Sunday, September 30, 2012

Mini Me Corner Review: How Does Sleep Come by Jeanne C. Blackmore



Mini Me Corner reviews are a place where I get to share my love of reading with my daughter Samantha.  Each review is wrote up by her and myself.  For this review we added my son as well seeing as he read it with us.  


 Mini Me Corner Review: How Does Sleep Come by Jeanne C. Blackmore 


So this review is going to be a bit different from what we usually do here at Mini Me Corner, seeing as I read this book with both my kids, we are going to make it one review together, not three separate reactions.  So, here we go.

 
With poetic prose and soothing rhythm, Blackmore has created the perfect sleepy-time tale. Full color.








Friday, September 28, 2012

Bloggiesta Time!!!






This post should have went up yesterday but I wasn't near my computer.  So, I wanted to post my to do list for Bloggiesta.  Today, is the first day of Bloggiesta and I'm starting to work on my list today.  Below you will find my list.  Every time I finish something I will mark it off.  I'm hoping to get it all finished!


  • Write next weeks reviews 
  • Get all of my posts for next week wrote and scheduled to post.
  • Work on straightening up my sidebars
  • Work on straightening up my reading list. 
  • Shorten labels
  • Work on my posting schedule
  • Add a few things to my awesome stuff list
  • Pick Winners for Giveaways

So there is my list, might add some more if I can get these finished.  Depends on how much I get done though.





Wednesday, September 26, 2012

Review: Nexus by C.L. Parker


Review: Nexus by C.L. Parker


IN A GLANCE: Fantastic and Fabulous Read!


Title: Nexus
Author: C.L. Parker
Publisher: TWCSPH
Format: PDF ARC
ISBN #: 9781612131

Authors WebsiteGoodreadsBuy This
Kerrigan Cruz and Dominic Grayson have fulfilled their destiny, clearing the way for a new Guardian of the Light to emerge. The product of her parents’ mixed bloodlines, Victoria Milena Cruz-Grayson must defend the world as the only Guardian of Mankind in existence. With the weight of the world on her shoulders, Tori must find a way to keep it from falling before the gravity of her existence sends her crashing to her knees and mankind along with her. The real war is inside her psyche; good versus evil in a battle between Light and Dark. But she is not alone in her quest. The Guardian of the Guardian, Dante is destined to fight by her side. With an arsenal of wicked charm, seduction, and the ability to ignite a raging inferno, his allure is powerful. Will it be enough to convince Tori to choose him? Coming between them is a man whose existence is confined to her dreams. The only friend Tori has ever known, a man she has grown to love over her short eighteen years. She doesn’t know his name, or why he’s there, but she can’t deny the feelings she has for him. There’s only one problem; when he leaves, her dreams become nightmares plagued by demonic beings hellbent on viciously murdering her loved ones. Over and over again. Two men, both pledging their undying love and unyielding loyalty, but one is not at all what he seems. Torn between her lifelong friend and the man destined to stand by her side, the Guardian of Mankind must choose her path. The fate of the world depends on her getting it right. But how can she choose when she doesn’t really know who she is to begin with? Nexus: There is one truth . . . Everything happens for a reason.







Blog Tour: Nexus by C.L. Parker



I'm very excited to be a prat of the Nexus Tour today.  If  you haven't  already make sure you check out my reviews for the first two books in this Saga! Supernova and Cataclysm, both amazing books.  If you've read my blog, you know that C.L. Parker is one of my favorite authors.  I've had her on the show, Ali Talks Live, and even did a whole read a long with the book Supernova.  

So yes, I'm very excited to be part of this tour today.  I hope you stick around, because I will be posting my review shortly of her newest book Nexus!

Review: Cataclysm by C.L. Parker


Review: Cataclysm by C.L. Parker



IN A GLANCE: Fantastic read once you get into it.

Title: Cataclysm
Author: C.L. Parker
Publisher: TWCSPH
Format: PDF Ebook
Pages: 250 pages
ISBN #: 1612130704
Authors WebsiteGoodreadsBuy This
Kerrigan Cruz and Dominic Grayson thought the worst of the storm was behind them. In reality, they have only weathered impossible odds to find they are smack dab in the eye of an unforgiving cyclone. More is on the way. The raging bands of chaos that surrounds them are forcing the destructive walls of the monster to close in around them. Taking on a life of its own, the storm growls and gnashes its teeth, threatening to devour everything they ever were or ever will be. There will be nothing but devastation left in its wake, and it sets its sights on Kerrigan and Dominic. Through the howling winds and punishing lashes of rain, a stranger comes. The promise of a better tomorrow, a brighter, sunnier life filled with hopes and dreams rests in the palm of his hand. It is knowledge, a formidable weapon when wielded by the right person at just the right time. If she can only harness the power of this stranger’s knowledge, Kerrigan may be able to save the one she loves before he fades into nothingness, and she is left all alone. But is this stranger friend or foe? Drawn to her side by an unseen force, will he enlighten Kerrigan or will he seek to claim her for his own? Cataclysm: Through the darkness of night, Light will lead the way.







Tuesday, September 25, 2012

Review: First Cause by Paul West


Review: First Cause by Paul West



IN A GLANCE: Once it had my attention it held it till the very end.


Title: First Cause
Author: Paul West
Format: Ebook (Given to me by the author for review)
Pages: 352 pages
ASIN #:  B002FJO6WC

Authors WebsiteGoodreadsBuy This
The world is in chaos from a two-day battery of explosions in many of its major cities. A week after the explosions, journalist Adam Grey wakes up in the hospital. He pieces together the events leading to his injury, involving a woman named Angela. Senator Cyrus Reardon has been appointed the new President of the United States' decimated government. A politician who isn't generally fond of his peers, he's faced with leading a discordant provisional Cabinet, addressing the nation's growing panic, and trying to separate fact from fiction. Confronted with the truth behind the attacks, they--along with the world at large--are forced to reconsider conventional assumptions about human nature and possibility. Everything we know is until we find out otherwise...




Monday, September 24, 2012

It's Monday...What are You Reading?




It's Monday! What Are You Reading is hosted by Book Journey!

This is a great post where I share what books I read last week and what books I'm going to read this week! So lets get started, shall we?



Today I'm Reading 
(Cover Linked to Goodreads, Just click!)


The Iron King


Meghan Chase has a secret destiny; one she could never have imagined. Something has always felt slightly off in Meghan's life, ever since her father disappeared before her eyes when she was six. She has never quite fit in at school or at home. When a dark stranger begins watching her from afar, and her prankster best friend becomes strangely protective of her, Meghan senses that everything she's known is about to change. But she could never have guessed the truth - that she is the daughter of a mythical faery king and is a pawn in a deadly war. Now Meghan will learn just how far she'll go to save someone she cares about, to stop a mysterious evil no faery creature dare face; and to find love with a young prince who might rather see her dead than let her touch his icy heart.


Ali's Week in A Glance




Hey everyone, this is going to be a new post here on Ali's Bookshelf.  It is going to be a pretty long one though.  Every Monday, this post will be for looking back over the previous week, taking a glance at the week coming up,  plus a few other little special features.  So let's get to it.  Oh and before I forget, do you like the new sticker? I love it! Thanks Butterfly O Meter Designs for always making me the prettiest things for my blogs! I got this idea from a few other bloggers posts, mainly On a Book Bender.  I love her blog and really wanted to do a post like this but mix in my own stuff as well.




Announcements

Giveaways - All my Blogiversary Giveaway winners have been selected, if you have been contacted please email me right away.  Thanks so much!  

Upcoming Tours  - I have a lot of different tours coming up really soon, make sure you are on the watch for giveaways, reviews and much more.  

Jitterbug PR - As you all know I started my own PR and blog tour company, if you are a blogger and would like to be one of our tour hosts please fill out this form.


Ali's Weekly Recap

 So, last week was a lot better then the week before it.  My family and myself are finally feeling better and it was time to get back to normal, well as normal as we can be.  On Friday I got to go to a huge book signing, thanks to my boyfriend and Joseph Beth Bookstore in Rookwood, OH.  

Also this week here on the blog, I had the pleasure of hosting four great blog tours: 


I also announced that I am participating in Bloggiesta this time around and can't wait.  I will be posing my to do list this upcoming week.  Other than that I posted several other great posts that you should check out as well. 



Sunday, September 23, 2012

Review: The Demon Catchers of Milan by Kat Beyer


Review: The Demon Catchers of Milan by Kat Beyer



IN A GLANCE: This book just didn't hit the mark for me!


 Title: The Demon Catchers of Milan
 Author: Kat Keyer
 Publisher: EgmontUSA
 Pages:  288 pages
 Format: Paperback ARC 
 ISBN #:  1606843141
  Authors WebsiteGoodreadsBuy This
Mia's ordinary life is disrupted in the most horrifying way possible when she is possessed by a hungry and powerful demon--and only saved by the arrival of relatives from Italy, the country her grandfather fled many decades ago. Now her cousins Emilio and Giuliano say the only way to keep her safe is for her to come back with them to Milan, to live, to learn Italian, to fall in and out of love, and to master the family trade: fighting all demons with the lore of bell, book, and candle. Milan is not what Mia expected, but it will change her forever, in this stunningly well-written novel about an American girl who, fleeing an ancient evil, finds her only salvation in her ancestral home.




Friday, September 21, 2012

Giveaway: Careful by Isobella Jade




As part of the Careful blog Tour, I have a great giveaway for you. This giveaway is for:

5 signed print copies of Careful (US only)
5 e-book copies of Careful (International)

Below is the Rafflecopter.







a Rafflecopter giveaway

Review: Careful by Isobella Jade



Review: Careful by Isobella Jade



IN A GLANCE: A story about what its like for people you leave behind after you die.


 Title: Careful
 Author: Isobella Jade
 Publisher: Gamine Press
 Format: Ebook PDF
 Pages:  292 pages
 ISBN #:  0985097507
   Authors WebsiteGoodreadsBuy This

Summary: 


"I couldn’t feel my arms or legs. My neck, my hair, my stomach—they weren’t mine anymore." If you lived in Willow Ridge, a town based on Jade’s hometown called Liverpool in Central New York, you’d know of Estella Montclair. Estella is one of the top high school sprinters around and she’s in the newspaper all the time. After Estella Montclair is killed in a texting and driving crash, what remains of her face and body is devastating. But not all of her has died. During the first month after her death, Estella’s spirit travels among her living friends and family. Her best friends Zara, Eva and Jett show her how pain and sorrow can break apart or strengthen a bond. She also sees for the first time that loss can spark revenge, catastrophe can come without warning, and we all have secrets. She wonders if her chance for love with Phoenix has passed her by, and if out of sight truly means out of mind. And maybe one day the girl who caused her death will admit her mistake. While adjusting to a new state of being, Estella struggles to face the limitations that come with death, but blossoms by recognizing she can still touch the lives of the people she once knew so well.



I'm Participating in Bloggiesta!!!




I'm so excited about this, September 28th through the 30th I'll be participating in Bloggiesta! The last time they did this I couldn't participate because I was going out of town, but this time I can. 

I will be posting my to do list shortly! But right now I just wanted to let everyone know that I am participating! 

If you would like to sign up and find out more about it, go: HERE

Thursday, September 20, 2012

Mini Me Corner Review: Mira's Diary by Marissa Moss



Mini Me Corner reviews are a place where I get to share my love of reading with my daughter Samantha.  Each review is wrote up by her and myself
 
Review: Mira's Diary by Marissa Moss

 


Mira is shocked when she receives a postcard from her missing mother from Paris. Her father decides it's time for a trip to France to search for her. While visiting Notre Dame, Mira touches a gargoyle and is whirled into the past. There she meets the famous painter Degas and catches a brief, shocking glimpse of her mother. Mira begins to suspect that her mom didn't run out on them but is a prisoner of the past. Can one family on an incredible worldwide adventure stop a plot in time



Blog Tour: Guest Post with Kate Mitchell Author of Aureole



So today, I have a great guest post for you from this incredible author Kate Mitchell.  She is the author of Aureole.  Below you will find the guest post of course, author bio and book information.  



Come Fall for Aureole!

Welcome to the first post of my first ever book tour! Excuse me while I fangirl a little bit, because I am so unbelievably excited to be on Ali’s Bookshelf Reviews. I’ve been checking out book blogs for some time now, but as the consumer – the reader – and now on one. And it’s Ali’s Bookshelf, no less (so awesome, right?). Insanity.

Okay. Now that we’re past that.

Hi, I’m Kate Mitchell, I’m the author of the new realistic fiction novel Aureole, and I swear I can be professional. Like I said, today is the first day of the promotional tour for Aureole, which is called the Fall for Aureole tour! Since this is the first day for my first tour, it seems pretty fitting to start with Aureole’s first. What got Aureole started?

I’m one of those people who loves Jane Austen, and I’m also one of those readers who reads everything they can get their hands on. This translated into me reading every single thing Austen ever wrote, finished and unfinished, including Mansfield Park. Now, I really enjoyed Austen’s writing, and Pride and Prejudice is still one of my favorite books, but I absolutely could not stand the ending of Mansfield Park. In my opinion, every bit of ground Fanny had gained throughout the novel was lost at the end, and it annoyed me to no end. She came so far!

So I did what any annoyed reader nearing National Novel Writing Month would do, and rewrote it. Except, I changed the ending. Oh, and the setting, the characters, the people, well, a lot of it. I changed everything, other than the very basic premise. Girl living with wealthy people not her parents – who have four children of their own – has her life thwarted by a hellish brother and sister. Somewhere along the lines it changed from a retelling of Mansfield Park and became its own idea, its own book. It became Aureole


Wednesday, September 19, 2012

Blog Tour: Harvest Treats Author Interview with Author S.A. Jones




So today, I get the pleasure of having the Harvest Treats tour here with me on Ali's Bookshelf.  Today I have author S.A. Jones with me chatting about being an author with a Author Interview. Enjoy. 




First of all, thank you so much to Ali for having me!

       Can you tell us something interesting about your writing process?

I have to have a playlist that matches the mood of the scene I’m writing. Not only that, I also start every writing (and editing) session with the Linkin Park/Jay-Z CD Collision Course. It just gets me amped!

      What part of the writing process is the easiest/hardest for you?

The hardest part of the writing process for me is keeping a character’s life on track. I’ll start writing a story, but then I’ll remember there is this key point in the character’s life that made them do or say something, and I feel like it needs to be told. When that happens, I tell it right then. I could probably lengthen my stories by an extreme amount if I told the beginning, at the beginning! 

     Who is your favorite character (that you’ve written)?

My favorite character that I’ve written thus far was actually a joke character, not in a piece to be published. A friend and I decided we were going to participate in Script Frenzy last year, and we used their Plot Machine for it. The plot was that a struggling student became a pirate in a world run by chickens. We started on it, and it was filled with so much seriousness in the characters, but the overall plot was just hysterical.

    Is there anything you’re working on now?

Renaissance Romance Publishing just published “Harvest Treats” which features my debut piece, “Love Something Fierce”. As of right now I have a lot on my plate, so I’m inconsistently working on a Steampunk piece, hopefully to be published some day.

   Where did the idea for your book come from?

“Love Something Fierce” actually features minimalistic details of some things I’ve experienced in my own life, but primarily it just came from my head and good music. I wanted to give hope and yet reveal some of the real life things that you see in today’s society that are sometimes forgotten about.

     Are any of the characters inspired by someone in real life?

There actually are three characters mildly inspired by people in real life. Hope is very loosely fashioned after my oldest son, Aiden, in the demeanor area. (Spoiler alert: There is an Aiden at the end of the book, who is also a tribute to my oldest son, but also a tribute to the birth of my youngest. What can I say? I love them so much!) Seeley also is loosely based off of the boys’ godfather, a very near and dear friend to me. If there ever were a movie to be made, I would totally cast their godfather to play the role as well! Then of course, there’s sweet, charming, albeit originally confused, man that is my husband… Uh… I mean, Dawson!

Ali Talks Live with Paul West and a Great Giveaway



So, on Monday night I had the pleasure of chatting with author Paul West on Ali Talks Live.  It was a great show filled with some laughs and a awesome chat about being an author and about Paul West's book First Cause.  Make sure you check out the recording of the show if you missed it.  

Below you will find the recording, author bio, and a great giveaway as well.  


Author Bio



Paul West was born and raised in New York City; he currently resides in Harlem, where he has lived for much of his life. After graduating from NYU with a B.A. in History, he worked in the education and nonprofit world for many years before switching lanes and working in advertising and then fashion. First Cause was conceived as a screenplay idea in the early 1990s, when West was still an undergraduate; he shelved the project for nearly a decade, and began work again in 1999.

Paul West is a sports enthusiast, student of people, lover of music, voracious reader and fervent believer in human possibility. His literary influences include, but are not limited to, Margaret Atwood, George Orwell, Sinclair Lewis, Octavia Butler and Ursula LeGuin.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

Archive

This Blog is Protected..

myfreecopyright.com registered & protected

Blogoversary

Get your own free Blogoversary button!

My Beautiful Blog was Designed by...

Ali's Bookshelf © 2011-present