Friday, March 16, 2012

A New Add to My Bookshelf

Okay, I have another book to add to my bookshelf today.  This book I got from the publishers and I'm really excited to read it!



Title: These Girls
Author: Sarah Pekkanen
Publisher: Washington Square Press


In her third novel, internationally bestselling author Sarah Pekkanen examines the lives of three women working and living together in New York City and shows that family secrets may shape us all, but it’s the rich, complicated layers of friendship that can save us.

Cate, Renee, and Abby have come to New York for very different reasons, and in a bustling city of millions, they are linked together through circumstance and chance.

Cate has just been named the features editor of Gloss, a high-end lifestyle magazine. It’s a professional coup, but her new job comes with more complications than Cate ever anticipated.

Cate’s roommate Renee will do anything to nab the plum job of beauty editor at Gloss. But snide comments about Renee’s weight send her into an emotional tailspin. Soon she is taking black market diet pills—despite the racing heartbeat and trembling hands that signal she's heading for real danger.

Then there’s Abby, whom they take in as a third roommate. Once a joyful graduate student working as a nanny part time, she abruptly fled a seemingly happy life in the D.C. suburbs. No one knows what shattered Abby—or why she left everything she once loved behind.

Pekkanen’s most compelling, true-to-life novel yet tells the story of three very different women as they navigate the complications of careers and love—and find the lifeline they need in each other.


From Library Journal: "VERDICT Because Pekkanen’s characters are sympathetic and familiar, readers are likely to identify with aspects of each pro tagonist. Fans of Jennifer Weiner. Sarah Dessen, Liza Palmer, and Emily Giffin will strongly appreciate this smart novel by a rising star in women’s fiction."





I'm really excited about this book! I can't wait to read it...



WHERE I HEARD ABOUT THIS BOOK...

 I actually heard about this book on Facebook.  I follow this amazing author and that's how I heard about it!I knew I had to read it, just by reading what she was posting. 


WHY I'M ADDING IT


I'm adding this book because books about family secretes and friendship is something that I love to read about.


WHEN I'M GOING TO BE READING THIS BOOK?

Well, I am dying to read this one, but I have so many other books that I really have to read. I could move it up, but I'm not sure. I'm thinking of adding it to my April TBR List, I'm thinking of making April Friendship Month, maybe!



WHAT DO YOU ALL THINK?

I have no idea, what do you all think about putting it on my April TBR list and making April Friendship Month, where I only read books about Friendship?

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

Archive

This Blog is Protected..

myfreecopyright.com registered & protected

Blogoversary

Get your own free Blogoversary button!

My Beautiful Blog was Designed by...

Ali's Bookshelf © 2011-present