Thursday, May 30, 2013

New Reviewer here on Ali's Bookshelf


Hey everyone, as you know I have opened up some positions here on the blog for reviewers.  I have found our first new associate reviewer.  Would you please give Tori a warm Ali's Bookshelf welcome.  



Hi, I'm Tori! I've been reviewing books of all kinds since I was a child, as I love recommending books to people. I got back into it about 5 years ago when I was writing and reviewing fanfiction. In January I made the decision to start reviewing every book I read, and I'm loving it! I review literally everything and anything, but my favourite genres are historical fiction, crime thriller and anything which involves the supernatural (I am a total sucker for a vampire, if you'll pardon the pun!). I'm always on the lookout for new talent and new authors to add to my favourites pile, and I find reviewing is the perfect way to do this as it broadens my horizons and opens so many doors. I also love to review simply so I can help pass on my enthusiasm for reading and reviewing to others, as well as help them pick their next book!



I'm very excited to have her on board and can't wait to read her amazing reviews.  I hope you all will enjoy having her reviews here as much as I know I will.  Thanks so much Tori for joining our blog and Review group.


(From now on if Tori is the one that wrote the review, the image above will be placed at the bottom of her review!) 

Ali Talks Live with author Sydney Logan



Tonight's live show was so much fun.  I got to chat with author Sydney Logan all about her books, Lessons Learned and Mountain Charm.  If you didn't get to listen in tonight you can listen to the show below.  





Also, I wanted to mention that her book Mountain Charm is being released on 7/4, but you can pre-order this great book and it will Benefit the American Cancer Society, the pre-order's start on 6/3.  So make sure you pre-order your copy on that day! 



Wednesday, May 29, 2013

A Different Type of Waiting on Wednesday Book


Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine where she spotlights upcoming releases.
I haven't shared a Waiting on Wednesday in a long time, but I thought this book would be a great way to start off this feature once again.   




Like I said this is a different kind of book.  But its one that a great friend of mine wrote and I hope its helpful to all my author friends.  The Expected pub date for this great looking book is June 2013.


Friday, May 24, 2013

Cover Reveal: The Boxcar Baby by J.L. Mulvihill





As you all know, I love sharing cover reveals with all of you and today I am going to do just that.  This one is from Seventh Star Press for author J.L. Mulvihill's new book, The Boxcar Baby.  I'm super excited about this book and can't wait to read it.  It is a Steampunk book and I love Steampunk!!!


I must say right off the bat, that this cover is WOW!!! See what you think.



So what do you think? Did it wow you as much as it did me.  The amazing artist is the fantastic Mathew Perry, which is one artiest that I love every piece he creates.  This one included. 

Saturday, May 18, 2013

Short Story Saturday: Vampires Don't Sparkel! What Once Was Flesh by Tim Waggoner



This feature provides reviews of individual short stories. This meme was created by 365 Days of Reading.  I wont be posting these every Saturday, but I will be as much as I can. 


So its time for Short Story Saturday again and I am reviewing a story from Vampires Don't Sparkle! This time, I want to chat about a story called What Once Was Flesh by author Tim Waggoner.


Title: Vampires Don't Sparkle! 
Story: What Once Was Flesh 
Author: Tim Waggoner


What would you do if you had unlimited power and eternal life? Would you…go back to high school? Attend the same classes year after year, going through the pomp and circumstance of one graduation after another, until you found the perfect date to take to prom? Would you…spend your days moping and brooding, finding your only joy in a game of baseball on a stormy day? Or would you…do something else? The authors of this collection have a few ideas; some fanciful, some humorous, and some as dark as an endless night. Join us, and discover what it truly means to be “vampyre.” Edited by Michael West Foreword by Michael West “A New Life” by J. F. Gonzalez “What Once was Flesh” by Tim Waggoner “The Darkton Circus Mystery” by Elizabeth Massie “Robot Vampire” by R. J. Sullivan “Beneath a Templar Cross” by Gord Rollo “The Weapon of Memory” by Kyle S. Johnson “The Excavation” by Stephen Zimmer “Skraeling” by Joel A. Sutherland “Dreams of Winter” by Bob Freeman “Dracula’s Winkee: Bloodsucker Blues” by Gregory L. Hall “I Fuck Your Sunshine” by Lucy A. Snyder “A Soldier’s Story” by Maurice Broaddus “Rattenkönig” by Douglas F. Warrick “Vampire Nation” by Jerry Gordon “Curtain Call” by Gary A. Braunbeck A portion of the proceeds from the sale of this book will be donated to cancer research institutions to fight the real horrors of Cancer.


Friday, May 17, 2013

It's Pub Day...Erin by Monette Pangan: Giveaway!!!


 It's Pub Day! 

Congratulations to Monette Pangan on the release of her children's book.  My daughter is so excited about this book and so is my son.  They have seen the cover and want to read it so bad lol.  I'm so excited for author Monette Pangan!


Buy the book at Amazon


Tuesday, May 14, 2013

Review: The Dark Heroine Dinner with a Vampire by Abigail Gibbs


Review: The Dark Heroine Dinner with a Vampire by Abigail Gibbs



IN A GLANCE: Very different but in a fantastic way.


Title: Dinner with a Vampire (The Dark Heroine #1)
Author: Abigail Gibbs
Publisher: Harper Voyager
Format: ARC (given to me by a friend, not the author)
Pages: 532 pages
ISBN #:  0007503679

Authors WebsiteGoodreadsBuy This
The sexiest romance you’ll read this year… One moment can change your life forever... For Violet Lee, a chance encounter on a darkened street draws her into a world beyond her wildest imaginings, a timeless place of vast elegance and immeasurable wealth – of beautiful mansions and lavish parties – where a decadent group of friends live for pleasure alone. A place from which there is no escape...no matter how hard Violet tries. Yet all the riches in the world can’t mask the darkness that lies beneath the gilded surface, embodied in the charismatic but dangerous Kaspar Varn. Violet and Kaspar surrender to a passion that transcends their separate worlds – but it’s a passion that comes at a price...






Teaser Tuesday #34



Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:


  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teaser. 




"Well, good thing. You know the old saying, 'Boys don't make passes at girls who wear glasses." I try not to roll my eyes. " Oh, so that explains why I didn't go to prom."









So there you have it, a little teaser into what I'm reading right now! So how about you share a little teaser with me.  What are you reading right now? 

Saturday, May 11, 2013

Short Story Saturday: A New Life by J.F. Gonzalez (Vampires Don't Sparkle)






This feature provides reviews of individual short stories. This meme was created by 365 Days of Reading.  I wont be posting these every Saturday, but I will be as much as I can. 


Title: Vampires Don't Sparkle
Story: A New Life
Author: J.F. Gonzalez




What would you do if you had unlimited power and eternal life? Would you…go back to high school? Attend the same classes year after year, going through the pomp and circumstance of one graduation after another, until you found the perfect date to take to prom? Would you…spend your days moping and brooding, finding your only joy in a game of baseball on a stormy day? Or would you…do something else? The authors of this collection have a few ideas; some fanciful, some humorous, and some as dark as an endless night. Join us, and discover what it truly means to be “vampyre.” Edited by Michael West Foreword by Michael West “A New Life” by J. F. Gonzalez “What Once was Flesh” by Tim Waggoner “The Darkton Circus Mystery” by Elizabeth Massie “Robot Vampire” by R. J. Sullivan “Beneath a Templar Cross” by Gord Rollo “The Weapon of Memory” by Kyle S. Johnson “The Excavation” by Stephen Zimmer “Skraeling” by Joel A. Sutherland “Dreams of Winter” by Bob Freeman “Dracula’s Winkee: Bloodsucker Blues” by Gregory L. Hall “I Fuck Your Sunshine” by Lucy A. Snyder “A Soldier’s Story” by Maurice Broaddus “Rattenkönig” by Douglas F. Warrick “Vampire Nation” by Jerry Gordon “Curtain Call” by Gary A. Braunbeck A portion of the proceeds from the sale of this book will be donated to cancer research institutions to fight the real horrors of Cancer.

Friday, May 10, 2013

Review: The Elite by Kiera Cass


Review: The Elite by Kiera Cass



IN A GLANCE: Spectacular, Amazing, even better than the first.




Title: The Elite
Author: Kiera Cass
Publisher: Harper Teen
Pages: 323 pages
Format: Hardcover
ISBN #:  0062059963

The hotly-anticipated sequel to the New York Times bestseller The Selection. Thirty-five girls came to the palace to compete in the Selection. All but six have been sent home. And only one will get to marry Prince Maxon and be crowned princess of Illea. America still isn’t sure where her heart lies. When she’s with Maxon, she’s swept up in their new and breathless romance, and can’t dream of being with anyone else. But whenever she sees Aspen standing guard around the palace, and is overcome with memories of the life they planned to share. With the group narrowed down to the Elite, the other girls are even more determined to win Maxon over—and time is running out for America to decide. Just when America is sure she’s made her choice, a devastating loss makes her question everything again. And while she’s struggling to imagine her future, the violent rebels that are determined to overthrow the monarchy are growing stronger and their plans could destroy her chance at any kind of happy ending.








Review: The Walking Dead: Rise of the Governor by Robert Kirkman and Jay Bonansinga


Review: The Walking Dead: Rise of the Governor by Robert Kirkman and Jay Bonansinga



IN A GLANCE: This was a bit different than I expected it to be.






 Title: The Walking Dead Rise of the Governor
Author: Robert Kirkman and Jay Bonansinga
Format: Audiobook



Based on "The Walking Dead" graphic novels/comic books and the series starring Andrew Lincoln ("Teachers", "This Life and Love", and "Love Actually") and written/produced by Frank Darabont whose previous credits include "The Shawshank Redemption" and "The Green Mile", this is a new trilogy of books written by Robert Kirkman and Jay Bonansinga, author of "Perfect Victim" and "Shattered". Set in the world created by Robert Kirkman, this standalone trilogy is fast-paced, action-packed storytelling about the lengths some men will go to survive. With new characters, new storylines and with the same in-depth character-based plotting that has made the television series such an immediate hit, this trilogy of novels is sure to be a hit with those who love zombies and those who have loved the TV series and comic books. In the Walking Dead universe, there is no greater villain than The Governor. The despot who runs the walled-off town of Woodbury, he has his own sick sense of justice: whether it’s forcing prisoners to battle zombies in an arena for the townspeople’s amusement, or chopping off the appendages of those who cross him. The Governor was voted “Villain of the Year” by Wizard magazine the year he debuted, and his story arc was the most controversial in the history of the Walking Dead comic book series. Now, for the first time, fans of The Walking Dead will discover how The Governor became the man he is, and what drove him to such extremes.







Wednesday, May 1, 2013

The Man in the Box Blog Tour: Exhausted by Robbie Lake




Today I have a great guest post from author Andrew Toy.  Below you will find the post and all the book information.  Thanks, I hope you enjoy!!! Also I want to thank Andrew Toy for stopping by.  




Exhausted by Robbie Lake

I’m tired. What else is there to say? My bones hurt, my muscles are sore, all from things I can’t possibly explain.

Logic would hold that I shouldn’t feel this way. Not from waking up from a dream-induced sleep.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

Archive

This Blog is Protected..

myfreecopyright.com registered & protected

My Beautiful Blog was Designed by...

Ali's Bookshelf © 2011-present