Tuesday, July 31, 2012

Review: The Wild Princess by Mary Hart Perry


Review: The Wild Princess by Mary Hart Perry



IN A GLANCE: Very entertaining, a Fun and quick read!

Title: The Wild Princess
Author: Mary Hart Perry
Publisher: William Morrow & Company
Format: Ebook (Given to me for this tour and for my honest review)
Pages: 384 Pages
ISBN #: 0062123467
Buy This: Amazon


The astronomical success of the historical novels of Phillipa Gregory and Christine Trent prove that readers simply can't get enough of the British royals--and now Mary Hart Perry enters the fray with an exciting, deliciously sensual novel of Queen Victoria's "wild child" daughter, the Princess Louise. The Wild Princess transports us back to Victorian England and plunges us into the intrigues of the royal court, where the impetuous Louise brazenly followed no one's rules but her own--even marrying a commoner, which no one of royal blood had done in the previous three centuries. Filled with rich period deal, The Wild Princess is an exciting, enthralling read. The Tudors have gotten the lion's share of attention in historical fiction; it's high time Queen Victoria and her family got their due





Cover Reveal: Options by Abbi Glines


It's Time to do another amazing cover reveal.  I love posting these becuase they are so much fun and I get to say why I love the cover so much!!  So below you will find the cover of Options by Abbi Glines.



This cover was designed by Stephanie Mooney from Mooney Designs. Options is expected to be released on February 5th 2013.  Make sure you check it out on Goodreads!


So let's Talk about this great cover! I love the font the title is in and the girl is very mysterious in a way.  I guess its that look in her eye.  I think this is a great cover and I love the colors in it.  What do you think?

Author's Info: 


Teaser Tuesday #23


Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers










I leaned closer and blinked. For a fleeting second, it looked like a piece of math homework again, and then--I leaned even closer. That was how I didn't feel the blow coming. (Ch1 page 5)

Monday, July 30, 2012

Ali Talks Live with Susannah Sandlin



Tonight's show was fantastic.  Tonight I had the privilege and honor of chatting with Susannah Sandlin, author of Redemption and her upcoming novel to be released in Oct. Absolution.   I want to thank her for bring on the show and chatting with me tonight and I hope my questions didn't stump her to much.  

I had a blast chatting and I hope, if you missed it,  you all will enjoy the recording of the show.  Below you will find, the recorded show widget, the author bio and cover picture of her book, plus something special she has offered to do a Giveaway.  So at the bottom of the post will be a raffelcopter for you to enter to win!!! 



Author Bio
Susannah Sandlin is an author of paranormal romance set in the Deep South, where there are always things that go bump in the night! A longtime journalist, Susannah grew up in Alabama reading the gothic novels of Susan Howatch, and always fancied herself living in Cornwall, although she's never actually been there. Details, details. She also read a lot of Stephen King--the combination of Howatch and King probably explains a lot. Currently a resident of Auburn, Alabama, Susannah has also lived in Illinois, Texas, California, and Louisiana. Her vampire romance trilogy, The Penton Legacy, begins this year through Montlake Romance. Book One, REDEMPTION, was released June 19. Book Two, ABSOLUTION, comes out on October 9, and OMEGA, book three, will be released in December.
*Giveaway Rules*
  • Must be 13 years or older to win
  • This giveaway is for US residents only so well you Must be a US Resident. 
  • The giveaway ends on August 11th
  • You must do the things on the Rafflecopter to enter, you don't have to do them all, but you must do the ones that are mandatory. 
   
 
And the Winner Is....
         
     
    a Rafflecopter giveaway

    Review: Partials by Dan Wells


    Review: Partials by Dan Wells





    IN A GLANCE: Stunning plot and very incredibly written. Partials is defiantly on my list of favs for 201.


    Title: Partials
    Author: Dan Wells
    Publisher: Balzer & Bray
    Format: Hardback and Audio
    Pages: 470 pages
    ISBN #: 978-0-06-207104-0
    Buy This: Amazon



    Humanity is all but extinguished after a war with partials—engineered organic beings identical to humans—has decimated the world’s population. Reduced to only tens of thousands by a weaponized virus to which only a fraction of humanity is immune, the survivors in North America have huddled together on Long Island. The threat of the partials is still imminent, but, worse, no baby has been born immune to the disease in over a decade. Humanity’s time is running out.

    When sixteen-year-old Kira learns of her best friend’s pregnancy, she’s determined to find a solution. Then one rash decision forces Kira to flee her community with the unlikeliest of allies. As she tries desperately to save what is left of her race, she discovers that the survival of both humans and partials rests in her attempts to answer questions of the war’s origin that she never knew to ask.

    Combining the fast-paced action of The Hunger Games with the provocative themes of Battlestar Galactica, Partials is a pulse-pounding journey into a world where the very concept of what it means to be human is in question—one where our sense of humanity is both our greatest liability, and our only hope for survival.






    It's Monday...What Are You Reading?


    It's Monday! What Are You Reading is hosted by Book Journey!

    This is a great post where I share what books I read last week and what books I'm going to read this week! So lets get started, shall we?


    Last Week I Read/Reviewed:  



    What I'm Reading Today:  

     

    Mia's ordinary life is disrupted in the most horrifying way possible when she is possessed by a hungry and powerful demon--and only saved by the arrival of relatives from Italy, the country her grandfather fled many decades ago. Now her cousins Emilio and Giuliano say the only way to keep her safe is for her to come back with them to Milan, to live, to learn Italian, to fall in and out of love, and to master the family trade: fighting all demons with the lore of bell, book, and candle. Milan is not what Mia expected, but it will change her forever, in this stunningly well-written novel about an American girl who, fleeing an ancient evil, finds her only salvation in her ancestral home.

    Cover Reveal: Haunting Obsession by R.J. Sullivan


    Cover Reveal Time!!! YAY, I love posting these.  Today's cover is from R.J. Sullivan's new book Haunting Obsession.  Below you will find the amazing cover and some of the artwork in this book as well.  



    Look how pretty and haunting.  I love it, the colors are perfect and I love the look in her eyes.  I have to say I can't wait to read this book.  Just like all the Seventh Star Press books this one looks spectacular!!! 



    I love the artwork in this book, its beautiful!!! 

    This book comes out in August and like I said I can't wait!!!

    Sunday, July 29, 2012

    #BlogFlash2012

    #BlogFlash2012: 30 Days, 30 Prompts, 30 Posts

    #BlogFlash2012 is 30 days with 30 prompts!!!
     
    I am so excited about this, I have signed up to do #BlogFlash2012.  Each day of August I will be doing a post about a picture prompt and I really hope you all will enjoy these posts.  If you would like to see the prompts you can click on the link above to see all of them. 


    The Challenge!!!

    • Write a 50-100 word post for each day's prompt here (Ali's Bookshelf)  during August.
    • Your post can be factual or fictional, prose or poetry, anecdotal or otherwise!
    • Try and visit 5 blogs a day if you can and see how other people used the prompts!

    Like I said I'm very very excited about this and please keep your fingers crossed that I can post every single day!!! That is my challenge to myself.  I hope you enjoy and as always...

    Happy Reading!!!

    Books we Pine for, Buy and Don't Read (2)




      Loretta at Between the Pages is the creator of this and has allowed me to post it as well.  I love this idea of letting you all choose the book I read next month and it helps me get through those books that have been on my shelf for a while. 

    So, below you will find a vid about each of these books and then a form for you to choose what I will read in August!!!   The form will be live till August 5th... Sorry this post is up so late, but I still wanted to post it anyway!!! 










    Friday, July 27, 2012

    Review: Riser by Becca C. Smith


    Review: Riser by Becca C. Smith



    IN A GLANCE: Riser is a perfectly written Jewel. I was surprisingly hooked on this one!!!


    Title: Riser
    Author: Becca C. Smith
    Publisher: Red Frog Publishing
    Format: Ebook
    ASIN #: B003PPDGF8
    Authors Facebook:
    Buy This: Amazon

    Black swirling holes churning madly in the center of every corpse. This is how eighteen-year-old Chelsan Derée sees the deceased. Her ability to connect to the black spinning holes allows her to control every dead thing within a four-mile radius.

    But that's the least of her problems. It's 2320 and Chelsan Derée has to survive another year of high school, which for her is pure and utter torture, mainly due to the fact that her schoolmate Jill Forester's favorite activity is making Chelsan's life a living hell. If that isn't enough, Chelsan's impossible crush on Ryan Vaughn makes her brain do somersaults on a regular basis, especially since she is positive he doesn't know she exists. And being eighteen Chelsan has to deal with the pressure of whether or not she should take a little pill called Age-pro, which cures aging, making the world eighteen forever and highly over-populated.

    When Chelsan's mother, Janet, is brutally killed, along with everyone else in her trailer park, Chelsan finds out that she was the intended target. Chelsan must use her power to raise and control the dead to save herself, protect her friends and take down the man responsible for murdering her mother.



    Thursday, July 26, 2012

    Review: Lakebridge Spring by Natasha Troop


    Review: Lakebridge Spring by Natasha Troop




    IN A GLANCE: Unpredictable and a great story with a incredible plot.


    Title: Lakebridge Spring
    Author: Natasha Troop
    Publisher: Createspace
    Format: Paperback
    Pages: 260 Pages
    ISBN #: 1461122503
    Buy This: Amazon



    Vermont, picturesque and lovely, attracts visitors from across the country in search for the perfect picture, the perfect fall foliage or perhaps a taste of maple syrup. Stansbury is best known for the odd covered bridge that spans Stansbury Lake and goes nowhere, connecting no roads and serving no known purpose. The locals call it the Lakebridge. Very few know of its mysterious origins and fewer care to know more.

    Those visiting the town perhaps take a few snapshots and leave, their curiosity quelled by an uneasy feeling that they shouldn’t think on it anymore. The tourists will eventually leave Stansbury, but its residents strangely linger, seemingly held captive by a force they barely recognize. They also do not think about the town’s mysterious artifact much except in passing, all but Gil, his father, Ben, and a few others. They know of the bridge’s dark history and understand that it is responsible for every horror that ever befell the people of Stansbury: the people who fear the bridge but will not speak of it.

    The bridge makes people do things – bad things – so that it can continue to love and care for them all. Some have tried to destroy the bridge, but as long as the bridge is fed with the lives of the innocents of Stansbury it will go on – loving the people of Stansbury. Lakebridge: Spring is the first of a four book cycle revolving around Stansbury and the Lakebridge.




    Mission: Supernova Chapter 9 (Readalong)




    (So sorry I haven't been around much this week...my computer got a virus in it and it hasn't been working right, but I'm back now and have a lot to post so I hope you all enjoy!!!) 

    *Spoiler Alert and Warning: These posts are going to contain quotes from the book and if you haven't read or aren't reading along right now, I suggest you not read any further.  If you do you are reading at your own risk.  Fair Warning, plus there is some language in this post so it's not for the youngins!!* 


    Lets Chat about Chapter 9 of this great book!!! All quotes below are from Chapter 9!!!



    Again a lot happens in this chapter and we get some little tidbits about the light and Dominic's purpose and promise he made to Kerrigan's Grandma! 

     From attacks from a ghost to Kerrigan in a bathtub clothed and her tongue being covered in a paste made of flowers and water, this chapter is defiantly a exciting one.   

    I also really love how heroic Dominic is in this chapter, I mean he has been protective of her in the past chapters but now he is really protecting her.  



    Not this time.  And definitely not Kerrigan, he thought with anger and desperation surging through his veins.  
    (Quote from book Ch 9) 

    Monday, July 23, 2012

    Ali Talks Live with Stephen Zimmer and The Cabin Goddess



    Tonights show was great, I had another no show tonight and two great people showed up and saved the day.  Author Stephen Zimmer and blogger The Cabin Goddess showed up and we chated about a lot of different things.  It was a blast chatting with both of them and got the insider information on a few giveaways coming soon from Seventh Star Press.  So excited.  

    Below you will find a widget so you can listen to the show as well, fair warning there is some language in this show.  So there is your warning lol.  Enjoy!!!





    It's Monday....What are you reading??



    It's Monday! What Are You Reading is hosted by Book Journey!

    This is a great post where I share what books I read last week and what books I'm going to read this week! So lets get started, shall we?  Sorry this is posted late, its been a crazy day today!!!


    What I Read Last Week 

    Wentworth Hall by Abby Grahame



    What I'm Reading Today 


    1 Concert
    2000 Miles
    3 Ex-Best Friends

    Alice, Summer, and Tiernan are ex-best friends.

    Back in middle school, the three girls were inseparable. They were also the number one fans of the rock band Level3.

    But when the band broke up, so did their friendship. Summer ran with the popular crowd, Tiernan was a rebellious wild-child, and Alice spent high school with her nose buried in books.

    Now, just as the girls are about to graduate, Level3 announces a one-time-only reunion show.

    Even though the concert’s 2000 miles away, Alice buys three tickets on impulse. And as it turns out, Summer and Tiernan have their own reasons for wanting to get out of town. Good thing Alice’s graduation gift (a pea-green 1976 VW camper van known as the Pea Pod) is just the vehicle to get them there.

    But on the long drive cross-country, the girls hit more than a few bumps in the road. Will their friendship get an encore or is the show really over?

    Sunday, July 22, 2012

    Blogiversary!!!



    Hey everyone, I'm so excited about this.  My Blogiversary is coming and yes I know I have spelled it wrong.  Its mainly because I'm going to GIVE you stuff instead of getting lol.  The whole month of August I will be doing tons of giveaways so you can win some amazing stuff and celebrate Ali's Bookshelf being a year old with me!!! 

    I can't believe its almost been a year already, its been a very fun year and I can't wait to have more years here on Ali's Bookshelf.  As well as doing lots of giveaways I'm also going to be doing some posts all about my first year as a book blogger!  So I hope you will join in the fun and enter to win some great giveaways!!! 

    Happy Reading!!!

    Friday, July 20, 2012

    Cover Reveal and Giveaway: Hereafter by Terri Bruce

    It's time to share another Cover Reveal with you all.  I'm so sorry this is late, my computer messed up on me, but its fixed now YAY! So let's get down to business...Cover Reveal time!!! 





    Thirty-six-year-old Irene Dunphy didn't plan on dying any time soon, but that’s exactly what happens when she makes the mistake of getting behind the wheel after a night bar-hopping with friends. She finds herself stranded on earth as a ghost, where the food has no taste, the alcohol doesn’t get you drunk, and the sex...well, let’s just say “don’t bother.” To make matters worse, the only person who can see her—courtesy of a book he found in his school library—is a fourteen-year-old boy genius obsessed with the afterlife.



    This sounds suspiciously like hell to Irene, so she prepares to strike out for the Great Beyond. The only problem is that, while this side has exorcism, ghost repellents, and soul devouring demons, the other side has three-headed hell hounds, final judgment, and eternal torment. If only there was a third option…


    Isn't this cover beautiful?? I love the font and the colors!   Alright now its Giveaway time! Below you will find a Rafflecopter, Good luck everyone!!!   The Giveaway is for a $10 Amazon gift card and 2 swag packs (3 giveaways total)





    a Rafflecopter giveaway

    Wednesday, July 18, 2012

    Need by Sherri Hayes Blog Tour: Giveaway



    It's time for a Giveaway!!! YAY! Today we have two sets of both Slave and Need by Sherri Hayes for you to enter to win.  That's right I said two sets, which means two winners!!! Below you will find all the giveaway rules and details and the rafflecopter to enter! Happy Reading...


    Giveaway Details:

    • 2 Winners will receive ebooks of both Slave and Need by Sherri Hayes
    • This Giveaway is for US residents only
    • One Person can enter per household!!
    • I will monitor for any cheating! If you cheat you will be disqualified!!!
    • Giveaway ends August 4th at 12:01 AM EST, at that time the rafflecopter will be closed!
    • Winners will be announced on August 6th at 1PM EST! 






    a Rafflecopter giveaway

    Review: Need by Sherri Hayes

    Review: Need by Sherri Hayes



    IN A GLANCE:  I need more of Need by Sherri Hayes. Love how this story is developing and I defiantly need more of these characters!


    Title: Need
    Author: Sherri Hayes
    Publisher: TWCS PH
    Format: PDF ARC (given to me by publisher for an honest review)
    Pages: 256 Pages
    Publish Date: July 26, 2012
    ISBN #: 978-1-61213-097-2
    Pre-order: TWCSPH

    As Brianna comes to terms with the realization that she is no longer a slave, she must figure out what she wants for her life. Forgetting her past isn’t an option. It is an integral part of who she is now, and it will forever shape her view of life. The one thing she knows is that she cannot imagine her life without the man who saved her, but can she be what he needs?

    Stephan never imagined falling in love with the woman he rescued, but the thought of her no longer being part of his life is physically painful. The scars from her past continue to haunt her, and he is helpless to stop them. All he can do is try to help her work through the traumas of her past. Can he be everything she needs and help her move on?

    The two must figure out how to navigate not only their relationship with each other, but also the outside world. A friend from Brianna’s past shows up where she least expects them, and Uncle Richard continues to enforce his well-meaning agenda to get Brianna more traditional help. As forces, both friend and foe, threaten to tear them apart, Stephan and Brianna have to navigate the turbulent waters and find what they need in each other.






    Blog Tour: Q & A with Sherri Hayes





    It's time to ask this amazing author some questions about writing and her books.  Below you will find my questions for her and her live Ali Talks Live you can listen to as well! Enjoy!!!



           Can you tell us something interesting about your writing process?

    Probably the most interesting thing about my writing process is that I don’t really have one. I get a story idea, ponder it for a while until I have a direction, and then I start typing.



          What part of the writing process is the easiest/hardest for you?

    Editing. Then again, I’ve yet to meet a writer who likes the editing process. Seeing all that red and pink and blue on the screen makes me cringe.



       Who is your favorite character (that you’ve written)?

    That’s like asking a mother to pick which one of her children she likes best. I just can’t do it. 

    Blog Tour: Need by Sherri Hayes



    I am so excited...Its time for another blog tour and this one I'm dying to share with you.  Today we have Need by Sherri Hayes.  I will be posting my review of this fantastic book, a Q & A with Sherri Hayes and a GIVEAWAY!!!! So sit back, relax and get ready for a great day of posts!!!

    Also, if you want to know more about this book and her others you defiantly should listen to the my interview with her on Ali Talks Live!!!

    This is going to be a great tour stop and I hope you all enjoy it and when this book comes out I hope you all get you a copy!!! You wont regret it!!!

    Happy Reading!!!

    Tuesday, July 17, 2012

    Teaser Tuesday #22


    Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
    • Grab your current read
    • Open to a random page
    • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
    • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
    • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers






    Alice tried not to get her hopes up about this mysterious graduation present-the Chia Pet they'd given her for her eighteenth birthday was still too fresh in her mind-but with all this hype, it was hard not to get a little excited. Especially if her parents remembered to consult the list of gift ideas she'd given them, typed up and organized by price. Ch 1





    So that's a little tease into what I'm reading right now.  What are you reading right now? Hook me up with a little teaser below or link me to your Teaser Tuesday post!! 

     As always Happy Reading!

    Monday, July 16, 2012

    It's Monday...What Are You Reading?


    It's Monday! What Are You Reading is hosted by Book Journey!

    This is a great post where I share what books I read last week and what books I'm going to read this week! So lets get started, shall we?



    Last Week I Read:

    Perilous Light by Alyssa Rose Ivy
    Need by Sherri Hayes

    Today I am Reading:



    Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, the ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl. . . .

    Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.


    Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
     

    Archive

    This Blog is Protected..

    myfreecopyright.com registered & protected

    My Beautiful Blog was Designed by...

    Ali's Bookshelf © 2011-present