Thursday, February 28, 2013

Review: Between Dark and Light by D.A. Adams


Review: Between Dark and Light by D.A. Adams


IN A GLANCE: Simply put...Between Dark and Light is a fantastic book in this series. D.A. Adams keeps upping the anty each time with each new book in this series and I can't wait for more.


 Title: Between Dark and Light
Author: D.A. Adams
Publisher: Seventh Star Press
Format: Ebook
ASIN #: B00AQR4RLU


The stakes are higher than ever in the fourth installment of the popular dwarven saga! The Great Empire has surrounded the Kiredurks and are preparing to conquer the kingdom, but unknown to them, Kwarck, the mysterious hermit of the plains, has his own plan in action. To the east, he has summoned an elven army and charged Crushaw with leading them into battle. To the south, Roskin will gather an army from the fractured Ghaldeon lands. But to the west, an ancient and powerful evil stirs. The Great War is about to errupt, if Roskin can overcome the Dark One...





Wednesday, February 27, 2013

Turning Point Blog Tour Guest Post and Giveaway




So today I have a great blog tour for you all with a guest post and a giveaway! So let's get to it shall we.




Thank you to Ali’s Bookshelf for hosting me on the blog tour for TURNING POINT, the third book in The Kathleen Turner Series.  There will be a total of five books in the series.  Book four, OUT OF TURN, will be released on 12/17/13.
Ali had some questions for me today, including what a typical day was like for me.  Well, I’d love to say I drink my morning coffee on the veranda of my Italian villa overlooking the Mediterranean, but alas, my life is not so exotic.  I live in the Midwest and have a husband and two daughters, so mornings consist of first waking them, then later yelling from downstairs that they “BETTER GET DOWN HERE NOW OR YOU’LL BE LATE FOR SCHOOL!”

Cover Reveal: The Mirror of the Moon by Travis Simmons


Cover Reveal: The Mirror of the Moon by Travis Simmons


Today I have a great cover reveal to share with you.  The Mirror of the Moon by Travis Simmons...





Cover designed by the author.  


With the death of one of the companions, Grace must answer for the secrets she’s kept. The path before them is ever lengthening in their quest for Amber. There are changes they all must face, and when Joya enters her trials of sorcery, danger lurks around every corner. The power within Angelica and Jovian is strengthening and with it comes confusion. What are they? It is painfully obvious nothing like them has ever existed before. Why is it at times they seem more one person than two separate people? With all the mystery surrounding their latent power, Angelica stumbles upon a passage in a book of sorcery indicating she is evil. Could she be the Mask prophecy speaks of? Is she destined to turn against her own flesh? To make matters worse, the Well of Wyrding (a giant well that controls all sorcery) has been breached and wyrd itself is spiraling into chaos.

Tuesday, February 26, 2013

Author Feature: Day in the Life of Bee Ridgway




So today I have Author Bee Ridgway to share her day with us and showcase what its like being her as an author.  

A DAY IN THE LIFE OF BEE RIDGWAY

I'm going to tell you about a great writing day, because my days are divided into writing days and non-writing days.  Non-writing days involve boring things like keeping body and soul together, and who wants to read about that?  Writing days are the best kind of day in the world.  The decks are clear, the email is turned off, the phone is on silent: there’s only me and my computer and my writing chair.

I wake up, knowing that I have a whole day ahead of me in which to write.  I lie in bed for a little while, luxuriating in the immediate future.  Then I put on my snuggliest pajamas (I have three pairs of flannel pajamas and two pairs of cotton . . . I love pajamas!).  On really good days my breakfast is an avocado sliced up on a piece of toast, with lemon and a bit of red pepper and lots of salt.  I know that sounds un-breakfasty, but try it!  And of course, a big cup of strong coffee.  Coffee . . . I wouldn’t be human without it. 

Sunday, February 24, 2013

Three Mini Me Corner Reviews from Amazing Scholastic Titles






Alright so this post is going to be even more fun than normal.  This Mini Me Corner review is going to be for three books instead of just one.  Plus my little boy Braxton put his two sense into this one as well.  Seeing as one of the books was really for a boy I thought I would bring him into the mix as well. 

Friday, February 22, 2013

Review: Barbie Girl by Heidi Acosta


Review: Barbie Girl by Heidi Acosta



IN A GLANCE: WOW! I love when I find books that are so different and I end up loving the book!


Title: Barbie Girl
Author: Heidi Acosta
Format: Ebook
Pages: 189 pages
ISBN #:  9781301739783
GoodreadsBuy This
The only thing that 17 year old Barbie Starr wants to do is graduate high school so she and her little brother, Everett, can get out of Alabama. She doesn’t care about the rumors that are spread around about her like wild fire. Rumors are nothing new to her. Sure, maybe she could change her reputation, but why bother. She is leaving Alabama as soon as she can. That is, if she can pass algebra and graduate. The only thing Dylan Knight would like to do is go through high school unnoticed; he has had enough of the drama that is high school. He took the whole of last summer to bulk-up: finally he is not being called names or being shoved into lockers. He wants to remain on the outside of the circle of constant rumors that surround the so-called popular kids who get all the attention. He would not, however, mind if his long time crush Katie took notice of him. But it is Barbie who notices Dylan and she offers him a deal he can’t pass up: if he helps her pass algebra, she’ll help him get the girl of his dreams. Dylan agrees, but, as it turns out, nothing is simple when it comes to Barbie. Somehow, she can’t help but draw attention to herself — and to him. Soon Dylan finds himself tossed into the whirlwind of rumors that seem to follow Barbie everywhere. Can he save his reputation and still get the girl of his dreams? Or will Barbie be the one to break through his carefully-built facade?





Blog Tour: Barbie Girl by Heidi Acosta





Hey everyone, today I have a very exciting tour for you all to check out.  Later today I will be posting my review of this great book by Heidi Acosta.  Barbie Girl is a great read and I highly recommend it.  Fair warning it is very different! But you can read my review for the book later.  

But for this post I have the book trailer to share and 2 that's right I said 2 giveaways!!! 

Enjoy! 



Barbie Girl by Heidi Acosta (Baby Doll #1) Publication date: November 1st 2012 Genre: YA Contemporary Romance The only thing that 17 year old Barbie Starr wants to do is graduate high school so she and her little brother, Everett, can get out of Alabama. She doesn’t care about the rumors that are spread around about her like wild fire. Rumors are nothing new to her. Sure, maybe she could change her reputation, but why bother. She is leaving Alabama as soon as she can. That is, if she can pass algebra and graduate. The only thing Dylan Knight would like to do is go through high school unnoticed; he has had enough of the drama that is high school. He took the whole of last summer to bulk-up: finally he is not being called names or being shoved into lockers. He wants to remain on the outside of the circle of constant rumors that surround the so-called popular kids who get all the attention. He would not, however, mind if his long time crush Katie took notice of him. But it is Barbie who notices Dylan and she offers him a deal he can’t pass up: if he helps her pass algebra, she’ll help him get the girl of his dreams. Dylan agrees, but, as it turns out, nothing is simple when it comes to Barbie. Somehow, she can’t help but draw attention to herself — and to him. Soon Dylan finds himself tossed into the whirlwind of rumors that seem to follow Barbie everywhere. Can he save his reputation and still get the girl of his dreams? Or will Barbie be the one to break through his carefully-built facade?


Thursday, February 21, 2013

Blog Tour: Playing the Genetic Lottery Excerpt




Hey everyone, today I have a great excerpt to share with you all.  I hope you enjoy.  



" I know that at 32 my chances of developing schizophrenia are miniscule and keep shrinking with every passing month. Despite that, I'm still obsessively terrified of developing the devastating mental illness that was an ever-present part of my formative years."







Wednesday, February 20, 2013

Blog Tour: Repunzel Untagled by Cindy Bennet

A Girl Trapped in a Mansion . . .

A Mysterious Old Woman . . .

The Boy Who Will Change Everything . . .



Rapunzel Untangled by Cindy C Bennett

Fab Fane Fannigan: Are you saying you live at GOTHEL MANSION??? The Gothel Mansion?

RG: My mother calls it Gothel Manor, so maybe that’s different?

Fab Fane Flannigan: No, Rapunzel, there’s only one that I know of. It has to be the same. Are you telling me the truth here?

RG: Yes, of course. Is it weird that I live here?

Fab Fane Flannigan: No, not weird, just . . . never mind. So you live in the tower?

RG: Uh, the tower? I don’t know. Is it a tower?

Fab Fane Flannigan: Yes, it is. I know where it is. I’ll be there Friday at 8.

Rapunzel sensed the difference in his tone. Something wasn’t right.

Fab Fane Flannigan: Rapunzel, promise me one thing.

RG: Okay.

Fab Fane Flannigan: Don’t Google your house.
 

Blog Tour Daughters of Night Possession: Author Feature and Giveaway





Today we have a great guest post for you.  Its for our author features Day in the Life post.  Enjoy! 




A Day in My Life by author Ashley Torbeck

We as humans are creatures of habit, developing daily routines and giving ourselves a sense of organization amidst the chaos. My sense of organization flew out the window a while back, and it took my sanity with it, so if anyone sees them running around, please let me know.

That being said, I actually do a fair amount of stuff throughout the day, despite the lack of formal employment. Here’s a little insight into my day when I’m not in crunch mode:

7:45am – Drag my still sleeping self out of bed, throw on the first clothes I can find in the dark, and take the dog out.

Tuesday, February 19, 2013

Author Feature: Day in the Life of author Herika R. Raymer



So today we have another great author feature, author Herika R. Raymer is here to share what her day is like.  Thanks so much Herika for sharing your day with us today!




Day In The Life Post

My days usually start around 5:45am, and not because of an alarm but usually because my little girl wants to crawl in bed beside me that early. It is her ritual to wake me up before my alarm for work. I cherish it, because I know that she and her brother will soon be too old to want Mommy around. Too soon, my alarm goes off and she and I have breakfast together before I leave for my day-job.

Monday, February 18, 2013

The Dragon Shield Blog Tour: Author Interview and Giveaway




Hey everyone, today I have a great Author Interview/blog tour post for you all of you.  So sit back, relax, and read this great post.  Enjoy! 







Thanks for having me on your blog, Ali!

If you could have a casual, 30 min conversation with any author that you admire, who would it be and what would you ask?

I would love to sit with C.S. Lewis. I’m sure I would be completely entranced with anything that he had to say, but I would ask him about Narnia. He created such a beautiful world; I want to know if there was anything about the place that he didn’t write. If there were some other thoughts that he had. Was Narnia an allegory to his idea of heaven, as many of his fans believe it was, and would he have liked to expand on it more?

And was Susan no longer a friend of Aslan’s forever? What were his thoughts behind that one line that left people wondering?

Friday, February 15, 2013

Author Feature: How Do I Do What I Do with author Kim Smith



Today we have our Author Feature called How Do I Do What I Do.  This is a feature where authors can chat about well basically anything about writing.  I love these features.  Today we have author Kim Smith with us to chat about writing.




Writing: How I Do What I Do

I would hate for readers to think writing a novel is a simple task. It isn't. 

It is one of the toughest things I have ever had to do. I mean, it requires a devotion of your time. Long chunks of it. It requires a huge bit of your mind, and I do mean HUGE. You cannot sit down to write without having time to do it properly and you absolutely need to be in the mindset to create. That's the first bit of advice I would give to you, dear friend. Get in the mindset, and sit down and don't get back up until you have begun a work that is worthy of carrying your name. Oh yeah. That is a little important too. When I do what I do, I want something to be worthy of having my name on the cover. I want to be proud of what I have done. But that is only if you are writing to be published, and in today's world of indie publishing, who isn't? That's another thing: why not publish? Well, for one thing, it may be something that isn't ready yet. Or it could be a private manifesto that really has no mass market value. That isn't to say that it is wrong to write the story of your heart, but only that not everyone will be interested in reading it.

Wednesday, February 13, 2013

Review: Fairy Senses by Frances Ruiz


Review: Fairy Senses by Frances Ruiz


IN A GLANCE: Really wanted to love this book, but I simply could not get into it.


Title: Fairy Senses
Author: Frances Ruiz
Publisher: Hinterland Sky Press
Format: Paperback
Pages: 235 Pages
ISBN #: 0981888003

 GoodreadsBuy This
The fat, one-foot tall, miniature man with dragon wings that Kelly catches in her refrigerator, his face smeared with her fourteenth birthday cake, is not what she imagined a fairy would look like. But he proudly claims to be a "perfect specimen". Kelly soon learns that she herself is half-fairy, which means everything she has ever been told about her absent father is a lie. Who was he and why has her mother been lying about him? Kelly vows to find out, but her plans are interrupted when US presidential candidate Marcos Witherings kidnaps her. He is a half-fairy too, and he wants another of his kind to help him in a twisted plan that far exceeds a simple desire to be US president. Kelly escapes and flees to the underwater fairy kingdom of Glendenland, where she must race to develop her fledgling "fairy senses" before it's too late.






Monday, February 11, 2013

Guest Post with author Michele Richard.


I have been dreading posting this guest post on my blog just as much as this author had a hard time writing it.  This amazing author was the first author I featured here on Ali's Bookshelf with her amazing books and now its time to say goodbye to the characters I love in these books.   

Below is Author Michele Richard's words and a glimpse into her next book!

Enjoy! 


This has been without a doubt the hardest guest post to write. It's literally tortured me for weeks. Ali's question coupled with the fact that I feel like I am not only saying goodbye to two of my characters, who have become like two of my children, has made it the most difficult by far.

Ali has been reading my books from the very beginning of my career. She was amongst the first to review my works. In effect I feel like I am also saying goodbye to the bloggers who have been with me since the beginning of the Mocked by Faith Trilogy. Sure many will still be with me as I move forward, but it will be for different books.

Wednesday, February 6, 2013

Jitterbug PR: Tour Hosts Needed!


Hey everyone, so I'm hoping by now most of you know that I also run and own a PR company for authors and small businesses.  




Well I am searching for Tour hosts and would love some of my blogging friends to join.  If your a blogger searching for great content for your blog, why not become a tour host for us.  We help amazing authors showcase their talent and you could help us do that as well.  

If your interested please, CLICK HERE for more information and to join our mailing list.  

Thanks so much!!!

Review: Dance of Shadows by Yelena Black


Review: Dance of Shadows by Yelena Black




IN A GLANCE: Different with a great plot, but it fell a little flat for me.


Title: Dance of Shadows
Author: Yelena Black
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Children's Books
Format: Ebook
Pages: 447 pages (Hardcover)
ISBN #: 1599909405
 

GoodreadsBuy This
Dancing with someone is an act of trust. Elegant and intimate; you're close enough to kiss, close enough to feel your partner's heartbeat. But for Vanessa, dance is deadly – and she must be very careful who she trusts . . . Vanessa Adler attends an elite ballet school – the same one her older sister, Margaret, attended before she disappeared. Vanessa feels she can never live up to her sister's shining reputation. But Vanessa, with her glorious red hair and fair skin, has a kind of power when she dances – she loses herself in the music, breathes different air, and the world around her turns to flames . . . Soon she attracts the attention of three men: gorgeous Zep, mysterious Justin, and the great, enigmatic choreographer Josef Zhalkovsky. When Josef asks Vanessa to dance the lead in the Firebird, she has little idea of the danger that lies ahead – and the burning forces about to be unleashed







Tripple Threat Blog Tour: Dance of Shadows





So today I have a great blog tour for you.  I will be posting my review of Dance of Shadows by Yelena Black today.  I'm very excited to share my thoughts about this book.  

So make sure you sit back and read what I think of this book and feel free if you have read it, share your thoughts in the comments.  I would love to know what you thought as well.  

Thanks and as always...


Happy Reading!!!

Day in The Life of CL Parker



Day in the Life is an author feature here on Ali's Bookshelf, its where I feature an author that shows us what their life is truly like.  So today, we have author CL Parker showcasing her day with us.  


A Day In The Life Of An Author


I thought this was a really important one because readers need to know what goes on behind the scenes to really appreciate the amount of work that goes into writing a book.

The first thing you should know is that I’m not in this for the money. I’m an entertainer by nature with a vivid imagination. Okay, so maybe I’m a little on the insane side. After all, non-existent people talk to me from a non-existent world, and then all these moving pictures flash through my mind. The ability to paint those pictures through words for others to see is apparently a big neon sign screaming for me to call myself an author. That’s what I’ve been told, anyway, so that’s what I do. Hey, I’m just relieved that I’m not actually schizophrenic. Not that there’s anything wrong with that.

I work what “they” call a “real” job to bring home the bacon, and I’m now a single mother carrying the load of all the daily functionality of my family, which doesn’t leave a whole lot of time for writing. What it does do, however, is really pile on the stress. Because guess what? I have a contract and deadlines associated with that contract. *gasp* It’s cool, though; the tick I’ve developed is only a teeny tiny one, but I’m working on making it a full-blown spasm because my motto is the bigger, the better. Yeah, baby. *waggles brows* Just check out the descriptions of the men in my stories. But I digress.

Tuesday, February 5, 2013

Review Copy Cleanup 3.0





Hey everyone, I'm so excited!!! It's Review Copy Cleanup time again.  SO this month I'm going to be reading as many Review books as I can and trust me I have tons!
If you would like to join in the fun, sign ups are still open till the 15th.  JUST CLICK HERE FOR MORE INFO!
This post is where I will keep track of what I've read for the month.  Also below are the guidelines for Review Copy Cleanup as well.  

Cover Reveal: Hunted by Lorenz Font




Its time for a Cover Reveal!!! Today I have a cover for you by Lorenz Font.  I love showcasing Covers so here is today.  


Teaser Tuesday #33



Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:






  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)

  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teaser. 





 
Who was I kidding? Most mornings it felt as if I had to glue the pieces of myself back together just to start the day. Because what Jack had done for me--when he jumped into the Tunnels and took my place in hell--it had fractured my soul.










So, how was that for a tease? What about you, care to give a little teaser into what you are reading? Leave me a link to your post or the teaser in the comments below.  I'd love to check it out.  Have a good day everyone and as always...


Happy Reading!!!

Monday, February 4, 2013

It's Monday...What Are You Reading?




It's Monday! What Are You Reading is hosted by Book Journey!


Alright so its Monday...Again! But the fun part of my Monday's is this post.  I get to share with all of you what I'm reading this week.  So let's get started! 
 
 
Today I'm Reading
 
 
 
 Fia was born with flawless instincts. Her first impulse, her gut feeling, is always exactly right. Her sister, Annie, is blind to the world around her—except when her mind is gripped by strange visions of the future.

Trapped in a school that uses girls with extraordinary powers as tools for corporate espionage, Annie and Fia are forced to choose over and over between using their abilities in twisted, unthinkable ways… or risking each other’s lives by refusing to obey.

In a stunning departure from her New York Times bestselling Paranormalcy trilogy, Kiersten White delivers a slick, edgy, heartstoppingly intense psychological thriller about two sisters determined to protect each other—no matter the cost.
 

Sunday, February 3, 2013

TBR list for Feb 2013



Alright, sorry there is no vid this month, its mainly because I am still sick and didn't want to be on camera.  I hope you all don't mind.  But anyway, below is the list of the books I plan on reading this month.  Enjoy.  

My Reading is now broken down into a few different lists, see below for these lists.  


Audio Books


(I have already started this one, so I'm trying to finish it!) 




ARC's



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

Archive

This Blog is Protected..

myfreecopyright.com registered & protected

Blogoversary

Get your own free Blogoversary button!

My Beautiful Blog was Designed by...

Ali's Bookshelf © 2011-present