inspired by Alea at Pop Culture Junkie. It is a list of what books you have received over the previous week, either for review, from the library, from the bookstore, or from trades.   

Since, I am still sick and was in the hospital yesterday I wont be doing a vid this week, but I will show you the books I got in the mail this week! 


Guest Post with Jennifer Lane




Jennifer Lane: Where I like to write
 Bio: 
After surviving the rigors of writing a psychology dissertation, the author known as Jennifer Lane has happily turned to writing fiction. She still maintains her psychology practice in Ohio, but please rest assured that she’s not psychoanalyzing you right now. The tales of healing and resilience from her career have inspired her to write her own stories: The Conduct Series. With Good Behavior began with two cons trying to make it on the outside: running from the Mafia, joking about sexy vegetables, and just maybe falling in love. Bad Behavior, the next in line, reveals that it’s not so easy to escape the past, but the plucky parolees once again strive to persevere. Jen is currently at work on the third and final installment of the series: On Best Behavior, as well as the Young Adult story Against the Tide, both scheduled for release in 2012. She’s found that whether writing or reading, she loves stories that make her laugh and cry. In her spare time Jen enjoys competitive swimming, attending book club, and hanging out with her sisters and their families in Chicago.

I started writing stories at a desk in my guest bedroom, where my internet connection resided. Then I stepped into the 21st century with wireless and haven't strayed from the comforts of my living room sofa.

Bout of Books 2.0 Starting Line Up and Updates




Bout of Books 2.0 nearly here and I'm so excited that I'm going to tell you all about what I'm planning on accomplishing this time around!  But first... Go check out Amanda @ On a Book Bender, our outstanding host for this read-a-thon...

Quick Reminders from Amanda:
  • Sign up! I will leave sign-up open through Friday 10/28.
  • You must be signed up and on the Master List to qualify for challenge prizes.  Co-hosts will check the list to verify.
  • Check out the Bout of Books schedule
  • Say hi to other Bout of Books readers.
  • Find Bout of Books participants on Twitter.
  • See what everyone is tweeting.  Use #boutofbooks in your tweets.
  • Look for a wrap up post (and survey; we want to know what worked or didn’t) at On a Book Bender on Monday, 10/31
  • If you choose to have a starting line post with goals, please PLEASE include how much you intend to read.  Not everyone can read the entire week, so it is helpful to know when (or how much) you can read.
  • Submit a link to your starting line post at the end of this post.
  • And most importantly: HAVE  FUN.
As for me:



Time Devoted to Reading:

I plan on devoting at least a few hours every day to reading.  That is in between all the studying I will be doing for school.

Thursday, October 20, 2011

Guest Post: DEFINING GREATNESS by Michaelbrent Collings




DEFINING GREATNESS

by Michaelbrent Collings


Some people ask me, "What do you think makes a great book great?"

Some people also ask me if I think polar bears should be allowed to marry penguins.  Which tells you what kind of people I hang with.

But back to the other question.  The first one.  About the writing thing.  I guess it's not too surprising that people ask me things about books.  I mean, I AM a writer.  My books RUN and Billy: Messenger of Powers have both been bestsellers on amazon.com, I've written two movies that are coming out next year, and I've been told my birthday cards are to die for.  So I do get my opinion asked for fairly often.  And, to be frank, even when people AREN'T asking for my opinion... I still give it.

So what DOES make a great book great?

There are a lot of things.  But first and foremost, I think, is simply this: a great book is one that people want to spend time with.  And I'm not just talking about the time they put in reading it.  A great book is one that we think about even when the covers are closed, one whose characters we wish we could meet well after the last chapter has been finished.  It's one that lives within us, and becomes not merely a part of what we have done, but a facet of who we have become.

So how to accomplish that? 

Wednesday, October 19, 2011

A Review for Magician: Apprentice



  • Title: Magician: Apprentice
  • Author: Raymond E. Feist
  • Mass Market Paperback: 512 pages
  • Publisher: Spectra (December 1, 1993)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0553564943
  • ISBN-13: 978-0553564945
  • Format: Paperback


To the forest on the shore of the Kingdom of the Isles, the orphan Pug came to study with the master magician Kulgan. But though his courage won him a place at court and the heart of a lovely Princess, he was ill at ease with the normal ways of wizardry. Yet Pug's strange sort of magic would one day change forever the fates of two worlds. For dark beings from another world had opened a rift in the fabric of spacetime to being again the age-old battle between the forces of Order and Chaos.

Waiting on Wednesday...

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking  the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating. 









A poignant story about making peace with the past and opening your heart to love.

Seventeen-year-old Holly Mullen has felt lost and lonely ever since her boyfriend, Rob, died in a tragic accident. But she has no idea that as she goes about her days, Rob’s ghost is watching over her. He isn’t happy when he sees his best friend, Jason, trying to get close to Holly—but as a ghost, he can do nothing to stop it. As their uncertain new relationship progresses, the past comes back to haunt Holly and Jason. Her Alzheimer’s-stricken grandfather claims to be communicating with the ghost of Rob. Could the messages he has for Holly be real? And if so, how can the loved ones Rob left behind help his tortured soul make it to the other side?


This is one book I seriously can't wait for. It will be released on November 14, 2011. Its coming very soon! I hope you all will check it out with me.




Wednesday, October 12, 2011

Relive that first moment you fell for someone...."Skid Out"







                       
Title: Skid Out
Author: Ann Marie Frohoff
Format: ebook
Audience: Young adult
Pages: 56
Bye this: Amazon












A novella prequel to the Heavy Influence Trilogy about young, reckless love between a rising rock star and his younger muse. Follow their journey through temptation, deception & forbidden love. 17 year old high school senior, Jake Masters, front man of a rising rock band, finds new interest in his younger freshman next door neighbor Alyssa Montgomery. Their relationship breaks hearts; stirs jealousy and band infighting. When they’re brought to new found awareness of body and soul, will rightful boundaries be crossed? Will the right decisions and choices, which are detrimental to the band and its future, be made through the haze of infatuation? Will Jake’s absences on the road lead to another filling his shoes? Jake and Alyssa’s lifelong friendships are strained and tested; secrets are kept, admitted and shared. Family bonds are broken, as others grow stronger. Who knew a first love could cause so many problems? Then again, in their eyes, there are no problems as long as they’re together. In the end, will his new found muse bring down everything he’s worked so hard to achieve or will she inspire positive creative change; that will carry him and his band to stardom.








 When I sat down to read Skid Out and turned on the amazing song that came with it, I was hooked as soon as the first notes came through my speakers and I read the first line of the book. I was stuck into my seat till I read the very last word and was begging for more of the story.

This wonderful prequel pulls you into the story and amerces you in the life of a freshmen and a senior in High School and a blossoming love story.  I can't wait to read the book as soon as it comes out.  I need more of the story As soon as it does.

The Characters, Jake and Alyssa are very well developed and I could relate to Alyssa  as I know a lot of you will be able to as well.  She one day opens her eyes and now she sees things she hasn't before in the male teenage population.

I need to know what happens with the two main characters.  I need to know how her family and her friends will react to the two of them and I need to know if they find out.

Do you remember falling in love for the first time or realizing you are "crushing" on someone for the first time ever.  Or have you ever fallen for someone that you grew up with and never really looked at like you that? Then you will defiantly relate to Alyssa!  Read this great prequel and relive those feelings of first love all over again. 



So, with all that being said... my ratings for this great novella are:






The Story rating:




Cover Rating: 



(I loved the look of the cover, the colors just jumped right off the page)



Now for the song...That's right I said some. If you get this marvelous story you will get a song with it. 
Transpose" by Bad Suns is great to listen to as you read the novella, or anytime really.  I totally rocked out to it lol.  But, fair warning once you start listening you wont stop, I know I didn't! 


Song Rating: 





So you all should check out "Skid Out" and let me know what you think.  










Monday, October 10, 2011

Held Captive by "Slave"

Held Captive by "Slave"



Title: Slave
Author: Sherri Hayes
Format: Ebook
Category: Erotica
Publication date: Jul 28, 2011
Pages: 275
ISBN (paper): 978-1-61213-048-4
ISBN (ebook): 978-1-61213-049-1 
Buy this book:  Amazon   TWCSPH




Stephan has lived the lifestyle of a Dominant for five years. After several rebellious teenage years, it gave him the stability and control he had been seeking after his parent’s death. As president of a not-for-profit foundation, he knows what his future holds and what he wants out of life. All that changes when a simple lunch with his college friend and Mentor, Daren, leads him to buying a slave. Thrust into a situation he never thought he’d be in, Stephan can’t walk away. He is compelled to help this girl in the only way he knows how. Brianna knows only one thing, she is a slave. She has nothing. She is nothing. Can Stephan help Brianna realize that she is much more than just a Slave?

Its Monday...What Are You Reading??




It’s Monday! What Are You Reading This Week? This is a weekly event to list the books completed last week, the books currently being reading, and the books to be finish this week. It is hosted by Book Journey. 



Finished Reading...

Sunday, October 9, 2011

Cover Crazy: Daughter of Smoke and Bone






The purpose of Cover Crazy is to feature a cover each week for us to admire its beauty. I really like this idea since there are so many great covers out there! Cover Crazy is a meme that was started by The Book Worms.




Around the world, black handprints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky. In a dark and dusty shop, a devil's supply of human teeth grown dangerously low. And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherwordly war. Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real; she's prone to disappearing on mysterious "errands"; she speaks many languages--not all of them human; and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she's about to find out. When one of the strangers--beautiful, haunted Akiva--fixes his fire-colored eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?

Wednesday, October 5, 2011

Versatial Blogger Award



Thank you for giving me this award.  Everyone make sure you check out her amazing blog Journey with Books.

Okay so here are the rules: 

1. Thank and link back to the person who gave the award to you.
2. Share 7 things about yourself.
3. Give the award to 15 other bloggers.

The Hunger Games








Title: The Hunger Games
Author: Suzanne Collins
Publisher: Scholastic
Format: Paperback
Buy this on: Amazon




In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she steps forward to take her sister's place in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before—and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that will weigh survival against humanity and life against love.


Monday, October 3, 2011

Simply enjoyed being "Marked"








Title: Marked
Author: P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast
Category: YA, Fantasy
Format: Audio book/paperback
Age Range: Young Adult
Publisher: St.Martin's Griffin
Buy this book on Amazon





The House of Night series is set in a world very much like our own, except in 16-year-old Zoey Redbird's world, vampires have always existed. In this first book in the series, Zoey enters the House of Night, a school where, after having undergone the Change, she will train to become an adult vampire--that is, if she makes it through the Change. Not all of those who are chosen do. It's tough to begin a new life, away from her parents and friends, and on top of that, Zoey finds she is no average fledgling. She has been Marked as special by the vampire Goddess, Nyx. But she is not the only fledgling at the House of Night with special powers. When she discovers that the leader of the Dark Daughters, the school's most elite club, is misusing her Goddess-given gifts, Zoey must look deep within herself for the courage to embrace her destiny--with a little help from her new vampire friends.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

Archive

This Blog is Protected..

myfreecopyright.com registered & protected

My Beautiful Blog was Designed by...

Ali's Bookshelf © 2011-present